We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be a five Star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Munich City
Ranked #51 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Should be a five Star hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The only thing missing from this hotel is an additional star, it should be five stars. We had four great days in the Novotel Munich. The hotel is immaculately clean, staff are courteous and well trained. We had a really enjoyable stay at the hotel.

We were leaving on the night sleeper to Venice and had left our luggage with reception, after a long hot day we needed to freshen up. The reception staff allowed us access to the pool changing rooms, where we showered and changed, it was heaven!

The breakfast was excellent and staff very attentive particularly Sarah(?) who runs a very efficient restaurant. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends, the transport links are super also the Sbhan station is just around the corner.

The hotel was extremely busy during our stay, as a result the staff had their work cut out for them. However they coped professionally and kept the place ship shape. Thanks to all the staff and Management at the Novotel Munich for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weatherman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    1,290
    306
    86
    37
See reviews for
1,112
495
110
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. It's in a good location and quite close to a subway station. From there it's two stops right into the heart of Munich. I don't think we ever had to wait more than two minutes for a train. You can take a short cut by going through the Swallow Hotel next door
Breakfast was excellent with a fantastic range and variety.
We didn't use the pool
I do object to the exorbitant charge for wi fi - ridiculous really. If you go to a bar at the bottom of the street you can pick up free wi fi from the big complex across the road

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our fourth time in Munich and each time we have stayed at the Novotel. It's an excellent location near the city center but on a quiet side street. The Isar river is just below the hotel. The breakfast is great; a very wide selection of usual breakfast items, plus various wursts, breads, croissants, omelets, smoked salmon and much more. The staff is excellent and of course they all speak English. One cool thing is that there is a small shopping center 3 minutes walk from the hotel with a Hit supermarket that is chock full of things to take back home: mustards, chocolate and much else. And at the best prices in Munich.

Room Tip: Note the comment about "Hit" above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry17149021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Novotel on a long weekend break. the location is good, being close (a couple of stops on the underground) to the city centre. The underground station with connections to most of greater Munich is only a few hundred yards away. At the hotel we were dealt with efficiently at check in and the rooms were as expected, fairly normal Novotel standard.
The breakfast was good, with a decent selection and the bar was open and inviting. My only reservations were the reception staff who were too unemotional and unfriendly, although the restaurant staff were very pleasant. The other concern was the temperature of the hotel during warm (but not hot) weather. Considering it is a modern hotel, the air conditioning was relatively ineffective in the reception and other main areas. Overall though we enjoyed our stay at the Novotel and would return due to its convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fivegoldstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stated here for 5 nights. Contemporary style inside, very good breakfast, very fancy bar and restaurant with excellent food. The staff is very nice and friendly. 10 min walk distance to the center of Munich. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in Novotel Muenchen City hotel for five days with our children during our visit to Germany in August. It is a typical large brand hotel with all the pros and the cons that this might means. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, spacious enough for 2 persons but not for a family, and with lack of character.The room service were taking good care of the room every day. The staff was kind but the place was so crouded that you cannot get the service of a smaller hotel - things are a little typical (impersonal). The hotel is placed in central area but it isn't in the center. It is 20 min on foot or 2 stations by S-bahn (Rosenheimer Platz). Alternative you can take the tram (5 min walk) which I reccomend as the view the city is better that way and in addition the central underground stations in Munich are not nice at all.
Pros:1) Very close to the Deuches Museum (you have to go there, especially if you are with kids), 2) Next to the hotel is a car rental company with great service and logical prices (I highly reccoment to rent a car for 1-2 days and explore Bavaria, go the Alps, castles, romantic road etc.) 3)Nice and clean hotel, 4)Pool and fitness facilities, 4) the breakfast is great: variety, quantity and quality
Cons: 1)You have to pay for the internet connection. Why? I believe that every hotel which respect itsself and its clients should give this service free of charge (we are in 2013)! 2)The water is more expensive than the beer!!! - that should also be free of charge.3) The fittness and pool amenities are very small for the capacity of the hotel.
Concering the price, and keeping in mind that Munich is a much expensive city than e.g. Berlin for this category of hotels, the price was OK but you can't say that is a value for money.
Genarally, I would reccoment this hotel but...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heracles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#84 of 382 in Munich
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,572 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Munich City

Property: Novotel Munich City
Address: Hochstrasse 11, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
#51 Business Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Novotel Munchen City is located in the heart of the Bavarian state capital, just minutes from the Deutsches Museum, the Gasteig cultural center and Marienplatz. The hotel is close to Rosenheimer Platz station so can be easily reached bypublic transport and is therefore an ideal destination for those travelling by rail or air. When it is time to relax, why not visit the free spa area with its pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. In addition to 307 air-conditioned rooms, the non smoking hotel features a restaurant, bar and terrace. The separate conference center and terrace offers five meeting rooms for 210 people. A garage is available for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Novotel Hotel Munich
Novotel Munich
Munich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing