We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Fun Groups Stay Here”
Review of Jaeger's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jaeger's Hostel
Ranked #14 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our two families of 12 total, really enjoyed this place. We placed the 8 kids in a bunk room, with 4 bunk beds and the adults enjoyed the privacy of individual rooms. Great value. Sure the elevator is small and slow, but who cares. Sure there is a bustling lobby; lighten up and meet someone new. Sure the morning meal is filling, go walk it off.
Right by train station and within walking distance of the hottest pizza ever.

Would return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don_woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 572 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in a room for ten with friends. Propperty is very clean and the staff do a great job with that. Room is a little tired and the bunkbeds squeak at the thought of movement. The location is right in the heart of the town and a short walk from the main station. For a cheap base for a city visit for a group this is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

i booked by booking.com for 1 night a room for 4 pax.
The room was OK, bathroom also ! silence and clean !

Good staff and the brakfast was good ! good quality-price !

Munchen is a fantastic cityu to explore and hang around !!!!

will be back next time !!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank one h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was neither great or bad. Had a room with 4 beds private bathroom. Beds were comfortable enough but with ongoing maintenance outside the hostel it was hard to sleep at times. Wifi was patchy but free, laundry service, lockers, a bar after 5pm, service at the front desk was slow, common area is good to meet people. Walking distance from the train station. It has everything a backpacker needs.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed in Jaeger's, the first during Oktoberfest 2 years ago. As with the last visit, I stayed in a private room. This time I was travelling with my partner and we took the double room. The close proximity to the central train station makes getting around Munich easy. The staff are friendly enough and the breakfast is good value. A little of an issue if you get the top floor as we did, the wifi does not make it up the stairs. To be honest, I am not sure how far it extends. The pillows are rubbish but if you are travelling in winter, roll-up you jacket and put it in the over-sized cases!

Room Tip: If you want wifi, request a lower ground room. I would also check the proximity to the dorms if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

we took a twin room - clean, not terribly expensive, did the job and felt more like a 3-star hotel than a hostel. Not too noisy (given location and bar below). Very conveneient for train station and only short walk to centre of town

Bit of a wait to check-in, reminded you it was a hostel not a hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue_frog_dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have never felt more unwelcome in my life when Hostels are concerned. I had booked a dorm room through Hostels.com only to hear at check-in that I was too old (38) for a dorm room and that the only opportunity left was a private room for more than 50 euros per night. The ladies at the reception were really nice about it though (they felt embarrassed as well;) but that didn't make up for the bitter taste it gave me.

Hostel on other points is okay. Not very atmospheric and -typical- the people behind the bar mostly don't speak German but worse, they have no idea about Baverian/German cocktails/drinks. The cocktail menu has no local stuff.

I would try a hostel in another part of town (Marien Platz) since the area of Hauptbahnhof (central station) is quite ugly.

Have been in many hostels in my life, and this one definitely has better times ahead of it, but for now--skip it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vineproever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#31 of 387 in Munich
904 reviews
17.5 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
0.0 mi away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 78 in Munich
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 78 in Munich
1,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich
0.6 mi away
Smart Stay Hostel Munich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaeger's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaeger's Hostel

Address: Senefelderstr. 3, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range: $18 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jaeger's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jaeger's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaeger`s Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing