We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in central Munich”
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Ranked #20 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cham, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good hotel in central Munich”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Munich and within walking distance to most of the sights and shopping areas. It offers parking (at 22 euros per day). Our family had two rooms - a single and a double room. The single room was, as expected, compact but comfortable enough. The delux room had a large king size bed and pull out sofa bed for our 5 year old - there was plenty of space in the room (about 35 - 40 sqm), although the bathroom was tiny. The bathroom seemed to have been recently renovated but the shower curtain was completely ineffective at keeping the water within the shower tray - hence a flooded bathroom. Breakfast was adequate. The hotel wireless tended to be weak on the upper floors but this was not a problem given we were not there on business. Overall we would book at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the courtyard side. Rooms facing the street have quite a lot of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and also the criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be better.
During our renovation, which is still going on, we solved the problem with the bathroom, so that it will not be flooded anymore.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    341
    74
    16
    12
See reviews for
129
317
110
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

After visiting Salzburg and Fussen, we only had one day to explore Munich before flying home. We checked into Hotel Blauer Bock early in the morning after arriving by train, and although our room wasn’t ready, Stefan, the hotel’s owner, allowed us to store our luggage in a safe room. The hotel is very conveniently located to the Viktualienmarkt, where we had lunch in a beer garden. We then did a mini-Rick Steves’ walking tour of the Munich Old Town, being lucky enough to catch the glockenspiel “joust” at the Neues Rathaus. Upon returning to the hotel, we are able to go on up to our room, which was very well appointed. The area was having an unusual hot spell, and being a historic hotel, there was no air conditioning, but with a cool shower and the fan the hotel provided, we were comfortable.
We had an early flight the next morning, and the hotel allowed us to go ahead and grab some breakfast. Then Stefan let us share a taxi that he had called, as he was heading to the airport too. Now that is called personal service! All in all, we enjoyed our short stay at Hotel Blauer Bock and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjcook23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your pleasant compliments, looking foreward to your next visit, kind regards stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great place and great people. We were part of the Rick Steves' tour. They made a great choice for our stay. Will come back soon!

Will recommend this hotel to friends visiting Munich this Fall and Spring.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dude777777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much, you make my staff happy, looking foreward to your nest stay, kind regards Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Pros: good location, clean, newer facilities, mid-morning front desk employee (female) extremely helpful when we first arrived. Con: room too small for 5 - one queen, pull out sofa bed a full size bed at best and a roll away. For what we paid (€330 + €22 for parking) I would expect more substantial beds plus a much larger room (such as we've had at every other stop on this trip). Advertised free wi-fi but only one password per room meaning the 5 of us had to take turns - on surface a small issue but every other hotel we've stayed at on this trip has not limited the # of users. No extra roll of tp in bathroom, had to go down to front desk in morning to get more (they appeared embarrassed, which they should have been).

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 3girlsdogdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Google Translation
Danke für Ihre Einschätzung, jedoch muß ich Ihnen sagen das Sie wenig Preissensibel sind.
Sie waren in München mit 5 Personen davon drei Kindern zu 330€ inclusive Frühstück,
das sind 60€ pro Person in der München Innenstadt. Öffentliches Parken gegenüber im Parkhaus kostet 30€. Mit Verlaub, sie werden in der Münchner Innenstadt auch mit Kindern nicht günstiger unterkommen. Unsere Empfehlung für den nächsten Besuch, wenn SIe es großzügiger haben wollen, mehrere Zimmer nebeneinander bestellen.
Wir stellen übrigens für alle Gäste soviel Internetzugangcodes aus, wie Sie benötigen. Aus rechtlichen Gründen darf pro Person nur ein Code ausgestellt werden.
Für das fehlende Toilettenpapier entschuldigen wir uns sehr, jedoch wäre dies mit einem Anruf auch sofort erledigt worden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-town
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's about an 8 minute walk to Marienplatz, which is the main square with many shops, access to the U-Bahn, and of course, site of the famous Glockenspiel.

The hotel is quiet, and overlooks a square that made me feel like I was truly in Europe. By that I mean it was lively with people having a drink or grabbing a bite as the Hotel Blauer Bock faces a building a few restaurants in it. This square was bustling only one of the days during my 4 day stay, as for most of my stay it was cold and rainy. (As in, 8ºC and windy. Not conducive to sitting outside).

The room kind of reminded me of a rooming house, but then I remembered that it used to house monks or something so it kind of made sense. In this I mean that the rooms were a bit older in terms of decor, but the exterior was a bit more modern. The room was functional, clean. I honestly don't care much about decor in general. I kind of liked the dark wood wardrobe in my room.

The staff were helpful. WiFi was free as I stayed over 3 nights (I didn't realise this when I booked the room in the first place.)

Breakfast was delicious. Nice dining room, great assortment of food (the eggs were delicious).

All in all, I enjoyed my stay. Good start to my trip to Central Europe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Owner at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihren Eintrag, meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreut.
Vielleicht auf ein nächstes mal im Blauen Bock. Ihr Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Blauer Bock for two nights on our recent trip to Munich. The location is central, just a few minutes walk away from the Marienplatz metro stop. The hotel is clean and simply appointed rooms are on the larger side for Europe. Our friends had a tiny shower in their bathroom, but we had a huge bathroom with a full sized tub. The staff was friendly, always saying hello and welcoming us back when we returned to the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and good and the internet access complimentary (be advised that only one device per room may be connected at any time). There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance (although the hotel has a very nice restaurant), including an outdoor market a block away and a lovely indoor market right across the street. Overall, this hotel is a nice centrally located place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milly6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Owner at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung, meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreut. Vielleicht auf ein nächstes mal im Blauen Bock. Ihr Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecoma, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed three nights here while in Munich. The location is unbeatable, next to Marienplatz and within walking distance of all the major sights in Munich. Our room was a basic room, although I believe there are more modern and nicer rooms to choose from. We slept on the top floor of the hotel in a spacious room that had a bit of a scruffy appearance. Every wall had very noticeable scuff marks, some really large ones. There was no air con which lead to some hot nights sleeping being the middle of Summer. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a bath. Breakfast was nice, a good selection at the buffet.
There is parking available at the hotel, but when we drove in it was a bit difficult to get into due to the crowds of people. We parked a 5 minute walk away at the Marienplatz underground parking, which actually turned out to be cheaper than the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Owner at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihren Eintrag. Meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreutGerne bieten wir auch noch zwei luxeriösere Kategorien an Zimmern in unserem Hotel. Diese finden Sie auf unserer Hompage ausführlich beschrieben.
Ihr Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
1,965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 382 in Munich
1,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 382 in Munich
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Property: Hotel Blauer Bock
Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Business Hotel in Munich
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing