We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT A WONDERFUL HOTEL”
Review of Wetterstein Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wetterstein Hotel
Ranked #218 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Cavan, Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WHAT A WONDERFUL HOTEL”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is not only fantastic value but a wonderful place to stay. It is only a stone's throw from the underground (U Bann), bus stop and tram stop and only 10-15 min to city centre. The room was incredibly spacious (supreme) and the bed sooo comfortable. The staff were incredibly friendly, courteous and could not be more helpful....especially when we would come in late at night looking for recommendations for Bier at the bar!!! It was incredibly clean and the food was wonderful at breakfast each morning with a good selection. As breakfast is not included in the price, the hotel depends on guests to be honest as no record is kept of breakfasts eaten. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and will certainly be returning as we did not get much chance to sightsee as we were over for family wedding and Munich looks like a wonderful city.

Room Tip: Book largest rooms as they are best value - only downside I could see was wheelchair accessiblility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    83
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
68
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room was modern, nice and spacy, beds were good, breakfast was abundant and the hotel close to a metro station that is only four stops away from the central station. There was absolutely nothing to complain about. Also there are several restaurants in the area. Not to forget: free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolidRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It is a small hotel at a busy road and is located close to a tube- and tram-station (Wettersteinplatz): so the rooms to the street are surely noisier than the one I stayed in in on the back of the hotel. I asked for reservation of a quiet room and I got one. The room was very clean and furbished in a typical "hotel-way": simple and functional. There was no mini-bar and no other specials on the room (like bathrobe and so on), but in the hotel-lobby one could buy drinks and snacks the hole day (maybe even during the night - I didn´t try). The breakfast was a normal breakfast buffet as one is used from other hotels. I asked with my online-booking for glutenfree bread and I got it :-)
The staff is very friendly and helpful - but I knew the region and Munich, so I didn´t challenge them.
Close to the hotel is a small supermarket, a "bio-store", other shops and - as a neighbour - a small and good indian restaurant.
I would stay there again - even for a private holiday - because the tube- and tram-station are optimal, the price is - for Munich - moderate and I like the surrounding: here people (and only few tourists) live, it´s not so far to the Isar, the Zoo and also not to the centre of the city.
What I missed most - but that´s a special - was a "shoe-shine-machine" (it was winter with a lot of snow and salt on the streets). I also missed the mini-bar or at least a bottle of water on the room, but if you know that and adopt to it your stay comes cheaper then in the big hotels in the touristy areas.

Room Tip: If you need a "silent night" book a room to the back or courtyard of the hotel - but I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelina40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed in the Wetterstein Hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is located less than 5minutes walk from Wettersteinplatz metro station which is 4 stops away from Hauptbahnhof (Central Station).
Room was absolutely spotless. I have to say that I travel a lot and I have not seen such a clean room/bathroom since ages. The room we stayed in was very spacious, same the bathroom. The interior design of rooms, lobby and restaurant is very cosy. I had a feeling like being at home. We did not have breakfast during our stay however breakfast is available in the restaurant every morning for €10. The reception staff was very helpful and friendly. All staff speak very good English. Over all, it was a very good and pleasant stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I am again in Muncih, I will be back to Wetterstein for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannajamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Me, my wife and a couple of friends stayed at the Wetterstein during the Oktoberfest. It has a good location, right opposite the U Bahn so very convenient if you are going to Oktoberfest. The front desk staff could be better- Me and my friend had booked rooms at the same price but somehow we were given a bigger room than them. The reception did not entertain their request for a room change. Otherwise, no issues with the hotel. Clean, comfortable and quiet rooms with free wifi. The best part of the hotel was the gourmet breakfast- the best spread we saw in our entire Europe trip. Variety of sausages, cold cuts, cheeses, eggs, fruits, fresh juices, breads etc. That itself made up for the small niggles we faced. Overall, a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the ground floor or first floor where they have larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prash_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Disappointing stay to end our Europe trip almost ruined our 10 year anniversary. We paid extra for a suite but it is not in the hotel you have to walk down the street and there are no lifts. Quiet end of Munich was safe enough but felt a bit isolated. Right near the metro station at least so that was very convenient to get to oktberfest. Room was spacious modern had just been renovated we were told clean enough but there was like building dust left on the floor and bed was comfortable. There were NO TOWELS when we asked they said they were short staffed and we would have to come back, not very friendly staff. There was NO WIFI which was disappointing if it wasnt Oktoberfest I would have looked for another HOTEL. There was no LAUNDRY MAT as advertised. We couldnt leave soon enough.

Room Tip: Find another HOTEL if you book well in advance for Oktoberfest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30sumthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I think it is the worst hotel I have ever seen, especially in Germany.

and I will not focus my review on the quality of the hotel (yes, sleep with the sink basin in the room at 30cm from the pillow is not the best ....) but on the impropriety of reception: first asking for 15 Euro for parking, you pay then they tell you that parking (pulling out a map) is located at a considerable distance from the hotel!

To my complaint I said I'd parked along the street and he was able to give me back the money because I paid with credit card.

Mattress broken, probably very old.

This for me is a way to cheat the customers, I was not ever a similar treatment, and the receptionist was also annoyed!

Absurd.

Also the price is too high for the actual value of the hotel which has a shower, sink and toilet in three separate compartments in your room (not in a small room separated).

A never meet again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benevelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Muenchen City Sued
0.3 mi away
Ibis Munich City South Hotel
0.3 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City Sued
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bold Hotel Muenchen
Bold Hotel Muenchen
#48 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
2.0 mi away
GS Hotel
GS Hotel
#214 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wetterstein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wetterstein Hotel

Property: Wetterstein Hotel
Address: Gruenwalder Str. 16, 81547 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wetterstein Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A direct underground ride from Munich Central Station and Munich city centre, this quiet hotel offers rental bicycles and free Wi-Fi. Parking is available in the hotel garage. Located in the peaceful Harlaching district, Hotel Wetterstein provides spacious rooms and suites. In-room comforts include a hairdryer, TV and work desk. A large breakfast buffet is available each morning. Many restaurants and bars are within a 10-minute walk. A free internet terminal is provided in the lobby, where you will also find a cosy bar. Wettersteinplatz Underground Station is a 2-minute walk away, and drivers are 4 minutes from the Mittlerer Ring road. The River Isar and the Perlacher Forst forest are 3 km away, and are ideal for walks and bike trips. Untergiesing - Harlaching is a great choice for travellers interested in city trips, Old Town exploring and Oktoberfest. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Wetterstein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wetterstein Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing