We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and modern rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #28 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and modern rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel Bayernpost in February 2014 for 4 nights.

The location of the hotel is very convenient, it is alongside the train station and walking distance from the city center. Although at night it could be a bit disturbing, as some drunk people gather beside the station.

We stayed at the standard room, which was very modern. Our room had no view at all, it overlooked the otherside of the hotel, so we had the curtains closed all the time. Moreover, the lighting at the hotel is very dim, even when at the room there are red and green lights directed towards the bed, which was disturbing. The bathroom had a sliding door which was not convenient at all.

We had breakfast at the hotel buffet which was for €35 per person. It is overpriced for the selection of foods on display.

Overall, we enjoyed our staying and the conceirge was very helpful in assisting us in planning our trips while in Munich.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am glad to hear, that, all in all, you had a pleasant stay and that we could help you make it even more enjoyable. I also thank you for the hints that we will consider in future renovation projects.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,085
    961
    292
    140
    70
See reviews for
565
1,415
275
893
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was in Munich for one night, I arrived at around 1pm, check in was quick, and the staff was so helpful and professional. The hotel itself is very modern, stylish and very clean. The rooms open up just by slightly passing the room card key in front of a sensor, the rooms are average sized but they're very comfortable, my room had an expresso machine a believe or at least that's what it looked like, bed was very comfortable, bathroom was very nice everything was working.
I only managed to stay at this hotel for one night, but next time that I'm in Munich I would definitely stay here again. The train station is within walking distance on the same block, there are a lot of restaurants, shops and everything else one might need on a stay. I would have to say that this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, it is a bit expensive but it's well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G5ive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for chossing SofitelMunich bayerpost for your stay in Munich and for letting us make your stay - even though very short - an enjoyable one. It will be a pleasure welcoming you again.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed with my wife at Sofitel for three nights and we were really impressed with the quality of the room and the service. It is a bit pricey but this is a 5-star hotel in the centre of Munich, so what can you expect? The breakfast is very good with a lot of options and very fresh food, as good as home made. The only thing that I didn't really like, and the reason why I didn't rated it Excellent, is the internet connection. It was almost impossible to get WiFi in the room and even with a cable the quality was not that good. I had to work in the lobby. I was not expecting such a low internet quality from this type of hotel. The location is very good, in the centre of the city and plenty of shops around. The tube station is just five minutes away.
If you take a taxi from the airport get ready to pay around €80

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for telling us about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear that, all in all, you had a pleasant time in Munich and I thank you for pointing out about the internet connection in your room. Together with our provider, we are currently working on improving the situation. The next time you visit I am sure that you will see an improvement.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel is stylish and conveniently located by the train station, but the rooms are expensive for a hotel at the train station. Restaurant is good. We had a room facing the courtyard - so no privacy with the curtains open. Also the bath area provides no privacy as the blinds don't completely close. Do we really need to see each other use the toilet? Quality of bedding and towels is excellent. Staff very accommodating.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EB502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. It is very important to us to offer each guest an enjoyable stay. Thus, we offer a change of rooms within the same category if requested should the booking situation allow. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly.
It would be great to welcome you again to show you our other room options.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here upon arriving from the US. The location was great, right outside the train station and a short walk to the old town. We were jet lagged and the bed was wonderful,reminding me of the "heavenly beds" in the Westin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfgal32550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing! It will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Have stayed here twice so far this year - unfortunately only for one night each time. Service is excellent, rooms are beautifully designed with amazingly comfortable beds. Location next to the train station is ideal. Will definitely be back each time I visit Munich.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlatesXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing.

I'm already looking forward to welcoming you again soon - maybe then for a weekend?

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#94 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Property: Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing