We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly remodeled - still in progress. No Wifi in rooms.”
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Ranked #18 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
los altos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Newly remodeled - still in progress. No Wifi in rooms.”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Very nice remodeling - still in progress with construction noise during the day. No shower curtains & Wifi doesn't work in most rooms and breakfast area. Clean & comfortable but very inconvenient to go down to lobby to access Internet.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rib51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and also the criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be better.
We are sorry for the problems with the Wifi-connection during your stay. Because of our renovation, we had these problems in the rooms, but it's solved! Wifi is working on the rooms again.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    326
    70
    15
    12
See reviews for
119
300
104
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My mom and I stayed in this beautiful hotel in May 2013. The room was not too big, but impecable, clean, and cared about the small details. Excellent location, a couple blocks from Marienplatz, in front of Viktualienmarkt... so close from metro and bus, it was very convenient when rainning!
Something important: this hotel has great attention from the front desk. They were very nice and extremely helpful with directions, and to arrange for a taxi to the airport at 4am.
But the best part was the breakfast! it was included in the price, a very complete meal served in this well illuminated, elegant dinning room. We noticed a lot of people came to have breakfast, even if not staying at the hotel, so that means something.
Totally would stay there again if I'm back in Munich one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaG10987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad of hearing, that you had such a nice stay in Munich
and also flattered that you call us as jewel in munich.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here in December. The hotel itself was easy to find and the double room was very cosy and comfortable. The bathroom looked like it had recently been upgraded so was modern and fresh.

We found the breakfast to be ok but it was the same each day we were there.

The location was very central and despite the cold weather, we embraced the Munchen Xmas Market!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelSha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad of hearing, that you had such a nice stay in Munich and
would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Just in the center of Munich it is close to .... everything . You can go to almost everywhere on foot. These days the hotel is under renovation.
We were a company of six persons and we all stay there. Although we all had renovated rooms we all had some complaints. If you spent 210,00 euros per night the bed mattresses have to be at least comfortable and towels clean and soft. There are only German TV channels and there is not refrigerator. Rooms are clean and cosy but they didn't give enough attention at the details when they renovated them. Be careful there are still rooms without a bathroom . Breakfast is average for this price . Stuff is very polite and helpful . It's a shame because with a little more bit of taste , this hotel in this location could have been one of the best in Munich.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GEORGE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and also the criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be better.
In our hotel, there are just some rooms, where the televisions belong to an older generation and do not have englisch TV channels, but we already looking for solving this problem.
In order, you want to cool something, you could bring this to the front desk, where we can store it for you.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Hotel Blauer Bock is in superb central location. We were allocated room no 28 at the front of the hotel & yes there was quite a lot of road noise, but then this is a city center hotel. The room was very clean & spacious with 2 easy chairs & a table. The beds for us were a little too soft but the pillows & quilts were lovely.
You have your radiator which you can turn on & off as like & 2 excellent full opening windows. The shower was very good if a little on the small side, trying to shower & keep the curtains inside the tray was a work of art!!! With such limited space a wet room shower would have been easier. But everything was very clean & very practical.
There are no tea & coffee facilities & no tissues. Storage space was again excellent with 2 hooks for hanging coats on behind the door. If you want an iron then you have to leave a deposit but they are available.
I note a lot of comments about the wi fi but I had no issues, it worked without any difficulty in the room, also mentioned was the lights at night making the room too bright, there is a blind as well as the curtains so again not an issue. The staff were all very friendly both at reception & at breakfast. The breakfast was very nice with a good selection of fresh fruit, cereals, scrambled egg, soft & hard boiled eggs, delicious jams, cheese, meat & bread etc. The Danish pastries were to die for, but only arrived at about 08.10am ish, we even had caviar & smoked salmon one day!!! Coffee is in a thermal jug on every table & hot water is provided via an urn for tea. We did experience one dreadful breakfast which was in no way the fault of the hotel (in fact the staff looked as horrified as the rest of the guests!!!) as some very unruly children run riot in the breakfast room, climbing on seats, shouting & the mess!!!! I am only glad they were not English, Australian I think.
We stayed here for the Christmas Market & the location could not have been better only a 5 or 6 minutes’ walk away.
It is very easy to transfer from the airport using the trains/ s bahn. The ticket machines are in the main entrance/exit hall & are already validated when printed, all work in English & give change.
Although we didn’t eat in the hotel, we did however try the Ratskeller which is under the town hall & the food & the staff were excellent (menus in english).

Room Tip: Would probably be quieter at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msjlightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad of hearing, that you had such a nice stay in Munich and
would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Having read multiple reviews prior to making my reservation, I was well aware of what I was getting when I booked my room at Hotel Blauer Bock, and my experience met my expectations. This is definitely a "no frills" place. Some rooms offer private toilets and showers, but you will pay more for this luxury. My room had its own toilet, but the shower was shared with about 30 other rooms and was located one floor above mine... actually, it was almost directly over my head, so I could hear people showering all night. There was also construction going on outside, which made a bit of a racket, and the walls are pretty thin, but I wasn't disturbed too much by noise.

The accommodations were minimal, but the room was warm, clean, and neat. The staff were friendly, but I didn't put them to the test with any special requests. The best parts about this hotel were as follows: 1) The price of the room includes an excellent buffet breakfast, 2) The location is very convenient, pretty much directly next to the Victualienmarkt, 3) 24hr desk service; you can check in 24hrs a day, and they hold your key for you at the front desk when you go out so you don't have to worry about losing it somewhere, 4) There's a very nice little closet next to the front desk where you can stash bags if you want to check out earlier and come back later in the day to pick them up (checkout time is 11am).

If you're using the shared bathroom, consider bringing your own robe. It will cost you 5 euro to rent one at the front desk. Also, consider bringing your own hair dryer, as my room did not have one.

Room Tip: Try to request a room with a private toilet and shower if you can afford it and they have those room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik,
es tut mir leid, das wir Sie nicht über die Renovierungsmaßnahmen von Januar bis Juli diesen Jahres infomiert haben.
Richtig stellen muß ich jedoch das sich in der günstigsten Kategorie, die Sie gebucht haben nur 9 Zimmer zwei öffentliche Bäder teilen und nicht 30.
Alle anderen 60 Zimmer haben Dusche WC und Fön standardmäßig.
Bei Online Buchungen sind die Kategorien ausführlich beschrieben.
Vielleicht können wir Sie bei einem nächsten Besuch von unserem Angebot noch besser überzeugen.
Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel is centrally located in Munich on a quiet street and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are very basic, but still nice although the walls are very thin and I could hear the person in the next room snore. The breakfast was good; there was a wide range of food to select from. I stayed there for work and would do so again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzEnglishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, die ich gerne an mein Personal weitergebe.
Es freut mich, das wir Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt ermöglicht haben.
Auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen, ich würde mich freuen, wenn Sie sich zu erkennen geben und ich mich persönlich bei Ihnen für Ihre Mühe der Bewertung bedanken kann
Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.3 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Property: Hotel Blauer Bock
Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
#41 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing