We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay after a shaky start but don't get me started on the aircon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Munich City
Ranked #53 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay after a shaky start but don't get me started on the aircon”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I'll start with the few negatives and end with the positives as our stay was above average but not quite "very good". Firstly we had to wait for our room to be ready when we arrived after a long drive. The room should have been ready from 15:00 but we had to wait until 15:45. Not the end of the world but annoying. However, my biggest bone of contention was with the air con which was woefully inadequate. We were at the far end of the building so I'm not sure if that had something to do with it but the air con was worse than useless leaving the room very hot and stuffy. Fortunately we overlooked a quiet part of the hotel and left the window wide open all night so that made things far more pleasant. The last "niggle" was the bathroom which was very odd. Normally with Novotels, the bathroom door is on the left or right when entering the room. This makes for a decent sized bathroom but normally means that to have a shower, you need to stand in the bath which has a shower screen. This Novotel has the bathroom door open into the room itself which means the bathroom doors hit the bed when you open them. The reason for this, I think, is so that bathroom can have a proper standup shower cubicle as well as a bath. This, however, makes the bathroom feel cramped and not particularly private (the doors do have frosted glass so don't panic). You also have to squeeze between the bed and the wall to get into the bathroom which can become annoying. As I say, just a niggle and a personal preference as there will be people who prefer this layout.

On the positive side, the staff were friendly and helpful both at the front desk and in the breakfast area. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The pool was a decent size for us to have a swim and for the kids to burn off some energy. The hotel is in a good location, especially for us as we chose to eat in the area around the hotel rather than go into the old town. There is a HIT supermarket a few minutes walk to stock up on a few essentials. It is also only a few minutes from the transport links. On the whole, I would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clint_Swagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    1,269
    304
    84
    36
See reviews for
1,089
484
107
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with work last week but unfortunately the main goal of the hotel was missed as the noise from the bathroom meant I had 3 nights of little sleep. Staff came to my request for help to turn off the fan above the shower promptly but either were misinformed or skating over the reality that the ventilation system does not turn off. Meaning the howling wind noise is constant through your nights sleep (if you get that far). They said it should turn off when the switch is off (10 mins approx. after) but no, then tried to reset the system but of course didn't work. They finally moved my room me thinking it was a room specific issue but no same problem there as is a structural issue with the hotel. This hotel is not on my company's recommended list but I wanted good location with a pool for my morning swim and the Sheraton was being refurbed so I took a chance, regretted that fast. Fruit at breakfast was brown and soft but rest good (fry up and ham & cheese selections were good). Woman who checked me in was very rude with a bad attitude on the reception, also would not look at me when talking to me which was impolite. Set the stay off to a bad start. Majority of staff appeared very young and inexperienced with mixed knowledge of English which is expected in a 4 star hotel, could work on their people skills.

Room Tip: I would only recommend those who could sleep through a tornado to stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englishroseincork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights at the end of August 2013. Located in a quiet street near the River and a few hundred yards from Rosenheimer Platz S-Bahn station which has a direct link with the airport. Two or three restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and the hotel has one which was high quality but at 4 star hotel prices. Overall a nice hotel with friendly and efficient staff. Couple of cons to the overall positive perspective- breakfast was not included in our rate but we didn't realise this until we checked in and secondly they charged for wi-fi which is somehow like charging for the electricity the hairdryer uses i.e. not what you expect of a hotel of this class. However would recommend this hotel as a good base for a to visit the City.

Room Tip: Can't see noise being an issue in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayrshire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I traveled with my family in June.
We selected this hotel based on the travel agency recommendation and it proved to be a good one.
The hotel is located near the center of Munich. The metro station is 3 minutes walk, giving you access to the other locations in the city.
The hotel is clean, the breakfast is great, the staff is excellent. The only downfall of this hotel is the size of the room, which we founded a bit to small.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GimiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The only thing missing from this hotel is an additional star, it should be five stars. We had four great days in the Novotel Munich. The hotel is immaculately clean, staff are courteous and well trained. We had a really enjoyable stay at the hotel.

We were leaving on the night sleeper to Venice and had left our luggage with reception, after a long hot day we needed to freshen up. The reception staff allowed us access to the pool changing rooms, where we showered and changed, it was heaven!

The breakfast was excellent and staff very attentive particularly Sarah(?) who runs a very efficient restaurant. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends, the transport links are super also the Sbhan station is just around the corner.

The hotel was extremely busy during our stay, as a result the staff had their work cut out for them. However they coped professionally and kept the place ship shape. Thanks to all the staff and Management at the Novotel Munich for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weatherman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. It's in a good location and quite close to a subway station. From there it's two stops right into the heart of Munich. I don't think we ever had to wait more than two minutes for a train. You can take a short cut by going through the Swallow Hotel next door
Breakfast was excellent with a fantastic range and variety.
We didn't use the pool
I do object to the exorbitant charge for wi fi - ridiculous really. If you go to a bar at the bottom of the street you can pick up free wi fi from the big complex across the road

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#79 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,587 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
1.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Munich City

Property: Novotel Munich City
Address: Hochstrasse 11, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
#51 Business Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Novotel Munchen City is located in the heart of the Bavarian state capital, just minutes from the Deutsches Museum, the Gasteig cultural center and Marienplatz. The hotel is close to Rosenheimer Platz station so can be easily reached bypublic transport and is therefore an ideal destination for those travelling by rail or air. When it is time to relax, why not visit the free spa area with its pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. In addition to 307 air-conditioned rooms, the non smoking hotel features a restaurant, bar and terrace. The separate conference center and terrace offers five meeting rooms for 210 people. A garage is available for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Novotel Hotel Munich
Novotel Munich
Munich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing