We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurostars Book Hotel
Ranked #41 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and loved it. Close enough to old town to walk and close to the train station! The hotel is very new, modern and the rooms are very large! We had a very large shower with rainfall shower head. After a long day out sight seeing with the high in the 40s and raining it was nice to come back and take a warm shower. The beds were extremely comfortable and you had your own air conditioning/heat controls.

Many have complained about the location but my daughter (21) and I never felt unsafe. To miss the casinos and strip places you can exit the south side of the train station (right by the Hotel Sofitel) and cross the street and head west on Bayerstratte, go two blocks and turn left on Mitterstratte and then walk one block to where it intersects Schwanthalerstratte. There is a pastry, coffee, sandwich shop called BackWerk one block east of the hotel where you can pick up something for breakfast. A large grocery called Lidl is in the same block right past BackWerk. We loved our stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor facing the back of the hotel. We were on the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fortune43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Obviously no one wants Persian rugs and Toby jugs in a modern, 4 star hotel but this place goes slightly too far the other way. The breakfast room literally looked like a hospital cafeteria and the bar in the lobby is too well lit and has no atmosphere. The rooms are completely white. All this is just an aesthetic consideration, however. More problematic is the fact that there is no door on the bathroom and if someone turns the light on, the person in the main room is disturbed. This modern trend for making the bathroom part of the room is gimmicky and impractical, particularly for two friends. The staff were friendly and efficient, especially the barman, and the breakfast was very good with lots of choice.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MartsAndMarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel June 2013. Lovely hotel, modern, clean, great breakfast, very close to main train station, large park nearby where you can run. The literary them is well done - for example, each room has a short literary quote above the bed - clever....!

HOWEVER......... they let it down with their strange smoking policy. Smoking rooms are mixed in with non-smoking ones. Why on earth would you do this? I had requested a non smoking room which I got (I have mild asthma), but I was placed directly opposite a smoking room - not good for my asthma, and of course the corridor always smelt of stale smoke - yuk! So, I asked to be moved - and I was the next day - to a non-smoking floor which was perfect. If they must have smoking rooms in the hotel why don't they simply congregate them on the same floor?

I stayed in Rome on this trip and the hotel there was totally non-smoking. If they can do it in Rome (which is smoking central!) they surely could do it for this hotel.

So, in summary this is a great hotel, highly recommended (and would have been 5 stars), BUT you need to ask for a non-smoking room ON A NON-SMOKING FLOOR...

Room Tip: you need to ask for a non-smoking room ON A NON-SMOKING FLOOR
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CB-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A really modern, hip hotel. The rooms are large with two closets. Don't see that very often in Europe. Nice, modern bathroom with a full length shower door. The bed was so comfy. We had a room over the street but noise was minimal. The neighborhood was train station type if you know Europe. Plenty of casinos so not a good choice if you are a gambling addict. Real pearl of a hotel in a sea of seediness

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry51555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Beautiful interior design and room, free apples at the reception desk, close to the metro- central railway station, One metro stop from the old town. Very convenient to reach from the airport train. The shortest way from the hotel to the metro station: turn right and right again. Enjoy Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TZVIFQTVELAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel itself was mostly great - lots of closet space, big beds, a great breakfast that's worth the 18 euros per person, a nice rain shower, good number of power outlets, and free wifi (had to keep logging in, though). Although the towel warmer was permanently disabled, the bathroom was good, if small. There were, however, a lot of light switches that were very confusing. Often I was trying to turn on just one light and ended up turning on everything but that light, or turning off all the lights. The front desk personnel were nice sometimes, but other times seemed irritated.

The housekeeping was not as good as the hotel rooms. The blanket on the foot of the bed had a huge stain shaped like someone had sat on it, and was never changed out for a clean one. The amenities in the room included just one tiny bar of blue soap (sized like a pat of butter), and no bath gel or shampoo. When we found the housekeeping staff, they said they would give us some soap for the shower, but ended up just giving us two shampoos. The front desk, however, had real bath gel, and brought it up to us on a different day. It seems like the housekeeping carts on each floor were not stocked well enough to service the rooms. On different days we would get different services. One day, the floor was not swept. On another day, the towels were not changed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloudnoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from May 22-26 and really enjoyed it. It's black-and-white decor is very modern and clean looking. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, giving us good advice on restaurants and supplying information on day trips, even though they don't have a concierge. They even graciously sent a fax for me to a contact in Switzerland that I was unable to reach by phone. The room was basic but nicely appointed, well lit and very clean. Cabinet space was a little odd, but we made it work. "Double bed" is 2 large singles pushed together and made up separately, but they were very comfortable. Nice big TV, but very few English TV stations and no CNN, but that wasn't a huge issue for us. For those of you with thick hair, the blow dryer was GREAT, powerful and big, plus they also provided 2 attachments! No need to bring a dryer with you! However, they only supply soap and bath gel, no shampoo or conditioner. Sink, toilet and shower are separated so you can brush your teeth while your roommate tinkles. The shower head is so large that I felt guilty for wasting water. Internet access was easy and free. Location was especially convenient, two blocks over and one block down from the train station. The street in front of the hotel seemed slightly iffy the first night we walked from there to Marienplatz (main center of town, about a 15 minute walk) so thereafter we walked up a block to the main street in front of the train station and walked from there, and all was fine. Overall, we were very pleased with the cleanliness, great location and value, and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor faced the street. Although we only experienced street noise one night (whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,701 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Grand Central
Eurostars Grand Central
#43 of 385 in Munich
1,469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#35 of 385 in Munich
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Book Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Book Hotel

Address: Schwanthalerstr. 44, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $113 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Book Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with an avant-garde design dedicated to books: the facade is full of pages, each floor is dedicated to a literary genre and the corridors and guestrooms pay tribute to the great writings of world history. The Eurostars Book Hotel right in the business centre of Munich, next to the central station and very close to the Oktoberfest complex and it comprises 400 m2 in reception rooms, spa and gym, among other services. The Eurostars Book Hotel, opened in 2012, offers 201 spacious and bright guestrooms, of which 8 are suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Book Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing