We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean, safe, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpen Hotel Munchen
Ranked #97 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2009

My Mother and I took a side trip to Munich and needed a hotel at the last minute. We located the Alpen and booked for 2 nights. Because we were taking the train, I wanted to find something in close proximity to the station. The price is not "cheap" so this is not a budget hotel but we got more than we expected for the price. Our room, while small, was the perfect size for 2 people. The staff was warm and friendly (although a couple of them need a couple minutes to warm up). The breakfast was great! I will certainly stay again and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Munich. It is also located very close to the main section of the city, maybe a 7 minute walk to the entrance gate.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 186 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2009

Was leery of this place b/c of its proximity to the train station. Neighborhood felt at first a bit shady but turned out to be VERY safe. Staff could not have been more helpful and the breakfast was out of this world! Every b'fast food you can imagine plus quick service for those (included) double cappucinos. And turned out to be a quick walk--maybe 3-4 city blocks--to Marienplatz. If you are coming into Munich for a brief stay & need easy access to the train, the town, and want a perfectly nice clean room, this is the place!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVBLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Great location, safe, and the breakfast is off the charts.

We have stayed at many places in Munich but often return here because of the location, and just how great of a place it is. Everything is spotless, comfortable, and all in all just about perfect. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank antonsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2007

This hotel is conveniently located in a quiet street a short walk from the city center. It has the german quality and cleaness you expect in Bavaria with some old fashioned but not unpleasant details (like a real room key with a weighty key ring! can not remember the last time I had one!). On the other hand the TV set was real old while my room had no WiFi. Breakfast was OK but could be improved on the hot dishes side. I will not complain too much as it was included in the room rate!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jdcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

stayed here for oktoberfest. hotel staff was super welcoming and friendly . the rooms are beautiful. very upscale for the price given the high season. good breakfast included. hotel has a very cute courtyard for warmer days . In general very clean, well kept property. Will definteliy come back here!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank liyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Our room was kind of similar to a better youth hostel room. The hotel was booked out so, maybe we got the worst room. The bathroom (especially the toilet) was dirty. 4 stars for this room is rediculous. On the other hand, the breakfast and its room was nice.

All in all, next time, we would choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nelliedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

We stayed at this hotel during Octobertfest. The Wiesn (festival grounds) were in a walkable (15 minutes) distance, the price of hotel was reasonable, the service was SUPER", and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. The room was a bit noisy from street noise at night but very clean. It seems, that the street sweeper came down the street outside three times every night.

Hans Heitmann

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank heitmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#15 of 390 in Munich
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 390 in Munich
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#104 of 390 in Munich
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#46 of 390 in Munich
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Hotel Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Hotel Munchen

Address: Adolf-Kolping-Str. 14, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $143 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpen Hotel Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Munich, in a quiet side street and yet in a central location between Munich Main Station and Karlsplatz/Stachus you will find our family-run private hotel Alpen Hotel Munich which will enthral you with its charming mix of tradition & modern life, classic & design and with its warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpen Hotel Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpen Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing