We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, bizzare elevator.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Ranked #110 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location of the hotel. Being so close to the Viktualienmarkt and Marienplatz was great. We stopped by the market everyday on our way to check out the city. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good. This hotel has a small triangular elevator barely large enough for 1 person and their bags. Luckily my room was on the 2nd floor. There was a bit of noise since our room (room 20) faced the street but nothing that ever woke me up. Room 20 was much larger than our friends room so if possible request it. There was no onsite laundry which was a pain but the laundromat across the street would deliver wben done. Def a nice hotel if u can get a good rate. I would stay here again on my next trip to Munich.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 324 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Traveling through Munich on our way to Bavaria we wanted to stay one night in Munich to visit the Christmas market. Using booking.com we looked for something close to the city center that rated well on both booking.com and Tripadvisor. Came up with Hotel am Viktualienmarkt. It was located about 500 meters from the Christmas markets and the city center. We had the large family room which was like a two bedroom with each room having a set of twins pushed together to make a double, each with its own comforter so pushing apart one set for the kids was no problem. The room was clean and well furnished. The shower and water pressure was great plenty of hot water. The desk staff was very polite and helpful when asked about local information. The breakfast was included in our room and it was very good. Breakfast included tea, coffee, pastries, fruit, juices, water, yogurt, cereals, eggs, meat tray, and cheese tray. They held our luggage after checkout since we had time before our train. If you’re looking for a hotel close to the city center then I recommend choosing this place. We will not hesitate stay again if a hotel is needed in Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CriscoPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is far from luxurious but it fully met our needs of being a good value, centrally located, warm and clean (especially important in December!) Don't expect more than the basics. Our room was small though the bathroom was one of the largest I've had in Europe. The location was only a 5 minute walk from Marienplatz and all the Christmas market attractions. There is also a train station in that same area. While the hotel is only a few stops from the main train station, I'd recommend a taxi as hauling luggage across the Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt would be quite a pain. Luckily our neighbors were courteous as the room door is anything but sound proof - you could hear a pin drop at the other end of the hallway from within our room. Breakfast was also adequate but true to the title of this post, modest. In the end, if you're looking for a welcoming, clean, no frills hotel at a great value - this is your place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great location, just 5 mins walk to Marienplatz. Rooms are modern and a decent size with a good shower. Even with windows open with our room facing the street it was still quiet. Breakfast was superb with friendly staff. The surrounding area is nice with lots of cafes and small shops if you walk down towards Gartnerplatz.
We had a triple and thought it was good value. Will stay here again when next in Munich

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor can sometimes get free wifi.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Charming hotel well located in City centre. My room was large whilst the bathroom small but adequate. Some minor niggles as identified by other visitors e.g. no air conditioning and the street can be noisy at night - I was woken at 4am. Very quiet if you can close the windows though. Room lights are a bit dim and room wifi is by cable and mine had a loose plug which kept losing connection. Breakfast was very good for a hotel in this class. Overall excellent value for money and I would be pleased to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerfromLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with 3 friends. We had a 2 room apartment on the top floor. The room was clean, tidy and a good size. A large shower room with power shower and lots of hot water. TV (with some English speaking channels), a free bottle of water daily and free internet in the lobby. The breakfast was excellent - a good mix of cereals, fruit, juices, breads, pastries and cold meats and cheeses. The location is excellent and the staff very friendly and efficient (the receptionist printed out my boarding pass with no charge). Very central location. I would definitely stay here again. An interesting bar close by with a vey friendly and chatty proprietor and a great Thai restaurant nexty door - Yum Yum.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineBantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a Rick Steves tour. Room was small but adequate for our needs. ATM was conveniently located across the street from the hotel 24/7. Hotel was in a good location for sight-seeing. Did have a problem with late night entry as desk is not staffed 24 hours. Problem was solved quickly by the hotel staff. Otherwise hotel was very good, quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 385 in Munich
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
#90 of 385 in Munich
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Markt
Hotel Am Markt
#193 of 385 in Munich
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Viktualienmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Viktualienmarkt

Address: Utzschneiderstr. 12-14, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $180 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Viktualienmarkt 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel am Viktualienmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Viktualienmarkt Hotel
Am Viktualienmarkt Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing