We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back To Basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Ranked #84 of 382 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Midland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Back To Basics”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

So I went to the NH in Munich to meet up with my ex boyfriend and everything was magical here! I loved the NH they had THE best staff!!! We were locals at the bar downstairs and the bartender was so great and so helpful! The room service was impeccable as well! This was the best hotel to rekindle a romance if you asked me! Munich is one of my favorite towns, I like the people, the shopping, and the beer gardens. If you stay at the NH ask the front desk about the nearest beer garden there is one not 5 blocks from the hotel. The only draw back to this hotel was the casinos around it it kinda brings in a mixed crowed. But over all I will be back here for hopefully Octoberfest and will for sure stay here!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LacyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    876
    322
    87
    41
See reviews for
322
610
99
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

On recent business visits to Munich due to trade fairs and conventions there has been no where left to stay other than the NH at the Munich main station, whilst this is certainly not the most glamerous of locations from the outside the friendly staff and renovated rooms win you over.
I have stayed here a number of times recently, they were able to press my suit at short notice without it being an issue, the airconditioning in the room worked really well and it was a hot day in Germany and the beds in this hotel are all new and i find them really great so despite it being an older hotel with a renovation it seems to work well.
The hotel has multiple copies daily of the FT & IHT in the lobby so they are pretty well organised.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wadeonplanetearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Small, modern room. Nicely appointed. Spotlessly clean. Very utilitarian. Across street from train station. Easy access to trams. Walking distance to Karlsplatz and Marienplatz. Difficult to adjust heating/cooling. Some minor noise from other room via connecting door. Some tram noise. Windows do open. Internet in the room for a fee. Front desk staff efficient. Did not use the breakfast, so no comment. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SHVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This hotel looks a bit more American than European. At 14 stories, it is the tallest building around. This comes in handy for spotting the hotel, because I never came out of the same U-bahn exit twice. I had a "deluxe" room, with two single beds that were quite comfortable. The doors were thick and I never heard corridor noise. Surprisingly, the air conditioning was on in May, so I did not need to open the windows. Despite facing the hauptbahnhof, there was no traffic noise on the eighth floor. There is an underground entrance just in front of the hotel to the subterranean train station, complete with shops and food. The area is busy with people at all hours, and I did not feel insecure. It is about a 10 minute walk to Marienplatz and the central walking area of Munich. My conference was at Messe Munich, about 25 minutes away on the U2 line from the hauptbahnhof. I paid $220 per night including all taxes on Expedia.

The rooms had key card locks, and a safe large enough for a medium laptop. The shower was a bit weird, and I found it difficult not to get water on the floor. My biggest complaint is the Internet service, which was included with my room rate. It was provided by Swisscom. You had to ask for a card with a code and password every day. If you didn't get it right the first time, or if you tried to use a second device, or if you used the Ethernet cable rather than WiFi, it would lock you out. Most other hotels seem to manage this much better than this one.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This hotel was literally right across the street from Muenchen Hauptbahnhof Station and less than 10 minute walk to the Rathaus. The room was small but clean and the woman at reception was friendly. You do have to pay for internet though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We only stayed in this hotel overnight. We arrived by train and we were at the front desk of the hotel five minutes later. VERY clean. 30 minutes of free WiFi in the lobby. Otherwise you have to pay for internet access in your room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europetravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The regular ("non-upgrade") rooms are extremely small with uncomfortable beds. The hotel sits right near the Hbf and busy intersection, so having the windows open at night is impossible - sirens, delivery trucks, drunk kids yelling, etc. Since the HVAC doesn't work very well that means it can get stuffy. If you don't get a bigger room, the internet is 18 Euro per night (!). They offer "free" wi-fi in the lobby but it's bascially useless. The hotel is old and very worn, though they do make an effort to keep it clean. Breakfast is passable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braneout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#40 of 382 in Munich
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#54 of 382 in Munich
1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser

Property: NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Address: Arnulfstr. 2, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Munich
#48 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#59 Family Hotel in Munich
#59 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#60 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Munchen Deutscher Kaiser is a four-star hotel in the heart of Munich. We are conveniently located right next to the main train station, just 500 meters from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser Hotel Munich
Nh Hotels Munich
Nh Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing