We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Zwickl - Gastlichkeit am Viktualienmarkt
Ranked #21 of 3,703 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

What a place ! Amazing food and lovely service. I had the meat ball combo of prawn, chicken and veg (yes) served in 3 separate portions with an accompanying salad..tastefully prepared with some local wine and beer recommendations. They have an impressive array of healthy and veg options as well...

Helpful?
1 Thank teddy374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    297
    62
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Found this restaurant using the tripadvisor app during Oktoberfest and sat at a cute table outside. The service was spectacular! Very warm, friendly, and extremely helpful. We had the pumpkin soup that was on special and are still talking about how great it was! Tried three of their meatballs as per the server's recommendation and were very pleased. If we had any space left to eat more, we would've have tried the weiner schnitzel as well because it looked fantastic. My boyfriend had the house beer and loved it. Overall, excellent value and we highly recommend Zwickl to fellow travelers!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and terrific service”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Had three amazing dishes last night that I'll be thinking about for a long time. The starter of carrot-ginger soup was a perfect balance of flavours. Following that, I moved on to one of their specials for the night (on Mondays the restaurant focuses on vegetarian dishes): a pumpkin and mushroom risotto that was exactly what I needed on a cool fall evening. Finally, the cheesecake, which was served in a small jar and mixed the crust together with the cheese, was amazing! I think there was a slight flavour of orange that provided some originality to the dish. What a great dinner for my first night in Munich.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect if you like warm water and bad service”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We never had the opportunity to try the food here. Sat down at a cute table outside. The waitress took our drink order. We recieved one beer and one glass of very warm glass of tap water. The waitress never came back to take our order. We finally had to go inside to pay for the beer.

We speak German so there was no communication problem. It wasn't even very busy.

Next! So many other resturant options. Not a problem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice gem tucked away”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Found this restaurant out of the way in a beautiful square. We arrived just in time as many people were awaiting tables shortly after we arrived it is not a massive place, we did not book and had a lovely table outside, the weather was beautiful. Munich was very busy with Oktoberfest visitors. Our waitress was lovely and very helpful, and attentive. Talked us through the menu and specials. Serving German fare and specializing in meatballs.

Starters of soup and a curried cream cheese was delicious. The soup was a little under seasoned for me but salt and pepper were provided. The cream cheese with a hint of curry with wild mushrooms and bread was also very nice. Mains of prawn meatballs and risotto was tasty and looked appealing, the risotto again a little under seasoned for my liking. The veal schnitzel was also nice and tender. No room for desserts unfortunately.

Pricing was very reasonable with drinks included. Well worth the visit and I will return when I travel back to Munich.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jc30168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zwickl - Gastlichkeit am Viktualienmarkt also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zwickl - Gastlichkeit am Viktualienmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing