We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip of”
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Ranked #20 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Website does not represent hotel at all. Rooms feel like staying in a monestary. Terrible beds. Tv smaller than laptop. Only some rooms offer value for money.

Don't stay here. Staff unfriendly. Only good for people that value location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wouter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

You should update your travel agency about your own travel profile, so they could give you better offers. Im sorry we don´t understand your first sign in at the tripadvisor community. I offered you personally other rooms and catagories and you told me that this would be fine for one night. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blauer Bock
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 924 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

My family of five (children aged 5, 5, and 3) recently stayed at Hotel Blauer Bock to celebrate my birthday and visit the Christmas Markets in Munich. It was the perfect location for a relaxing weekend. Our room (19) was spacious and clean. There was a separate area with enough room for a pull out couch and an extra bed (after some furniture rearrangement) so after putting the kids to bed we could relax in our own space.

The restaurant was closed during our stay, but we were able to easily find food at nearby cafes.

It is difficult to find hotel that can accommodate a family of five - Hotel Blauer Bock exceeded our expectations. If we visit Munich again, we will likely stay here.

Room Tip: Room 19 was perfect for a family with 3 small children.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyN111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you very much, I´ ll send your compliments to my staff.
best regards from munich, merry christmas and a happy new year Stefan Grosse
Looking forward to your next stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were guests for three nights at the Hotel Blaurer Bock on the recommendation of frequent travelers to Munich. The room was very clean, included a bathroom (which was huge) and a most comfortable bed. The facility itself is well maintained and brightly lit. Wi-fi worked well and service staff was very accommodating. It was a little difficult for us to find on the side street, but once we arrived, we parked the car in the Blaurer Bock's underground parking (about 20 euros/night) and didn't use it again until we departed. Breakfast was provided each morning in the dining room and included an assortment of hot breakfast items, a large selection of cold items and coffee and juices. Plenty of food and nicely presented.

Everything that we needed was within walking distance, and you can certainly cover a lot of area walking in Munich. Shops, restaurants, churchs, markets, Marianplatz, English Gardens and, of course, the Hofbrauhaus.

Recommended for Munich travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Harleyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you very much, I´ ll send your compliments to my staff.
best regards from munich, merry christmas and a happy new year Stefan Grossse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a smaller sized hotel right in the center of Munich. They have a great staff and our room was very nice. It was larger than we expected which made the 5 nights more enjoyable as we could move about the room as needed. The location is what makes this a great choice for a hotel in Munich. It's only a couple of blocks from the main square and thus in the middle of the historic old city. It's within a close block of the daily market which is a great place to explore. The restaurant was closed when we were there so we can't comment on the breakfast situation. We actually used the hotel to store a bag for us as we travelled to the east. No problem when we returned.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Trank you, great compliments for my staff.
Kind regards Stefan Grosse (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from Munich and spent 7 nights at this hotel. Recommended by Rick Steves, we got more than we expected. The specific of shared showers in our part of the hotel was well-communicated (we had a double room) and the shower rooms (one per gender, one-at-a-time usage, well-locked) were immaculate. The hotel was immaculate overall - their restaurant was not available and that (with price adjustment) was known in advance. The hotel nonetheless had coffee and rolls in the morning. The office held our bags while we visited other towns for a couple of days and held our valuables at the front desk vault as desired. We used the WI-FI for communicating and the front desk's iPad for weather and boarding passes.

This location made Munich extremely comfortable and accessible - basically across the street from stores, eating places and the Viktualienmarkt. We were in a great neighborhood and 2-3 blocks from Marianplatz and all local trains. We walked to most points of interest within 15 minutes and never used a taxi - rather local train tickets and the German Rail Pass for all travel.

We would return for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard (not the street) are probably less street-noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane_anthony_75023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Trank you very much. That makes my Stuff happy.
Kind regards Stefan Grosse (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel was immaculate, which was very important to us. The room is a nice size by European standards, and the bathroom was extremely spacious. The staff is friendly and very helpful. They made us feel as though we were visiting their home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2,182,535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

What can I say, a better room would have cost twice the amount. We booked directly through the hotel's site. I honestly don't remember being warned that our rooms wouldn't have bathrooms. Front desk staff kept it a secret so we could find out on our own. We actually had to go one floor down and down a hallway to take a shower. One of our party needed a laundry and the staff member sent us on a 2 mile hike to find one that was closed. We were finally directed to a laundry service only ONE block away from the hotel. That was very annoying. No A/C, poor ventilation, lots of street noise, fancy restaurant closed because the roof caved in. No breakfast.
BUT, it was very close to Marianplatz, Victualienmarkt and most of the big attractions in Munich

Room Tip: Request a room on the same floor as the bathroom!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Ingelharts',thank you for your rating.
Like in the traveller guide books, we still offer the lowest room prices in the city center. We do offer rooms in different categories, as well for travelleres with lower budget can find good options in our hotel. The fully descriptions in our homepage are with pictures and text in english and germany equally explaint, unfortunately we can not be in respons if the person who books the room is not reading through different options.
To be honest, extending your stay in the same category were not speaking for the kritik?
Due a tragic incident took place in our restaurant we are not able to offer full breakfast to our guests in a moment, but the overnighting price is reduced.
We wish you all the best and would be happy to welcome you again in Hotel Blauer Bock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,016 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.3 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
838 reviews
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
#41 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $103 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing