We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Munich
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Residenz
from $16.91
More Info
from $16.80
More Info
from $20.29
More Info
Reviews (5,299)
Filter reviews
5,299 results
Traveler rating
3,105
1,690
415
56
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,105
1,690
415
56
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide munich residence cuvillies theatre city palace royal residence bavarian royalty combo ticket wittelsbach family long tour during wwii huge palace own pace bavarian history rainy day two hours take your time couple of hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
777 - 782 of 5,299 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2017

I recently went to the Residenz with a friend of mine. We didn't do the Treasury, but it still took the better part of two hours to do the tour. The building is beautiful and super interesting. The audio guide gave lots and lots of information, but considering the size of the building and the number of audio information numbers (sometimes three or more per room), it became white noise and we didn't listen to everything to try make it through in a decent amount of time. Furthermore, many had a 30 second music intro before the information started, which considering the scope of this place, we both found aggravating after a while. We also found it slightly difficult to navigate, as sometimes arrows pointed in both directions and were not numbered as to which to follow first. The arrows were all there and the porters did help when we seemed to be going in the wrong direction, but we noticed some little rooms off to the side via these arrows out of the corner of our eyes, which were totally void of people, despite the interesting things in the rooms. My advice - watch for the arrows and take the side rooms also. Mostly it's just one room, but off the main track and thus a lot of people seemed to miss them.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017

There are three possible tours, but the main ones are the living spaces and the treasury. Of the two, the treasury was better. There are many spectacular items nearly 1000 years old, including many jewel encrusted religious items, crowns, reliquaries, and more, including a really impressive collection of rock crystal vessels. It's all self-paced so you can take as long as you like, or just hit the ones that interest you. Each item has a number next to it, and most are in the audio guide, which are well done. You just punch that number into the guide and it tells you about it. The living spaces are interesting, but you visit about 90 rooms, so it's a marathon, and much is repeated. Also, much is re-construction after WWII destruction.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017

The Royal Residenz is a giant building with dozens of rooms and hallways. But my wife and I headed for the magic: a 100-year collection of rare gold and jewelry collected by the Bavarian Kings.

There are more rubies, diamonds, sapphires, emeralds, gold, silver, enamel and crystal here than you can imagine. This includes the oldest English crown in existence, a gold stage which becomes a wine up when you remove the head and dazzling gold swords.

In my book, this beats the jewelry at the Tower of London.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank larrybodine2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2017

A unique palace worth visiting. Takes a minimum 2 hours. Extremely well laid out and easy to do a self guided tour. In hindsight, if we had more time I would at the very least have done the audio tour.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

The name is boring but this place is really worth a visit. Make sure that you go for the combination ticket of the Theatre and the Treasury to get the full effect. Very highly recomended.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Stayzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews