We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Munich City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Munich City
Ranked #58 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    1,151
    269
    77
    33
See reviews for
961
442
101
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Initially difficult to find the Hotel as it depends on which exit you take from Rosenheimer Platz Ubahn. Reception Desk very helpful and explained fully the additional benefits associated with the room. Room was very comfortable and clean. The selection for the inclusive breakfast was amazing. Pool and wellness area very clean.Regrettably the maintenence of the outside bar area was neglected and rubbish and cigarette ends gave a poor first impression

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank percival12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in May. It is located at very close walking distance to main attractions at the city center. It has limited parking space underground, which is nice especially if it is cold or rainy outside. Notice there is not much other parking place outside the hotel and within walking distance, so be sure to grab your spot early. You can leave your rental car here while you go see the sites during the day. The hotel has an excellent breakfast service in which you can request your eggs cooked as you please, and the staff is multi-ethnic, very agreable, and much superior as compared to typical German standard elsewhere. As it was very rainy during those days, we obtained courtesy umbrellas from the front desk, which we thankfully kept, and used throughout the rest of our trip. As we are a family of four, we were accommodated in a large room with a sofabed and a cot. Extra bedding was not a problem. The room was confy, but view was just to the grass outside in the inner patio. However, the phone never worked properly as it only received but could not dial out. Got wireless for free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citadelpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of Munich "old-stadt" centre, yet is in a quiet and peaceful location. It has a secure underground garage (at extra cost) if you are driving. Clean modern and efficient hotel availability of a good breakfast at reasonable cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel after searching for a reasonable priced hotel during one of the famous fairs in Munchen. What a good surprise! The room is spacious and clean, the fitness center a great place to spend time exercising and relaxing in the sauna and pool. Subway is 1/2 a block away, in the shopping mall which includes bakery and supermarket, all you need to buy things you need during your trip. I did not have breakfast at the hotel, so no lines can be added on that. I always prefer to have breakfast on the streets to taste local foods and flavors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Location - 5 minute walk to the U-bahn. I've seen some people mentioning how well placed it is. I don't think they walked the city that much. Basically any hotel close to an U-bahn or S-bahn is in a good location, cause they come fast and take you fast anywhere across the city. But other that, there's nothing special about its location. A bit hard to find if you don't arrive but taxi, so here's a hint, it's on the same street with Holiday Inn which you can't miss. If you arrive by U-bahn, don't take the exit to Rosenheimer Platz, you'll be far away from you need to get. Just take the other exit.

Reception - nice people, they speak English and German (I didn't try other languages). You might want to borrow an umbrella from them, in case you didn't bring any.

Gym - very poor and the thing that always pissed me off and any other person used to a gym: the all-in-one machine, where perhaps if you sit on your hands, you might even train your legs.
For gym and swimming pool you have a special elevator that takes you straight to them.

Swimming pool - small, but barely a few people in it (if any at all), in the evening. Less than 1.5 meters deep.

Standard superior room - very spacey, king bed and a sofa. The weird bathroom split: toilet is next to the entrance, while the sink and the shower are accessed from the room, next to the bed.

Laundry and ironing - as any good hotel they offer these services, for the usual hotel rates, but if you want to iron yourself something, at least on the second floor, there is an ironing room with everything you need, inside.

Wi-fi signal - good, not exceptional, just the average for a good hotel, allows you to do your job and have a skype video call.

Bath robe and slippers - you have to ask for them at the reception (guess they don't have enough)

TV - the usual poor selection of tv channels, you can't find a movie in English let's say, but there are 3 good music channels + the world famous news channels.

Tips: There is a gas station very close, at number 5 on the same street (so, Hochstrasse 5) which is open way after all the other shops have closed and you can buy whatever you need from there. There are also some fast foods at the U-bahn station, but they close at 8 pm.
Also as you exit Hochstrasse and get to the main boulevard, somehow across the road from U-bahn, there is something like a cantina which offers also take-away food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KissTheRottweiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is ok except the hotel charge is quite expensive & without WIFI. I would like to highlight the service as I've still not received the refund of the additional room that I've accidentally booked by error. Please advise the status through my e-mail to Carolin dated 10 Jun.
Carolin Reeg
Reservation
Accor Hospitality Germany GmbH
c/o Novotel München City
Hochstrasse 11
81669 München
Tel.:+49 89 66107-790 | Fax.: +49 89 66107-999

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Eileen611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#74 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.7 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Munich City

Property: Novotel Munich City
Address: Hochstrasse 11, 81669, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
#51 Business Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Novotel Munchen City is located in the heart of the Bavarian state capital, just minutes from the Deutsches Museum, the Gasteig cultural center and Marienplatz. The hotel is close to Rosenheimer Platz station so can be easily reached bypublic transport and is therefore an ideal destination for those travelling by rail or air. When it is time to relax, why not visit the free spa area with its pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. In addition to 307 air-conditioned rooms, the non smoking hotel features a restaurant, bar and terrace. The separate conference center and terrace offers five meeting rooms for 210 people. A garage is available for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Novotel Hotel Munich
Novotel Munich
Munich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing