We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Egregiously Dull”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wetterstein Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wetterstein Hotel
Ranked #215 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Muscat
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Egregiously Dull”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have almost completely forgotten this hotel and I stayed there just over a week ago.

However, I do remember it being of reasonable value for Munich and extremely close to an U-Bahn station.

The bed was comfortable as well, but otherwise, it’s an utterly forgettable and soulless place that should be considered only as somewhere for sleeping.

I’d love to say more, but I really can’t.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoatRope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    82
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
68
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was in Munich for 7 days (holidays) with my wife. Everything about this hotel was just very good. We arrived a day late due to our transit flight being delayed. I promptly sent an email to the hotel explaining my late arrival and they immediately responded back explaining not to worry and that the room will still be reserved for me. However, I did have to pay for that night, Can't blame the hotel for this though. My first immediate reaction to this hotel was that it was "nice and cozy". The rooms are a bit small but they are very well maintained and absolutely clean and hygienic. The hotel's location is probably the highlight of this wonderful gem of a hotel. It's located in a very quiet location and is a 2 - 3 minute walk away from the Wettersteinplatz U-Bahn station, from where you can reach the central station in 5 - 10 minutes. We were also surprised find an Indian restaurant (Ghazal) in another 2 minute walk on the opposite side of the station. There's also a bakery which is another 2 - 3 minute walk away where you can hang out for a few condiments, etc. Having said all this, what REALLY stood out was the staff and their hospitality. Almost everyone speaks good English so there was no language barrier. They always smile and greet you when you make an eye-contact. Even the house keeping staff was super polite and spoke some English too! The breakfast was superb. Although the menu is quite similar each day, the variety still does change to an extent to experience something new each day. Everything about this hotel was just awesome! I'm definitely staying here again if I go back to Munich. I have already recommended this hotel to a friend who will be traveling to Munich later in the year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unease_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

transport/lacale: 3min walk from the U1 train. (took 3 trains from the airport. saved what would have been $60 taxi fare); hotel on main street, not noisy at 10am hour.

reception: female (speaks german, some english) not friendly. not helpful.
[upon my inquiry: was told breakfast is cost of 10addtl/person (includes continental fare (lunch meats, cheeses, cereal, fruits), also had to go back to reception for free wi-fi password]
I would think all of this information would be given without having to ask.
-
printed pamphlets- all german (even the hotel brochure)
-
decor- modern, sleek, open, smoking allowed (and does infuse the reception area)
-
deluxe double room-adequate size relax area with couch and separate bedroom with tv and bed. bathroom clean and spacious. NO phone in room, not even for front desk.
-hallway- unlit (no light) until motion detected.

That's all for now. Will add details at the end of stay.
p.s.- booked trip on wwwbookingcom (priceline company usd pricing)

Room Tip: back rooms off the main street. although front room has lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liberatedbytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

I stayed at the hotel with my family(mom, sister and wife) in 2 rooms in July for 2 nights. Our welcome was great and we were greeted by a very receptionist who helped us with the check-in and city info very politely. Were were given 2 rooms on the 2nd floor which were very clean and well kept. The toilets were also very clean and fresh. The hotel is not located near the city center, but is very conveniently connected to the city center by the U Bahn.

The room was cleaned on the second morning and they did a very good job with that as well. Our over all exp at the hotel was very pleasant and for the price it is a great bargain. I would highly recommend it for all kinds of travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Udit_Jugaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We sayed for 6 nights (2 adults and one child). When we arrived at 3 pm on a Saturday the check in desk was dark and it took ten minutes for someone to show up (imagine the us screaming 'hello!' and 'anybody there???' for some time). We were assigned room 137 which combines a lot of disavantages, it is on the first floor facing the busy avenue, it is also just across from the lift and directly above the hotel entrance. So, we went back downstairs and asked to change room but nothing would do and we had to use the room the first night for some obscure 'housekeeping' reason. The next morning however, we were advised that no other rooms were available but that we could upgrade (at a cost) to a suite, which we elected to do and we moved to suite 2.
The suites are all at the basement level and guests have to walk through the dark (totally pitch black in the evening) breakfast room to get to the suites. The suite number was written in black marker pen on the furniture. More surprisingly, even though the hotel is still under construction, there were stains on the carpet and the pull out couch in the leaving room had been soiled. Pillows and beddings have a strong stale/uriny smell, there was no phone in the bedroom, and only one remote control for two TVs. There was no shower curtain or screen in the bathroom. Overall, the suite did not look like the pictures on their web site, chairs, armchairs, rugs and pictures and soft furnishing were missing. Also the basement location makes the suites very easy to break in from the road and we used the hotel safe during our stay.
Another safety issue which is more concerning is the fact that the smoke alarms are not wired up, which anyone can see since none of their covers have been fitted. Also, there are electric cables hanging from the ceiling in the lobby.
The breakfast room is two small to accomodate the number of guests, so for two mornings we had to clean and make up our own corner at a table, the hotel being obviously short staffed.
Upon checking out we left our luggage untill our late afternoon departure but there was no luggage room, we had to pile up our suitcases under the staircase (a lot of dirt had collected in that area) , and hope for the best! The front desk staff was rather unpleasant during our stay and it is unfortunate that we cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyinglizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We have been staying in Munich for years. Since we love old downtown we used to stay there, but prices are quite high. We found Hotel Wetterstein and fell in love. 1 block to the Uban station , two stops and you are at Sendlinger Tor... entry to the magnificance of Munich. The rooms are always clean, breakfast is outstanding, staff are accomodating and parking is available along hte street and free! We stay here every time we are in Munich now.

Room Tip: Try bookings.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dooleysSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel Bolognese, Italy
Level Contributor
251 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

I spent 3 nights at the WETTERSTEIN while attending the Intersolar Munich 2011. The hotel is conveniently located next to a U-bahn stop that makes the trip comfortable. The room and the lobby are clean and recently refurbished. Free Wi-Fi connection with good bandwidth. I would have more choice of food for breakfast. The sauna is still under construction.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Muenchen City Sued
0.3 mi away
Ibis Munich City South Hotel
0.3 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City Sued
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bold Hotel Muenchen
Bold Hotel Muenchen
#44 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
2.0 mi away
GS Hotel
GS Hotel
#210 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wetterstein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wetterstein Hotel

Property: Wetterstein Hotel
Address: Gruenwalder Str. 16, 81547 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wetterstein Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A direct underground ride from Munich Central Station and Munich city centre, this quiet hotel offers rental bicycles and free Wi-Fi. Parking is available in the hotel garage. Located in the peaceful Harlaching district, Hotel Wetterstein provides spacious rooms and suites. In-room comforts include a hairdryer, TV and work desk. A large breakfast buffet is available each morning. Many restaurants and bars are within a 10-minute walk. A free internet terminal is provided in the lobby, where you will also find a cosy bar. Wettersteinplatz Underground Station is a 2-minute walk away, and drivers are 4 minutes from the Mittlerer Ring road. The River Isar and the Perlacher Forst forest are 3 km away, and are ideal for walks and bike trips. Untergiesing - Harlaching is a great choice for travellers interested in city trips, Old Town exploring and Oktoberfest. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, HRS, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Wetterstein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wetterstein Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing