We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff”
Review of Rivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rivoli Hotel
Ranked #198 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour. Most of the tour group stayed at the "sister hotel" the Hotel Ambiance Rivoli, 2 doors down the street but because of the size of our groups some stayed. Rooms were adequate, bathrooms were average size with safe. elevator was the typical Euorpean tiny elevator that could only fit 3 people. Rooms were clean and staff were very friendly. My bed sort of small but very comfortable. I had no meals at this hotel but had 2 meals at the Ambiance. They have a Thai restaurant, which serves a wonderful breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelCrazyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 284 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here with 2 friends whilst visiting Oktoberfest this year. We're regular visitors to the 'feet and are delighted to have found a decent hotel within walking distance.

We ad a suite for 3 complete with a rooftop terrace. Room was a little dated, but clean enough and exactly what we were looking for.

Only slight downside was the seemly strange arrangements with bar opening. Apparently the small bar I only open when there's football on. There's not much by way of entertainment in the immediate Harras area, but this is compensated for by the excellent S-Bahn/U-Bahn links to the city centre, and airport.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and although I have no 1st hand experience of it my friends tell me the breakfast was great.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryMenzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel has a great location to the U-bahn and S-bahn lines. We visited during Oktoberfest and were able to get around quickly. The room includes a typical German breakfast and was wonderful. The rooms include a flat screen TV, refrigerator and mini-bar. I would recommend this hotel to all traveling to Munich.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachTraveler1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I visited this hotel in july 2012, with 5 other friends. We had two 3 person bedrooms.

The rooms are fairly standard: 3 beds, a closet, tv, minibar, and bathroom. All you need for a citytrip. The rooms were cleaned daily, The beds were good as well. Nothing special, but at least not that stiff or soft. Only drawback of the room was that there was no airconditioning: our room faced south, so the sun warmed the room up all day, and with only a window to open, it was quite hot during the night. Not very comfortable. Especially because with the window open, you have all the road noise from the busy street. If you are a light sleeper, get a room on the back of the hotel!
To flush the toilet, you need to pull a metal cord which is on top of the shelf above the toilet. At first, we couldnt figure it out how to flush it as the staff had put drinking cups on top of the cord. The cord was therefore invisible. Not very handy when one of us already used the toilet and wanted to flush it!

There is free wifi: you can obtain a login code at the reception. However, in our room on the 3rd floor on the front side of the hotel, wifi reception was really poor. We had to sit in the window to be able to access the wifi network.

The breakfast is decent: you have some choices of yoghurt, juices, etc. I found that there weren't many choices of bread. And sometimes the basket was empty, and it took the waitresses a while to refill them. The same with coffee: normally they serve a new fresh can of coffee, but on our last morning, we didnt even get a can at all. We asked about it, and we were told the coffee was being made, but in the end we already finished our breakfast and still had no coffee. Not very nice... We had some juice instead.

The location of the hotel is great for visiting the city. It is almost next to a train and subway station, and within 10 minutes you get to the city centre (Marienplatz etc.). Very convenient.
If you arrive by car, you can park in front of the hotel to unload. The hotel offers a paid parking space, but on the streets you can park for free (if you can find a free spot). Also check the streets on the rear of the hotel, they are a bit calmer and also free parking.

If you want to have a true Bavarian-style night out in one of the biggest beer gardens in Munich, with music and big mugs of beer and ample food, make sure to visit the 'Augustiner Keller' at the Arnulfstrasse. We had a great time there, i can recommend this to everyone (young and old).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadronner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location suited us perfectly. We were there for Oktoberfest so with the U and S trains right there access was quick. The bus is also right there and we were able to take a direct bus to the Deutsches Museum. Breakfast was good. We always had an open table. The rooms were pretty small and simple. All around a good deal and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juergen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The location was good but the hotel is tiny, dirtier than expected, and we had some items taken from the room. As others mentioned, breakfast room is cramped and it gets quite noisy and impossible to grab a seat. The room was dirtier than expected. Definitely would not stay here again. FYI, they have draconian cancellation policies so be sure you want to stay here when you book the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ata0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

When we were at this hotel we were informed that we would have to use the facilities of it's sister hotel next door for breakfast and dinner. We also discovered that the bar didn't open either and again we had to use the sister hotel. The rooms are very small and very basic and I cannot understand how they can claim 3 stars!
In fairness the buffet breakfast offered on both mornings was very good with plenty to choose from. The set meal in the evening was poor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Ambiance Rivoli
Ambiance Rivoli
#143 of 389 in Munich
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#216 of 389 in Munich
264 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Schleuse
Hotel Schleuse
#255 of 389 in Munich
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
GS Hotel
GS Hotel
#229 of 389 in Munich
140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Palladium Munich
0.1 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#36 of 389 in Munich
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Hotel

Address: Albert-Rosshaupter-Str. 18, 81369 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $64 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivoli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing