We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid location, friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Ranked #18 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Solid location, friendly staff.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Blauer Bock for two nights on our recent trip to Munich. The location is central, just a few minutes walk away from the Marienplatz metro stop. The hotel is clean and simply appointed rooms are on the larger side for Europe. Our friends had a tiny shower in their bathroom, but we had a huge bathroom with a full sized tub. The staff was friendly, always saying hello and welcoming us back when we returned to the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and good and the internet access complimentary (be advised that only one device per room may be connected at any time). There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance (although the hotel has a very nice restaurant), including an outdoor market a block away and a lovely indoor market right across the street. Overall, this hotel is a nice centrally located place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milly6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Owner at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung, meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreut. Vielleicht auf ein nächstes mal im Blauen Bock. Ihr Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    335
    71
    15
    12
See reviews for
124
310
107
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tecoma, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed three nights here while in Munich. The location is unbeatable, next to Marienplatz and within walking distance of all the major sights in Munich. Our room was a basic room, although I believe there are more modern and nicer rooms to choose from. We slept on the top floor of the hotel in a spacious room that had a bit of a scruffy appearance. Every wall had very noticeable scuff marks, some really large ones. There was no air con which lead to some hot nights sleeping being the middle of Summer. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a bath. Breakfast was nice, a good selection at the buffet.
There is parking available at the hotel, but when we drove in it was a bit difficult to get into due to the crowds of people. We parked a 5 minute walk away at the Marienplatz underground parking, which actually turned out to be cheaper than the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Owner at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihren Eintrag. Meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreutGerne bieten wir auch noch zwei luxeriösere Kategorien an Zimmern in unserem Hotel. Diese finden Sie auf unserer Hompage ausführlich beschrieben.
Ihr Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights while sightseeing in Munich. We chose the hotel because of its central location and was not disappointed. Easy access to the metro and walking distance to many sights. Being next to the large outdoor market was also a big plus. Our room was clean and spacious for 2 kids and 2 adults. The complementary breakfast was also very good. Would recommend to anyone looking for a central Munich hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekGittoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Owner at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihren Eintrag, meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreut. Vielleicht bis zum nächsten mal im Blauen Bock. Ihr Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I are celebrating our anniversary in Munich and our stay at hotel Blauer Bock was wonderful. Conveniently located to city center and all the finest shopping, historical sites and eating establishments, this hotel is a must for anyone wanting to explore the city on foot. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and comfortable and by far the best on our trip
Ron & Leslie Wheelock

Room Tip: Ask for inner courtyard away from street level noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihren Eintrag, meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreut.
Hoffentlich auf ein nächstes mal Im Blauen Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laufenburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Although the location is KEY and makes this hotel fabulous that's about the only thing it has going for it including nice, simple, freshly renovated rooms. The buffet breakfast was VERY good.

However, there are 2 points that don't give this hotel a 5-point rating.

1) The staff at the front desk did nothing to make us feel at home, welcome or even that they were glad we came! The reverse effect would have been the same. What I mean is, had we not chosen to stay I highly doubt anyone would have been disappointed. It seemed all the same to them (stay or not stay....up to you attitude).

2) For such an expensive hotel per night having a fresh box of tissue would have been nice since it was not replaced. And an obviously empty beer and water bottles were not removed.

3) A small bar fridge is always handy in any room. Our room did not have one. I've been in much smaller rooms and there was a fridge. The standard double is not tiny either.

4) i had requested a quiet room, but they put us right at the front which have rooms facing the street. it was noisy and it was also not very dark from the street lights. Since I am 37 weeks pregnant it would have been nice to have a quieter room as given the location there were people roaming around at 3 a.m.

So, I guess this makes 4 points instead of 2!

Would I stay there again/ Probably not as I think there are better serviced hotels around - also central and that would be friendlier.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are loud, too bright at night and there is no A/C. Make sure you ask if you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean comfortable and will kept. Staff were friendly.great location, with only five minute walk from city centre. Close to public transport. I felt perfectly safe there. Near tasty restaurants and the wonderful market.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Google Translation
Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Kritik. Meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreut.
Wir freuen uns auf einen weiteren Besuch von Ihnen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is on my best list together with:

Berce Hotel Istanbul - Quiet, Clean, Friendly Staff, Super View
Relais du Postillon Antibes - Quiet, Clean, Friendly Staff (no aircondition, but big windows to open)

All of them not because of great food (breakfeasts are perfectly ok) or luxury, but laidback friendly people

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the backyard (with a balcony or terrasse) less hot and more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Owner at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Google Translation
Danke für Ihren Eintrag, meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreut. Vielleicht auf ein nächstes mal Ihr Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,938 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 383 in Munich
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Property: Hotel Blauer Bock
Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Business Hotel in Munich
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing