We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Munich City
Ranked #48 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jhamm1902
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,662)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Munich City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 2,662 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at this hotel in Munich.
We chose to stay again following on from our good experience the first time two years ago. The hotel is conveniently situated almost next to the Rosenheimer Platz stop of the metro. You can pretty much jump on any train to get to the city and stop at Karlsplatz, Hauptbahnhof and Marienplatz. The S8 airport train also stops here and takes about 35 mins to get to the airport. To get to the hotel easily once you get off the train you need to follow the signs to the Gasteig and then once you come up the escalator follow the signs to Novotel and Holiday Inn. This takes you straight through a shopping centre to Hochstrasse which the Novotel is on. It is a 2 minute walk once you come out of the shopping centre past a petrol station to the hotel.
I booked this hotel using some of my Accor Hotels points and as a result we were given a complimentary welcome drink each which was a nice touch. The bar isn't the cheapest but the drinks are good quality and you get crisps and nuts!
Check in was quick and efficient although we did check in late, and we were given the option to have late check out to 5pm for free which was fantastic as our flight home wasn't until 9pm.
There are a few bars and restaurants around the hotel but we took the metro into town each evening as it really wasn't far at all. For me, it was definitely worth the extra 10 mins on the journey into town rather than spending a lot more on a more central hotel.
Room was well appointed with a separate toilet and fridge, safe and sofa bed. There was adequate storage and hanging and the bathroom had a bath as well as a shower and quite a good hairdryer. The bed was quite firm, but I prefer this. One thing I noticed from before is that there is a distinct lack of mirrors in the room, but this time I took my own small one with me.
Staff on reception and in the bars were very friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lou_Lou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the staff all spoke a number of languages, the room were spacious and the breakfast was excellent, there were so many choices the fussiest eater would still come away full! There was not internet in the rooms which does annoy of hotels of this standard, there were two computers in the lobby area which people used, and you were able to log in for twenty minutes for free until your session ended, people did abuse this and would stay on for much longer. We didn't eat in the restaurant for lunch or dinner. There is underground parking which you have to pay for and is on a first come first serve basis, there is no booking available. There is a small swimming pool and wellness area, which was very clean but did get very busy late afternoon. You can walk so easily into town, it's a nice walk and lots to see, if back in Munich again I would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sebax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3280-DM, Manager at Novotel Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Family „Sebax“,

Thank you very much for the kind comment you wrote about your stay in our hotel. We are really happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Very best regards,

Thomas Wacker
Direktor/General Manager
Accor Hospitality Germany GmbH
Novotel München City
Hochstrasse 11
81669 München

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Anka834
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I used this hotel for a quick business stop-over. I didn't have the opportunity to explore all facilities of the hotel.
The room was fine and the attendance of staff was average to good. The breakfast service can definitely improve - I experienced a lack of attention and efficiency.
If you need a comfortable hotel that offers you the necessary for a good price, I definitely can recommend this City Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Innovator121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in Novotel City in Munich. As always, there are good and bad things about this hotel - but all in all it is nice. Among good things, I could name its location - a short walk from the S-Bahn station as well as from the Deutsches Museum. The room was Ok - big eniough for a big city hotel, clean and functional. On the bad side I could name the WiFi and the breakfast (for 21 Euro you could have a much better breakfast in a coffe shop). But the most strange thing I met in this hotel is the fact that the main electricity socket turns off when the main light turns off, so I was not able to leave my laptop online overnight! I realize that this is about power saving and environment protection, but I think here they just stretched the limit...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Ill start by saying that I work for an airline and as part of my job I stay at many different hotels in all parts of the world so I have used wifi at hundreds of hotels and this hotels wifi would have to be by far the worst I have ever seen.

The signal strength is at best poor and when it will actually let you connect to the wifi 5 minutes later it will log you off and get you to re-enter your password.

All of this and I wasn't even using the hotels free wifi service...I paid extra for the so called 'premium service'.

If you are going to stay here and need a reliable Internet service I would seriously look at staying elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jayson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#81 of 385 in Munich
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,666 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen Messe
Novotel Munchen Messe
#51 of 385 in Munich
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Munich City

Address: Hochstrasse 11, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
#51 Business Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $113 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Novotel Munchen City is located in the heart of the Bavarian state capital, just minutes from the Deutsches Museum, the Gasteig cultural center and Marienplatz. The hotel is close to Rosenheimer Platz station so can be easily reached bypublic transport and is therefore an ideal destination for those travelling by rail or air. When it is time to relax, why not visit the free spa area with its pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. In addition to 307 air-conditioned rooms, the non smoking hotel features a restaurant, bar and terrace. The separate conference center and terrace offers five meeting rooms for 210 people. A garage is available for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Novotel Hotel Munich
Novotel Munich
Munich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing