We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy but .....”
Review of Rivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rivoli Hotel
Ranked #203 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights during our trip to Munich. This hotel had many positive features, 100m from the Harras U-bahn stop which takes you right into Marienplatz, the heart of the city, the room and it's en-suite was very clean and cleaned daily including fresh towels and bedding. Our room was at the back so there was no traffic noise.
The major downside for me was that there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room so if you have one, pack your travel kettle! Also the wifi is not free, neither is the breakfast (10 euros for all you can eat). There is an internet cafe that is right opposite and only charges 50 cents for 30 minutes so all is not lost!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REAKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Rivoli Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 279 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here as part of a tour (COSMOS) for two nights. This hotel calls itself a 3 star superior. I would at best call it two star. We saw a variety of rooms as we where part of a tour, most people being unhappy with thier rooms. Ours was one of the best, to small, smelt of smoke, on the noisy front, stuffy, no air conditioning (thank god it was not a hot day/night). Breakfast room to small, staff not very friendly or helpfull. To be fair it is a good location with easy access to the city centre - 15mins on U Band.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleAgedCouple_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

It was a good hotel, quite nice rooms and good value. On the HUGE minus side - they didn't care about the "Please do not disturb" sign. They knocked and entered. Both times when we were naked in bed doing ... ehrm ... you know.
In addition to that you could sometimes smell cigarette smoke coming from neighbouring rooms, and it lingered. The neighbourhood was dull, suburban without any restaurants.
The breakfast was all right, very close to the subway and ... in total - a decent, good value hotel but nothing more.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britta_BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Loved it - great value and close to the subway for easy access to the centre.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Copperbeach14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with a bus tour. We requested 'twin' beds throughout the trip but when we arrived at this hotel, we were given one queen size bed. The room was sooo small that it was difficult for one person to get around in it! When we complained at the front desk, the staff informed us that they had no more rooms available. This was a total 'crock' seeing that we never saw any other occupants at this hotel for the 2 days that we were forced to stay here! Their restaurant - if that's what you want to call it - was so small that it couldn't even fit 25 people in it at one time. We were shuffled off to the 'sister hotel' next door for breakfast, and, that was more roomy but still not a 4-star! As previously mentioned in other reviews, the ONLY lift available could only hold 4 people - no luggage. So basically, you had to 'schlep' your bags up the stairs or else wait 1/2 hour for the lift. Yes, the S-bahn was close by but the train ride to Marienplatz was about 30 minutes. To me, this is NOT a convenient location! The staff couldn't care less - they were unfriendly and NOT helpful at all! Staying at this 'dump' was definitely the down-side of our whole trip!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiLynn36470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Arrived at the hotel to be told that I could use the lift to get to my room on the 5th floor. The Rivoli must hold the record for hotel with the smallest lift. It can carry 4 passengers or 300kg. To get 4 in the lift you would all need to be quite good friends and be light. Case wouldn't fit in the lift and so had to climb the stairs.
The room was hot and as another review said the room was a sweatbox. The decor is from the 70s and the leopard skin print bed covers should be updated. The hotel is close to the railway network but is 45 minutes away from the centre of Munich by train. Was the first hotel on the tour and I wondered what I had let myself in for.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawmato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

A small 3* hotel. Excellent free breakfast with dry fruits, nuts, cereal, yoghurt--lots of items (but same everyday)
Free PC+internet in the lobby.
Spotless ensuite AC rooms with a shower cubicle. The rooms facing the road are larger, but a little noisy; while the opp. rooms are small, cosy & quiet. 3* rated.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
10  Thank drsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambiance Rivoli
Ambiance Rivoli
#128 of 385 in Munich
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#193 of 385 in Munich
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel AMENITY Munich
Hotel AMENITY Munich
#114 of 385 in Munich
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
1.5 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#284 of 385 in Munich
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Hotel

Address: Albert-Rosshaupter-Str. 18, 81369 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $78 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivoli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing