We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking for something different in Munich?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lady Tigella - CLOSED

Lady Tigella
Price range: $5 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tigelle and Gnocco Fritto are traditional specialities of the Emilia Romagna region (Italy).We offer as well homemade Pasta such as Ravioli or Tagliolini with truffle.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Looking for something different in Munich?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Food was good, but I am surprised it was so highly rated. We had the recommended platters of meats and cheeses. The food was very good. Some different sauces that were good to try. It was a nice change of pace. But not a don't miss restaurant. Server was very nice. Liked sitting outside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LibbyJ6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    25
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very Good Authentic Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I've been to La Tigella twice now and it doesn't disappoint! As an Italian I'm quite fussy about the quality of my Italian food when go to restaurants but it's always a good sign when the waiters are Italian and many of the other diners are Italian as well!

Great atmosphere, great service and most importantly great tasting authentic Italian food. Both times I have had the salty Tigella platter as a starter to share (with lots of cut Italian meat, cheese and sauces) plus a pasta dish as a main.

Minor complaint is that the pasta dishes could be bigger to make it better value for money, but 5 stars for the taste and quality!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlexinMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Pol de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
167 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

The restaurant is conveniently located across from the IsarTor, the former east gate to the city. It is casual with alfresco dining too. The menu is very simple with the main focus being "tigella", or more formally crescentina modenese- kind of like a flat bread or Chinese "bing". Inside is placed a variety of sliced sausages and cheeses.

A nice, generous serving for one person, simple meal that goes down well with a nice glass of wine. Service was friendly and good and spoke English, German and Italian. Great for lunch or a simple dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taolxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wunderbar! Ottima qualità!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Finally after some researches we've found a true Italian restaurant and it's very close to Marienplatz.
The restaurant is not so big, but It's a positive thing cos it makes the atmosphere more comfortable. Very well furnished with both design and rustic style.
We started with a double mix of cheeses and ham and two glass of their recommended lambrusco (a typical Italian sparkling red wine).
All was abundant and very well presented. The wine was good (but, be advised, it's not the classical red wine you would expect).
There was a 4 different creams/sausages for each tagliere... All home made, and you really notice that.. Personally I recommend a tigella with pancetta and tartufo cream, delicious!
We tried also a dessert that was an homemade chocolate cake (tortino al cioccolato) with a fantastic mascarpone cream (it was almost perfect, even if in my opinion it had a point of too much Panna..)
Some other TripAdvisor users (even Italian) said that it's too expensive for what you eat, I don't agree at all.. We were in two and ate a lot, with water, 2 glasses of wine, two taglieri with at least 12 tigelle and a cake in two.. Paid 55€ in the center of Munich, nothing compared to the high quality of what you eat.
Definitely a true Italian restaurant .. Don't go there if you want pizza with cheese or some other classical Italian dishes

Ps if you don't know what to choose don't worry the restaurant owner will guide you properly as she guided us.

Recommended

Helpful?
Thank mx_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottobrunn, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, be it fast or slow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Small Italian restaurant, features a regional cuisine not really the most known outside Italy. Excellent simple dishes, based on cheese, ham, bacon and sausages together with a kind of hot bread typical in Emilia. If perfectly fits with the known prosciutto di Parma and Parmigiano cheese. I never was disappointed, be it for a quick lunch, or for a longer dinner. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Tigella also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing