We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly decent”
Review of Belle Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belle Blue Hotel
Ranked #149 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfectly decent”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with my husband for a weekend in August. Room was clean and a decent size, breakfast had all the usual fare, hotel was within easy walk of everything we wanted to see (about 15mins to Marienplatz). Area did have strip bars but didn't feel seedy or worry me in any way. Nothing about the hotel was really outstanding but we had a nice stay and it did the job just fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank epellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    168
    71
    12
    8
See reviews for
32
167
45
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sag Harbor, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Belle Blue is very comfortable and welcoming hotel. The rooms my family and I stayed in this spring were very clean and well maintained and pretty roomy. There were four of us in two rooms, and none of us had anything but positive comments to share about our time there - 5 nights. Though not situated in the most picturesque part of town, it's very close to the central train station and subways, on a safe street with a very good Vietnamese restaurant across the street.

Munich is spread out, so no matter where you stay, you'll be needing to travel to get to the sights. Belle Blue is as good a budget hotel as any I've been in, and better than most. I did a lot of research before choosing Blue, and I and the family were extremely happy with it. Exceptional breakfast, and very friendly and helpful staff.

I'll definitely go back when I'm in Munich.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Belle Blue. One of the highlights was the amenities provided: a coffee machine in the lobby for use free of charge all day and night as well as a free glass of wine in the evening. The staff was friendly and helpful.

This hotel is cute and charming, with lots of blue touches. Our room was on the smaller side and needed to be painted. The rug and chairs were a bit worn. However, there seems to be pride of ownership, and the hotel staff were actively working on updating the hotel while we were there. They seem to care about feedback received and have responded to previous complaints listed in reviews by updating the facilities and adding amenities.

It was nice that there was an elevator. Breakfast was included and of average quality. It was served in a nicely decorated breakfast room.

The hotel is unfortunately located in a sketchy area with a few table dance bars. However, since we had read this in the reviews, we were prepared. It really wasn't a problem. Assuming you're not out in the middle of the night, it's fine. We did not experience any noise or disturbances.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelNY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misawa, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is quite near the train station and is within walking distance to the main square and most of the tourist attractions. That said, the area immediately surrounding the hotel isn't the best. My wife didn't feel comfortable being out at night there. I'd don't think that there is necessarily that much crime in the area, but it definitely isn't an area that you'd want to take a leisurely stroll along at night.

Breakfast was good, aircon was cold, and the staff was great. I would probably only stay here again if proximity to the train station was a driving factor to my decision making process.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay. It is in a central location in a relatively quiet street off one of the main streets. The street is near the main Railway Station and the City centre (Marianplatz) is only 15 minutes walk away or quicker by tram.

The family owners are all very helpful and had lots of good local information to give us. The staff also are excellent and do a great job. They are all very friendly and extremely helpful.

We stayed in a standard room which was located in the rear of the building. It was very quiet and comfortable with good air conditioning which was really needed in the hot time of the year. The room was cleaned every day and towels etc renewed. The breakfast was really great.

We enjoyed our stay there very much and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Besucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Most friendly welcome and efficient check-in. Room and bathroom more than adequate and very clean. Fridge, flat screen TV, safe, air-con and bathroom amenities all to hand. Free wi-fi in room. Price is really a plus point and worth every €. Location is great for the main train station and central Munich entering at the Karlsplatz (Stachus) along the Bayerstrasse. Breakfast adequate but not overwhelming. Some may not like the evening lap dance clubs nearby but the area is safe and personally I had no issues. The positives are numerous, the negatives are negligible. Would book again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAAbcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Awesome little hotel near everything you want to visit. Main train station is 5 minute walk away, close to Marienplatz and Viktoualianmarkt, and more. Big bathroom, safe, refrigerator, comfy bed with 2 styles of pillows, and, unusual for Europe, washcloths. Soundproof, very comfortable room, Air conditioning, great breakfast and awesome coffee machine! Great staff, english is no problem, would definetely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freespirit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#146 of 382 in Munich
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#124 of 382 in Munich
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#166 of 382 in Munich
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
H+ Hotel Munchen
H+ Hotel Munchen
#107 of 382 in Munich
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#136 of 382 in Munich
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 382 in Munich
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Blue Hotel

Property: Belle Blue Hotel
Address: Schillerstr. 21, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belle Blue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Blue translated is “beautiful blue” a completely rebuilt and renovated hotel offering you a unique and refreshing atmosphere centrally situated in Munich. As the name reveals the colour blue has a great role in the combination of colour modern designed furniture and interior, super fine details make the Belle Blue to a hotel full of its own charming character. Belle Blue is in a super central situated but quiet location making it an ideal starting point for all your activities in and around Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belle Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belle Blue
Belle Blue Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing