We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant/pub”

Zwickl - Gastlichkeit am Viktualienmarkt
Ranked #20 of 3,692 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant/pub”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We ate here several times on our recent trip to Munich. The owners are very nice and friendly and the food was good, too. I would recommend the meatballs and the asparagus soup!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MGoBlueGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    295
    62
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This restaurant specializes in "balls" (meatballs, fishballs, leekballs, etc) and dumpling like things. Since they are very near the viktualenmarkt, they have access to everything that's fresh and exciting. That being said, some of their more innovative balls, like the leek ball we tried, are a little heavy and doughy. Their house-brewed beer is great. The service was warm and welcoming.

The bathrooms are adorable. I'll let you discover those for yourself!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColetteSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good service. Excellent menu.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A good experience here. A nice cosy venue on a rainy night. Good menu and waiters who could translate the specials board. Worth the walk to find this place. Not disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adelaideguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very well presented, cosy and busy restaurant with helpful English speaking staff, and a wide and varied menu. Worth booking in advance, we were lucky to get a table on the day. Great value for money. Highly commended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harkenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cozy modern bavarian nest:-)”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

i had a lovely dinner tonight over there. Service was fantastic, and the food was excellent ( taste and portion) i had schweinebraten, but seems like this place' speciality is fleischpflanzerl( meatballs). they hve veggie ones and fish ones as well. highly recommended- they speak great english to help you choose the dish if you are non german speakers:-)

oh... and zhe toilette was just lovely as well, makes u feel like you are in one of the hütte in the ALps...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Makimunchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zwickl - Gastlichkeit am Viktualienmarkt also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zwickl - Gastlichkeit am Viktualienmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing