We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Munich City
Ranked #48 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We have stayed here a couple of times and for us is an ideal location, only 5 minutes walk from the S Bahn from the airport and 15 minutes to the centre. The hotel is a short walk to the beer garden Muffathalle by the River Isar where its a pleasant walk to the English Garden taking an hour [with young kids]. We were room only and the breakfast too costly for us but theres a petrol station next door for a pastry or theres an Aldi round the corner. Down sides are the noisy tour groups which decend daily making the queues at the lift often unbearable but overall its a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NbyNWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,662)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Munich City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 2,662 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2009

This hotel was good value, with easy access from the airport - S1 or S8 trains go to the station just round the corner. The decor throughout was clean, modern and bright and the desk staff were polite and friendly.
The rooms are big by european standards, the bathrooms are more compact but clean and well maintained - the only negative were the uncomfortable pillows that squashed down to nothing as soon as you put your head on them, but this might not be a problem for everyone.
The hotel is a 15 minute walk away from the town centre, although the walk back seemed longer - probably because it was uphill - but this will give you the chance to walk off the hearty Bavarian cuisine and local beers!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandTJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

a very clean,modern hotel with good amenities-excellent pool,good restaurant,comfortable rooms-staff were helpful but not that friendly-except front of house very helpful.cannot really fault this hotel for the price-ideally could be closer to the city centre.breakfast was a bit expensive at 19 euro each.so we had breakfast in marienplatz for only 5 euro each! but would use again

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Worn furniture a little bit
Price is high
The lobby and there are wonderful children's play area
Staff of the gentle

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AboMohammeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This is a very comfortable 4 star hotel right in the centre of Munich. There are bars and restaurants almost on the doorstep and the old town & Marienplatz are only an easy walk away.

We did not dine in the hotel or have breakfast, so we can’t comment on these. We had one drink in the bar and it seemed fine.

We got a good room rate, but the thing with Novotels now is that they get you with the add-on costs. We managed to avoid the EUR19 per person breakfast, but they got us with EUR 17 for overnight parking – seventeen Euros to park from 18:00 to 09:00 the next morning! Just as well we weren’t staying longer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

The hotel overall was good, very clean, the breakfast was really tasty and the room modern with separate bathroom and WC. The hotel has fitness center and a tiny swimming pool, which was all the time full of kids, so it was difficult to make a dip. The location is not so central- around 1,5 Km to Marienplatz- and has almost nothing around to go out at night. The value for money was great!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. By booking ahead we got a pretty good rate especially for this location. Hotel is within 15 minute walk of Marienplatz. You have variety of restaurants and supermarkets along the way to the center.

We had a very nice comfortable quad room. Room is fairly large although floorplan of toilet and bathroom is a bit weird.

Rooms are very clean and the hotel hotel is nice and comfortable.

You are within 5 minute walk to Deutsches museum although we did not particularly like it.

They will get you on the parking - 17euro for 24 hours.
We did not try their breakfast as it is very expensive for my taste.

Would recommend this hotel to others and would stay here again at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BearMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#81 of 385 in Munich
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,666 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen Messe
Novotel Munchen Messe
#51 of 385 in Munich
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Munich City

Address: Hochstrasse 11, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
#51 Business Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $113 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Novotel Munchen City is located in the heart of the Bavarian state capital, just minutes from the Deutsches Museum, the Gasteig cultural center and Marienplatz. The hotel is close to Rosenheimer Platz station so can be easily reached bypublic transport and is therefore an ideal destination for those travelling by rail or air. When it is time to relax, why not visit the free spa area with its pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. In addition to 307 air-conditioned rooms, the non smoking hotel features a restaurant, bar and terrace. The separate conference center and terrace offers five meeting rooms for 210 people. A garage is available for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Novotel Hotel Munich
Novotel Munich
Munich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing