We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met our needs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Munich City
Ranked #55 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Met our needs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Understandably we stayed here during Oktoberfest this year so needless to say, it was expensive (over $350 USD per night).

This hotel seemed to see itself as 4 star, but I really felt it was not quite there. Compared to other four stars the rooms were not up to par; the linens and amenities in the room were average and the lobby looked like an Ikea show room. Cool, but not upscale.

We did call down once for coffee as we did not get restocked and the coffee never came. We also tried to call the front desk another time and no one answered. Not a huge deal but also not a 4 star experience.

The service in the hotel bar was great though and the staff were really nice.

It is also close to lots of things. You can underground if you don't like to walk and walkable if you are into it (15 mins to Marienplatz). There were good restaurants about and it felt safe even late into the night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammy_Teare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    1,227
    296
    82
    34
See reviews for
1,043
472
106
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vastra Frolunda, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

After staying at Novotel in Munich I have really had enough of the Novotels. The hotels look almost exactly the same all over the world. The decor is modern but looks like cheap IKEA stuff in my eyes. The price is as high as other chains but the feel is not really my cup of tea.
The location is quite good for the hotel and the city center is a short walk away. The rooms have good size but the beds are really uncomfortable. The are big but SO hard and they only have synthetic pillows to offer.
I always dislike paying for internet access also.
The breakfast was very nice but as always when it is not included WAY too expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed here at the beginning of september for 5 days. Its location is just 10-15 mins walking from Marienplatz. Rooms clean, modern with all confort you need. Near the Rosenheimer platz metro station, is very easy to go everywhere you want. In that area you can find some restaurants, arabian, japanese and a little wonderful restaurant where you can eat pizza.
Breakfast was not included so we don't know about food and service. We spoke woith the receptionist just for checkin in and checkin out but the girls there were always smiling.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rotvi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel has a great location not far from the German Museum and a pleasant 10 min walk from the Rathaus. The prices are reasonable, it is modern, clean and the staff are friendly.

We booked a family room and were initially a little disappointed with the size relative to expectations from the website (we did not book from Novotel's own website so this is not necessarily Novotel's fault) but we were able to pay a little extra and upgrade to a very nice large room. They also have a swimming pool which is great when you have the kids with you and a parking garage.

Breakfast was great but room service was a little limited in choice. The hotel restaurant was expensive and probably aimed too much towards 'fine dining' for a family hotel. Also the quality, while perfectly edible, did not match up to the prices, presentation and service. For example, the pizza seemed like a frozen supermarket pizza base with extra toppings added by the chef. There are other restaurants nearby.

I'd definitely return for a family holiday and I'd consider it for a business trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

That's what this Novotel is: close to everything within walking distance, all new and clean, with a very good breakfast (expensive but is just like a full dinner at a restaurant... there's a cef cooking cakepans and delicious omelettes...). We had a very good room for a good price and really enjoyed both the swimming pool and the small playing area close to the lobby. It's a good hotel, with good standards and a reasonable price. I would certainly recommend it to anyone going to visit Munich!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancescaRome_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ja Ela, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very good reception at the check in.Rooms are large and nice.Only defect I noticed it that in the toilet I did not find a exhaust taking the smelly air out and it was uncomforable for the second person to use immeadiatly after one use.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Ranasinghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here as a family on a visit to my old university haunts - and we were not disappointed. Although Novotel has the unbeatable offer that allows children to stay in their parents' room for free, ours had just outgrown this offer to make sense - so I took them up on their on-line offer of getting a second, adjacent room for half the price. Since I considered this 'asking price' a bargain, I felt we got a good deal overall. The hotel itself is in Haidhausen, a stone's throw from the Philharmonic site at the Gasteig and on a slightly elevated terrain above the Isar. If you're good on foot, it's a fabulous walk to the city center - about 15 minutes all in all - if not, you can take the S-Bahn which is a mere 4 minute walk away. The hotel itself is great - nice lay-out, great indoor pool, above-average breakfast buffet and nice restaurant with summertime outdoor seating. A final treat is the Paulaner beergarten on the Nockerberg within easy walking distance - no better place to savour Bavarian joie de vivre! Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalwayGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#78 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,530 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
1.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Munich City

Property: Novotel Munich City
Address: Hochstrasse 11, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
#51 Business Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Novotel Munchen City is located in the heart of the Bavarian state capital, just minutes from the Deutsches Museum, the Gasteig cultural center and Marienplatz. The hotel is close to Rosenheimer Platz station so can be easily reached bypublic transport and is therefore an ideal destination for those travelling by rail or air. When it is time to relax, why not visit the free spa area with its pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. In addition to 307 air-conditioned rooms, the non smoking hotel features a restaurant, bar and terrace. The separate conference center and terrace offers five meeting rooms for 210 people. A garage is available for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Novotel Hotel Munich
Novotel Munich
Munich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing