We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Hotel - just a little pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #28 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - just a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost is a very nice well fitted hotel at the heart of Munich. It is next to the Central train station and offers easy access to the city, the airport and other towns. Even though it was next to the train station, the rooms were very quiet and one would not know that there was a major train station immediately next door. The rooms are well fitted with excellent hardware, though the beds are on the soft side (not uncommon for European hotels), and I particularly liked the bathroom which has a rainshower.
The only gripe was that I was there during a large conference and the rates were proportionately more expensive. For what I paid, I think that it was not the best value for money, otherwise it was a great stay, and I would highly recommend the hotel to visitors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost and for recommending us.

It would be great to welcome you again.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,953
    903
    272
    132
    66
See reviews for
526
1,331
268
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Upon arrival luggage drop off and valet parking worked perfeect. Upon check-in they offered different rooms. Choosed a courtyard room with shower. Compared with other Sofitels a little bit small. Desk is on a funny pull out shelf on the windowbench. Bathroom, I choose one with shower only, is immaculate. They have different options available.Was also in the SPA. Massage is not bad.
Bar and especially restaurant with beautifull terrace is strongly to recommend. Very friendly and easy going. Really value for money!
Check out was as smooth as check in. Went out and the car was placed in front! so it must be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Klaus5458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending us. It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We found a deal through a travel website fairly last minute. The hotel was extremely comfortable and generally the service was excellent (except for one person - probably having a bad day). The bar was fantastic and extremely atmospheric - definitely recommend. The room was lovely, a large room and very comfortable bed, very soft mattress so would recommend that you ask about mattress firmness if you have an ongoing back injury. The AC was good though we preferred to have the window open. Despite being situated next to the main station there was very little noise and we felt very safe when walking around at night after dinner/drinks. It was a wonderful experience for us. Breakfast was very expensive but the station had some very inexpensive cafes and it didn't take long to walk towards the old city centre where there was even more choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for telling us about your wonderful experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

I hope that we may welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

At the beginning of a 3 week trip this was our first stop. So we had some jet leg. The rooms were large for Europe. The location was great for being near the train station but the area is still quite a walk from the main sights. The area is safe eventhough the train station is right there, munich is a very safe city. Munich might be the most livable city I've ever been to. The only negative comment I have is that our bags took a long time to get to our room and after a long flight we really wanted to get showers and relax. But overall-Good choice in munich!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Munich Bayerpost as the first stop of your trip through Europe. Munich is a wonderful city and I am glad to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I also thank you for your feedback regarding the bagage delivery to your room that will help us to improve our performance.

It would be great to welcome you again.

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for business. Location is close to the main rail station - rarely an attractive neighbourhood in any city. The hotel has extremely stylish public areas and large modern rooms with Hermes toiletries and Bose sound docks and large TVs and trendy artwork. The spa is also very stylish though the pool is better for wallowing in rather than taking a workout. Somewhat peculiar cavern type setup with a spiral shaped pool. Breakfast is very good. When we checked in they had a computer glitch and could not issue keys which was dull. But staff were charming though dealing with it causes quite a wait to check in. Front door staff showed no interest the two times we went out in getting us a Cab and we ended up crossing the road to the meridian. Not a great effort but poor service for a five star not cheap hotel. Bit overall still a good experience though plainly expensive. Much more Stylish and modern than some of the stuffier high end places in Munich.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. However, I would like to address a few of the points you mentioned a bit more in detail.

Truly, being located right next to the central station of a city like Munich has its challenges. Nevertheless, we are glad that our guests have access to any form of public transport in the immediate area and only a short walk to the old centre of the city.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was marred by inattention from our side. Please rest assured that we have used your comment to train especially our front door team again on how they might anticipate our guests' needs best.

I thank you again for this helpful feedback and hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our first Sofitel experience and will definitely not be our last.

We arrived early and were efficiently checked in and given a room. The hotel is very contemporary and beautiful. The room was so well thought out in design that nothing was left to chance. The bed linens, bath towels, robes, slippers were the finest quality. In addition there was a Nespresso coffee maker, well stocked teas,a box of candy, as well a bottled water. The hotel offers free WiFi which actual works.

The hotel is within a block of the rail station and about a 15 minute walk to the main square and shopping. Concierge service was wonderful. Can't imagine anyone giving this hotel anything less than a five star review.

Look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sneadNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this comment. To make our guests feel (almost) at home at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost we payed attention to detail and by this strive to meet our guests wishes before they even think about them.

Thank you for recommending us. I am already looking forward to welcoming you again to the Bayerpost.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Second time. Always a great experience and pleasure. I like the contemporary luxury style and the relaxing conditions with ambient lights. Nice rooms with excellent beds.

Remember to try out the excellent bar for special drinks! The Bar Keeper is very competent! My recommendation!




  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TorbenFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending us. I gladly shared your comment with the whole team - and of course with our bar staff. Every day we strive to give just a little more than expected and by this surprise our guests.

I hope to welcome you soon for the third time.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#6 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#83 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#39 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Property: Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing