We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable stay”
Review of Belle Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belle Blue Hotel
Ranked #135 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great location (very close to the station and not far from the Marienplatz). Excellent breakfasts, very clean, friendly and accommodating staff. We spent 8 nights there and would recommend it to anyone - OK some of the other businesses on the street are on the seedy side, but the hotel itself was fantastic

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank scrabblemad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 358 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

Located within 2 min walk from Munich's Central station it is strategically located to help you explore Munich and access the Airport. Breakfast is generous and well prepared in a pleasant service area. Rooms are well equipped with the usual Wi-Fi (free), plasma TV, small fridge , safe etc. Plenty of good restaurants within few minutes walk and the pleasant surprise was a shisha café next door for those who enjoy smoking shisha

Room Tip: Hotel is located on two floors. Rooms at the reception floor (lower) have easier access for breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnYannopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for three nights in September for a city break, and found the hotel to be perfect for our needs, and would recommend it. I should note that we were there during Oktoberfest and as such the room rate was high, but these things are relative and it was reasonable compared to what some others were asking.
The hotel is located on a main street about five minutes walk from the central station where you can get long distance and suburban trains, underground and trams. It is also where the airport trains stop which was perfect for us being so close to the hotel. Also, a lot of the local tour groups use the station as a starting point too.
On foot you can walk in ten minutes to the Karlsplatz and from there you are on the main shopping drag with a further five minutes down to Marienplatz and the old city centre. If you are in town for Oktoberfest it is ten minutes walk from the hotel to Theresienwiese. The hotel itself is basic, but well thought out clean and with professional and friendly staff. Our room was small but clean and comfortable, modern bathroom with a good shower and a window that looked out onto an internal courtyard. We had a mini bar with very reasonable prices, room safe and free wi-fi although the coverage was sometimes a little flakey. It was quiet and we were not disturbed by any noise from the street. Breakfast was a simple continental buffet, good selection, plenty to fill up on and nice coffee.
Finally, a lot of people have commented on the area; firstly if you want to be in the city city you will have to pay a lot more Euros. Secondly, Munich is a safe city, and whilst the area just South of the station is not so pristine as the city centre it is more diverse and in some ways more interesting; the incredible Turkish cafés and shops were different and welcoming. And yes, there are some table dancing clubs scattered about, but they sit next to travel shops, jewellers and all the other normal shops you would expect to see. Really the only downside we found to the location was the limited options for eating out, if you are after traditional German, you really need to walk the short distance into the city, which is what we did each night.


Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank StumpyOlegMcNoLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were impressed with the room facilities and cleanliness. The only thing we could fault regarding the room was an unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom drain. continental breakfast had good selection and taste. Staff seemed friendly and approachable. The location is within walking distance of the city however is surrounded by adult shops and strip clubs. In saying this we never felt unsafe and couldn't hear any noise from the street. Overall an enjoyable stay and would recommend for value for money, location and facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tobias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Belle Blue in Munich last week and would be happy to stay there again. Breakfast, a satisfying buffet, was included in the price. A nice touch in the evening through until about 10pm were free drinks in the foyer—beer, wine, fruit juice and coffee/tea. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Although our room was small it had everything we needed including a really comfortable bed with the softest of duvets, a big plus after a tiring day. The room was soundproofed and we heard no noise from outside.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank liz_gillmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A very acceptable hotel with 'family-run' feel and all the stuff you want, (good air-con, free Wi-Fi, flat TV) in a compact package, plus thoughtful little extras like a TV listings magazine, Munich guides, free coffee machine all day, which show the owners are trying to give good service. The place is very clean and housekeeping unobtrusive and efficient. Breakfast was OK (we were spoiled because we had just come from the Quality Hotel in Augsburg, see my review) It is a five minute walk from the main railway station and so from the underground, trams and buses. There are several cafes, Rossman, Aldi and Lidl just round the corner and branches of Karstadt and Galleria Kaufhof across the road from the station. Max 10 minutes to the start of the main pedestrian precinct and you can walk to any of the central attractions. From that point of view it was a great base for our 6 days in Munich

It is a mixed kind of area, a restaurant advertising an Iftar Buffet for Ramadan is 2 doors up from an escort bar, with a lot of other small hotels on and just off this street. It is very ethnically diverse and, yes, there are sometimes groups of men on the street and some strip clubs and lap-dance clubs, which are more obvious at night once the neon signs come on. It depends how you feel about that sort of thing. The hotel itself has good security, a perfectly ordinary clientele and is trying hard to produce a good service, seems a shame to let some 'low-life' neighbours spoil their business.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I read earlier reviews that this was in a sketchy part of town and dismissed them, having lived in Philadelphia for 12 years. Well, yeah, it is kinda sketchy. There are nudie dance clubs up and down and groups of men hanging around in every public space. I wasn't too excited to return here at night. If you have a car, reserve parking in advance. I didn't know parking was so difficult in Munich, although the hotel had a partnership with the Martim and it was only 10 euro per night with validation. It's a pretty long walk (15-20 minutes) to the Marienplatz, but not far from the train station. The hallways reminded me of a youth hostel, but the room itself was very modern, with free wi-fi and air conditioning (a must, because it was so noisy down on the street). The breakfast was good. Next time, I would stay closer to the stuff we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fadergator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#30 of 389 in Munich
907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#59 of 389 in Munich
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#150 of 389 in Munich
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#141 of 389 in Munich
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#47 of 389 in Munich
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#142 of 389 in Munich
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Blue Hotel

Address: Schillerstr. 21, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $85 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belle Blue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Blue translated is “beautiful blue” a completely rebuilt and renovated hotel offering you a unique and refreshing atmosphere centrally situated in Munich. As the name reveals the colour blue has a great role in the combination of colour modern designed furniture and interior, super fine details make the Belle Blue to a hotel full of its own charming character. Belle Blue is in a super central situated but quiet location making it an ideal starting point for all your activities in and around Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belle Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belle Blue
Belle Blue Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing