We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, very gentle staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Parkstadt Schwabing
Ranked #74 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have been in this modern hotel for 3 nights...and it everything was great. The staff is very frienly, everything is clean, the food is good, the bar, too. The hotel is modern with a lot of glass. It is not far to the subway station and the tram is even nearer. So, we reached downtown Munich in few minutes

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seffe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

The location is better than it appears at first sight with shopping and dining close-by. Subway stop is only a ten minute walk away, from there another ten minutes to downtown. Hotel is very modern, beautifully appointed, but the room turned out to be impractical. Old-school faucets with separate knobs for hot and cold water made adjusting the temperature difficult. Besides, the once set temperature changed constantly from dangerously scalding hot to cold. In room 511 the drain of the bathtub would remain shut unless one removed the plug entirely by hand. The open design of the bathroom is a matter of personal taste. Staff were polite, but did not offer a room change in response to my complaints despite vacancies. It all appears well meant, but poorly executed. I will look for alternatives next time I am in Munich, even though I cannot claim I would shy away from this property altogether in the absence of viable alternatives. The value for money is decent for Munich.

Room Tip: In case the plumbing issues mentioned above are related to the spa on the fifth floor: Stay away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I really can't say enough good things about this hotel. I will start quickly by noting the one small negative of this hotel - it is not directly downtown, but is in the middle of a business district. My friends and I were here as tourists, and were a bit out of place as the majority of the other patrons were staying for business reasons. To get downtown requires a short metro ride, and the metro station is about a 7 minute walk from the hotel, but it is a pleasant walk. For my friends and I, this was absolutely not an issue and the stay was well worth it. This hotel was much more affordable than others in the area, and extremely well-kept and modern. In-room amenities were outstanding. The staff was willing to help and answer questions whenever we needed something, storing our luggage for us after we checked out and helping us find the airport and tourist attractions whenever we needed directions. They offer internet for a small feel per day (I believe 6 euros) and offer a phenomenal breakfast in the morning which was included in our room rate. It has one of the widest selections of breakfast foods I've ever seen and all of it was delicious. They also have apples sitting on the front desk at all times, which was nice to grab as a snack every once in a while. This hotel really made our stay in Munich fantastic, and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very clean and modern hotel. Rooms are nice, very clean. Internet access could be easier, you will need a cable(and they didn't have enough at reception) or use T-Mobile. Breakfast is very nice and the bar is also good.

Had dinner there once which was also fine.

definitely a nice place for the busy business traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Innside is a Melia hotel (known for their Latin American properties) should you happen to be familiar with this "chain". It is a high-end, stylish, contemporary property that is nested within an office park. While that contributes to the property's quietness it does have negatives, namely services within walking distance from the hotel. There are no restaurants or attractions surrounding the property. Think if the area as a suburban office park and you will understand what the area is like.

The U-Bahn (U6 I believe) is a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel and you will be in Marktplatz or Odeonplatz in 5 stops or so @ 4.10 Euro each way. So, late nights out in Munich is a slight chore b/c of that walk back to the hotel from the station after the train ride.

So much for the location. The rooms are modern and clean. Even #s face south so be warned - it gets very hot as a result. They have louvers/shutters to help deflect the sun but the room heats up quickly. The AC is not like in the U.S. - they are very slow and weak. And, they only work when you insert your room key into a slot when inside the room. TIP - get 2+ keys so that you can leave the room and keep one key in the slot to keep the AC on. It took a half day just to get the room temp down to an acceptable level and even then I had to sleep on top of the comforter since the room was still warm.

The bathroom is a modern one. The clear glass shower stall is strange. If you are in the room with people who you wouldn't want to see you naked or with those who don't want to see you naked this may be an issue. The toilet space is adjacent to the shower so you can't overlook the shower if someone is using it. To enter/exit the room you pass by the shower stall and so can easily see the person using it. As for the shower itself, it is an enclosed tub with a hand-held shower wand. The step up into the tub from the bathroom is easily 2' - not an easy climb if you are short or elderly or someone with balance issues. Getting out of the shower is even more difficult since your feet are wet, so be careful.

The hotel has a restaurant which I did not use since I spent my time in Munich. The front desk staff - excellent, very accommodating and friendly, a pleasure to deal with. The maintenance guy - scoffed when I questioned the AC effectiveness, said that it was on full blast (full blast for Germany perhaps, but when the AC takes 8 hours to drop the temperature by a few degrees it isn't up to the job IMO), but otherwise was polite and timely after my "complaint".

Internet access is free but only via a Cat5 cable, otherwise they charge you to access it via WiFi. They do offer you a cable to use (who carries Cat5 cables anymore?) so that was convenient, though you can't use your computer away from the desk b/c of the cable connection.

Overall - very nicely styled hotel with friendly and professional staff in a quiet setting that will take you 20-30 minutes to get into the heart of Munich. Ask for an odd-numbered room to avoid the excessive heat and for an extra key to keep the AC running when you are out and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Choose an odd-numbered room! Even-numbered rooms face the sun all day and heat up quickly and do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSpinnaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Good Hotel for business travelers if your office is around the Schwabing Area. Not a lot of places to eat around so be prepared to have the lunch and dinner in the hotel itself. Please also be advised the Wi-Fi is not free, you only have wired internet in the hotel which is a big pain. If you have a tablet/ipad you are out of luck and would need the expensive internet pack from Telekom.

The breakfast is excellent and is the highlight of the stay!! The rooms are spacious and ultra modern.

Air conditioning is a bit of hit or miss though. The Norfriedhof underground station is a 600 meter walk from the hotel which can take you to most places of interest.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room which is both overlooking the highway and in the lower floors as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel has a subway station 10 minutes away by foot. The facilities are quite fine. Free internet is provided by cable. For wireless,a daily fee needs to be paid.

The restaurant is quite fine, but the menu needs a bit more of variety. It only opens for breakfast and dinner. That's a problem if you are around for lunch, since there are not many restaurants nearby.

Friendly and helpful staff!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibiribaboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
0.3 mi away
Pullman Hotel Munich
Pullman Hotel Munich
#55 of 387 in Munich
1,519 reviews
2.4 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#75 of 387 in Munich
1,259 reviews
4.9 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#35 of 387 in Munich
860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Parkstadt Schwabing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Parkstadt Schwabing

Address: Mies-van-der-Rohe-Str. 10, 80807 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#42 Family Hotel in Munich
#65 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#84 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $89 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Parkstadt Schwabing 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 160 large Guestrooms, Premium Rooms and Lifestyle Suites, Munich's 'in location' in Schwabing, designed by star-architect Helmut Jahn, offers light-filled, air-conditioned rooms with Queen- or King-size beds, exemplary comfort, and modern bathrooms with rain showers.A hot tip for guests from all over the world – an extravagant hotel with the look of a new era, superbly situated at the foot of the HighLight Towers with excellent transport links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Parkstadt Schwabing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Munich
Munich Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing