We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Book Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Book Hotel
Ranked #21 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel through last minute .com as one of their secret hotels, so until I paid, I didn't know what we were going to get. Paid £467 for 5 nights with breakfast and we were not disappointed. I was travelling with a mate for a city break. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Munich main station. Here, you have access to main regional train services and the Tube system for the city and beyond. The hotel was very modern, clean and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent with a various and quite extensive choice. There was tea and coffee facilities in the room too. Staff were very helpful and polite. I would describe the general area as a typical central train station area. Yes, lots of casinos, betting shops and "gentlemans" clubs (nudge nudge wink wink you know what I mean) but if that concerns you that much, then you'll have to pay ££££'s more to stay in an exclusive area of town. The hotel is also a 10 minute walk from the Oktoberfest site. The ONLY issues we found with the room were firstly, the design was such that the bathroom is sort of open plan with no door and a frosted window between the bathroom and the sleeping area. There were doors to the shower and toilet room, but if using the sink area, the light would shine through, so if one of you got up early, the light and noise would wake the other up. The second problem was the room safe. It was a standard type digital hotel safe, and whilst free to use, WASN'T bolted in, so you could literally pick it up and walk out of the hotel with it! After raising this with reception, it appears that none are bolted in. Other than that, the Hotel was excellent value for us and a great location and I would stay here again, and recommend it to friends and family. Oh, finally, there's a Lidl just one minute down the road, great for buying bits and pieces if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roscotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    401
    79
    16
    5
See reviews for
117
400
36
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and loved it. Close enough to old town to walk and close to the train station! The hotel is very new, modern and the rooms are very large! We had a very large shower with rainfall shower head. After a long day out sight seeing with the high in the 40s and raining it was nice to come back and take a warm shower. The beds were extremely comfortable and you had your own air conditioning/heat controls.

Many have complained about the location but my daughter (21) and I never felt unsafe. To miss the casinos and strip places you can exit the south side of the train station (right by the Hotel Sofitel) and cross the street and head west on Bayerstratte, go two blocks and turn left on Mitterstratte and then walk one block to where it intersects Schwanthalerstratte. There is a pastry, coffee, sandwich shop called BackWerk one block east of the hotel where you can pick up something for breakfast. A large grocery called Lidl is in the same block right past BackWerk. We loved our stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor facing the back of the hotel. We were on the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortune43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Obviously no one wants Persian rugs and Toby jugs in a modern, 4 star hotel but this place goes slightly too far the other way. The breakfast room literally looked like a hospital cafeteria and the bar in the lobby is too well lit and has no atmosphere. The rooms are completely white. All this is just an aesthetic consideration, however. More problematic is the fact that there is no door on the bathroom and if someone turns the light on, the person in the main room is disturbed. This modern trend for making the bathroom part of the room is gimmicky and impractical, particularly for two friends. The staff were friendly and efficient, especially the barman, and the breakfast was very good with lots of choice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartsAndMarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel June 2013. Lovely hotel, modern, clean, great breakfast, very close to main train station, large park nearby where you can run. The literary them is well done - for example, each room has a short literary quote above the bed - clever....!

HOWEVER......... they let it down with their strange smoking policy. Smoking rooms are mixed in with non-smoking ones. Why on earth would you do this? I had requested a non smoking room which I got (I have mild asthma), but I was placed directly opposite a smoking room - not good for my asthma, and of course the corridor always smelt of stale smoke - yuk! So, I asked to be moved - and I was the next day - to a non-smoking floor which was perfect. If they must have smoking rooms in the hotel why don't they simply congregate them on the same floor?

I stayed in Rome on this trip and the hotel there was totally non-smoking. If they can do it in Rome (which is smoking central!) they surely could do it for this hotel.

So, in summary this is a great hotel, highly recommended (and would have been 5 stars), BUT you need to ask for a non-smoking room ON A NON-SMOKING FLOOR...

Room Tip: you need to ask for a non-smoking room ON A NON-SMOKING FLOOR
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A really modern, hip hotel. The rooms are large with two closets. Don't see that very often in Europe. Nice, modern bathroom with a full length shower door. The bed was so comfy. We had a room over the street but noise was minimal. The neighborhood was train station type if you know Europe. Plenty of casinos so not a good choice if you are a gambling addict. Real pearl of a hotel in a sea of seediness

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barry51555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Beautiful interior design and room, free apples at the reception desk, close to the metro- central railway station, One metro stop from the old town. Very convenient to reach from the airport train. The shortest way from the hotel to the metro station: turn right and right again. Enjoy Munich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TZVIFQTVELAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel itself was mostly great - lots of closet space, big beds, a great breakfast that's worth the 18 euros per person, a nice rain shower, good number of power outlets, and free wifi (had to keep logging in, though). Although the towel warmer was permanently disabled, the bathroom was good, if small. There were, however, a lot of light switches that were very confusing. Often I was trying to turn on just one light and ended up turning on everything but that light, or turning off all the lights. The front desk personnel were nice sometimes, but other times seemed irritated.

The housekeeping was not as good as the hotel rooms. The blanket on the foot of the bed had a huge stain shaped like someone had sat on it, and was never changed out for a clean one. The amenities in the room included just one tiny bar of blue soap (sized like a pat of butter), and no bath gel or shampoo. When we found the housekeeping staff, they said they would give us some soap for the shower, but ended up just giving us two shampoos. The front desk, however, had real bath gel, and brought it up to us on a different day. It seems like the housekeeping carts on each floor were not stocked well enough to service the rooms. On different days we would get different services. One day, the floor was not swept. On another day, the towels were not changed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aloudnoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller 5 Hotel
Schiller 5 Hotel
#16 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#18 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.3 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#29 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Book Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Book Hotel

Property: Eurostars Book Hotel
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 44, 80336, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Book Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with an avant-garde design dedicated to books: the facade is full of pages, each floor is dedicated to a literary genre and the corridors and guestrooms pay tribute to the great writings of world history. The Eurostars Book Hotel right in the business centre of Munich, next to the central station and very close to the Oktoberfest complex and it comprises 400 m2 in reception rooms, spa and gym, among other services. The Eurostars Book Hotel, opened in 2012, offers 201 spacious and bright guestrooms, of which 8 are suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Book Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing