We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at Augusten”
Review of Augusten Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Augusten Hotel
Ranked #175 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Augusten Hotel for 6 nights.

We had booked a month in advance and I had actually called the hotel, before booking online, to confirm they had air-conditioned rooms available for the entire duration of our stay. We even had an email confirmation for the same, but when we checked in, we discovered that there was no aircon in the room. We immediately went back to the front desk to ask for a room with aircon, but the receptionist said they were fully booked and no change was possible. We showed her the email confirmation for an air-conditioned room and said we would stay for only 1 night and then look for alternate accommodation the next day. Then she juggled the room allocation and we finally did get an air-conditioned room for our entire stay.

From then on we had no complaints.
Location is very convenient and the hotel is 2 tram stops or an easy 10 min walk away from the train station.

The room we got was on level 5 and was nice and clean.

The service was ok, but one guy at the front desk (usually from afternoon to night shift) was exceptional and made our stay comfortable and pleasant. He who was extremely helpful and always prompt in providing us with information or items like extra pillows, cutlery etc.

Overall, if your expectations are managed, this is a nice place to stay due to the location and clean and pleasant rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dewdrops131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 182 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was for 3 days in the Hotel and I was robbed in the room. Someone with access to the room opened the suitcase and robbed Rayban sunglasses and silver jewery that where in a lock suitcase (the small security box was filled up with other items). When I complain to the manager the person said that they did not find anything in my room and when I asked for the security cameras there where none. Unfortunately I realized the robbery after I left the country, so no one attends really the complain.
Avoid going there

Room Tip: Don't go. If you go avoid the las room in the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mannymsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

we came early at the hotel because the train...we can check in before the hour to C/I is 1400...not problem with it, we take a look around the city (we leave our luggage in the hotel), the we came to check in but when we go to the room have a surprise... they assigned a room with a queen bed for us...we think was a mistake because we book a double room and also send a email to confirm this...(we are 2 single men....), they said the hotel was full and dont have any disponible (requestes are upon disponibility...thats absurd because we requested 1 month early!!!) we must sleep in the room...but we asked the receptionist to put a trace to change the room if possible the next day...and thats happened..they change the room to a double room...the hotel must be careful with this details, at this moments could lost a customer with it...the hotel is clean, nice and modern, instead this problem (solved finally only upon request...not for iniciative of the team...) we enjoy the stay....

Room Tip: if you have some special request please confirm and have the answer before came to the hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matador17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The location is excellent and the room price is reasonable. However, I did not appreciate having to pay an extra 29 euro to check in early, especially when the room was available and already made up. The accommodation is very modern and clean. The breakfast is quite adequate for 10 euro per day though lacks variety if you stay there multiple days. The reception staff are nice but seemed a little unfamiliar with things (e.g., not knowing how to transfer a phone call to my room, not offering wifi unless I asked, not asking how many wifi password I would need).

Room Tip: Try to get room overlooking the patio area, not the street. That said, the noise from adjacent const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 20Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are family of three person, the hotel is new, the twin room is too small for three beds, bathroom with only shower, shower gel used but the cleaner did not change, we have to ask by ourself for a new one and changed by ourself.....unbelievable! Also free mineral water on the first night, but we´ve got two bottle only instead of three. No air-con ,very hot at night, couldn´t sleep well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very nice hotel, used by both families and business people.
Clean rooms, effective shower, breakfast buffet with good selection and very nice. Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Close to underground and tram.
Had a quiet and big room facing the court yard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BHXTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Despite claims of "partial air conditioning" the room is actually much hotter than outside, making it rather unbearable in this current weather. Additionally claims of soundproof windows are exaggerated and hardly adequate given how close it is to the tram. Last but not least the Wifi was quite dodgy, probably only actually connected about 60% of the time.

Pros: Room was reasonable clean,and spacious. Bathroom was nice although a bit small.

Cons: Bad Wifi, Noise from tram easily penetrates windows, air conditioning is not as advertised, "queen" is two singles pushed together.

Room Tip: Try the ibis across the street, price range is about the same and they're probably a bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#143 of 387 in Munich
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
#170 of 387 in Munich
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#89 of 387 in Munich
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#54 of 387 in Munich
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusten Hotel

Address: Augustenstr. 2, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $88 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusten Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mit dem AUGUSTEN HOTEL leuchten seit Januar 2013 neue Sterne am Munchner Hotelhimmel! Die moderne Einrichtung mit Teakholzmobiliar im Stil der siebziger Jahre setzt neue Trends in der Hotellandschaft, vermittelt dem Besucher ein ganz besonderes Flair nah am Munchner Hauptbahnhof, der in nur wenigen Minuten zu Fuss zu erreichen ist. Durch diese gunstige Verkehrsanbindung sind Ziele in der Stadt sowie in der Umgebung Munchens, die Messe und der Flughafen Munchen durch den offentlichen Personennahverkehr schnell und unkompliziert erreichbar. Der kulturinteressierte Gast ist in wenigen Gehminuten am Konigsplatz, den Pinakotheken und vielen anderen interessanten Sehenswurdigkeiten Munchens. The opening of the AUGUSTEN HOTEL in January 2013 has put a few more stars in the Munich hotel sky! The modern design, with teak furniture in a 1970s style, sets new trends in the hotel landscape, giving visitors a truly special ambiance close to Munich's main station, which can be reached in just a few minutes on foot. This favourable transport connection means that destinations both within the city and in the Munich area, the trade fair site and the airport can all be reached quickly and conveniently via local public transport. Culture-loving guests can take a short stroll to Konigsplatz, the art galleries and Munich's numerous other interesting sights. На мюнхенском отельном небосводе в январе 2013 году засеяла новая звезда "Augusten Hotel". Отель расположен в нескольких минутах ходьбы от центрального железнодорожного вокзала Мюнхена и нескольких минутах ходьбы до ценра города. Отель удобен как для туристических так и для бизнес гостеи. В 5 минутах ходьбы до Королевскои площади (Konigsplatz), Пинакотеки, 10 минут до центра города и в 15 минутах ходьбы до Theresienwiese (место проведения пивного фестиваля Октоберфест). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Augusten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing