We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Ranked #17 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The location of the hotel is not to be beat. Located directly in the centre of Munich, it the perfect base for sight seeing. An excellent breakfast gets your day started right! Helpful staff and clean rooms too. I'd stay here again.
We stayed in a standard room for 1 night, which was clean, but quite small, even for European rooms. We upgraded to a premium room later in our stay, which was huge. Both rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluegirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Owner at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihren Eintrag, meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreut.Vielleicht auf ein nächstes mal Ihr Stefan Grosse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 943 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with a Bavarian feel and attitude. The staff is energetic and pleasant, they make you feel welcome and at home. The location could nt be better. You are close to the center of Munich and the Marienplatz. The Vikutalien Markt and St. Peter's church are right beside the hotel. The Jewish Museum and Syangogue are here as well. Only a few minutes walk to HofBrau House. We would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013
Google Translation

Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreut.
Bis zum nächsten mal im Blauen Bock. Ihr Stefan Grosse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Blauer Bock after flying all night from San Francisco. The Hotel could not have been in a better location. This was our first trip to Munich, and our stay at Hotel Blauer Bock helped us fall in love with Munich. The beds, linens, and comforters felt luxurious. We felt so well taken care of and amazed that the delicious breakfast buffet was included in the price of our room. We look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dbstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your compliments. I´ll give them to the staff of Hotel and Restaurant.
Best regards Stefan Grosse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was going to be in Munich on a brief research trip and wanted reasonably priced lodgings within walking distance of the Bavarian Academy of Science where I'd be working. A colleague recommended Hotel Blauer Bock, across the street from the Viktualienmarkt, 5 minutes from Marienplatz in the heart of the city, and only 5 minutes more to the Academy. It was a very good choice: the cost is fair for what you get (including free internet if you book online), I found the staff accommodating, and the breakfast is ample and satisfying (*excellent* coffee). My single room was definitely bare-bones, but I wasn't going to be in it to do more than sleep (which I did, very well) and didn't need to pay for plush extras I wasn't going to use. If you know what to expect, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your good and helpful comment. Stefan Grosse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are looking for a great location and are not picky about rooms, then hotel blauer bock is ideal. Situated right across from the viktualienmarkt sightseeing/shopping/going out is right at your doorstep.
The rooms we had were very out- dated with old small bathrooms, although well kept and clean. Service at the front desk is very helpful, restaurant medium. Although they don't tell you proactively you can order real cofffee(vs. Only filter) at breakfast, although they don't seem to like the extra work it causes them;)
The rooms are definitely not worth the price, but for our use the location was worth it.

Room Tip: Apparently they have newer rooms as well, might be worth asking for those at same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meggy_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013
Google Translation

Herzlichen Dank für ihre Kritik. Neben Filterkaffee bieten wir zum Frühstück gerne italienische Kaffeespezialitäten auf Wunsch an. Uns wundert was sie daran so verwerflich finden .Schade, das sie unser Restaurant nicht richtig kennengelernt haben aber eine Aussage " Medium" haben wir seit 2004 noch nicht dafür erhalten.( go München- delikat essen- Michelin-Aral-Varta -Marcellinos usw. können sich doch nicht alle irren).
Es ist auch richtig, das wir einfache Zimmerkategorien für weniger Anspruch und kleinere Geldbeutel anbieten. Wer es luxuriöser wünscht kann wie überall auf der Welt für finanziellen Mehraufwand auch mehr erwarten. Hier empfehlen wir unsere Zimmer der Premiumkategorie.
Vielleicht haben wir ja Gelegenheit ihnen dies bei einem neuen Besuch zu beweisen.
Mit besten Grüßen vom Münchner Viktualienmarkt nach Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Website does not represent hotel at all. Rooms feel like staying in a monestary. Terrible beds. Tv smaller than laptop. Only some rooms offer value for money.

Don't stay here. Staff unfriendly. Only good for people that value location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wouter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

You should update your travel agency about your own travel profile, so they could give you better offers. Im sorry we don´t understand your first sign in at the tripadvisor community. I offered you personally other rooms and catagories and you told me that this would be fine for one night. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My family of five (children aged 5, 5, and 3) recently stayed at Hotel Blauer Bock to celebrate my birthday and visit the Christmas Markets in Munich. It was the perfect location for a relaxing weekend. Our room (19) was spacious and clean. There was a separate area with enough room for a pull out couch and an extra bed (after some furniture rearrangement) so after putting the kids to bed we could relax in our own space.

The restaurant was closed during our stay, but we were able to easily find food at nearby cafes.

It is difficult to find hotel that can accommodate a family of five - Hotel Blauer Bock exceeded our expectations. If we visit Munich again, we will likely stay here.

Room Tip: Room 19 was perfect for a family with 3 small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyN111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you very much, I´ ll send your compliments to my staff.
best regards from munich, merry christmas and a happy new year Stefan Grosse
Looking forward to your next stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
2,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 385 in Munich
1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.3 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Business Hotel in Munich
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $102 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing