We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice...construction through May 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #23 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“VERY nice...construction through May 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a very nice stay here. The only thing to watch out for is that they are doing construction until May 2013 in the lobby bistro. Request a room away from the lobby. We had to move after hearing jackhammering all day long, even on weekends, 3 floors up.

Other than the construction, everyone was extremely helpful and courteous.

The hotel is literally steps from the Munich train station and multiple subway lines.

Room Tip: Away from lobby (including rooms above the lobby)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Right now we are transforming our "Sophie's Bistro" into "DÉLiCE" - a French Brasserie that will open at the end of May. This is accompanied by extensive renovation work. Unfortunately a certain noise level during the day is part of this. Therefore, we are scheduling noise-intensive work when many of our guets are not in the hotel, i.e. after 9 am.

Apart from this, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,878
    867
    263
    121
    61
See reviews for
505
1,270
261
787
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Sofitel for Easter 2013 and were pleasantly surprised with how nice it was, very luxurious and warm after spending the day sightseeing in the snow. The location is great, a short walk from the old town and right next to the Central Railway Station, which is only 2 stops away from the old town if you don't want to walk it. The Railway Station has lots of pastry and food shops which is ideal for breakfast on the run. It was easy to book day trips from the Concierge Desk with plenty of information given in English. I will go back to Munich one day and will have no hesitaiton in staying at the Sofitel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guests,

It is a pleasure to hear how great a time you spend in Munich. I am alredy looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in the Sofitel Munich Bayerpost over the Easter bank holiday weekend with my boyfriend. We couldn't believe our luck when we first walked into the hotel, it was absolutely gorgeous.

Our room was really nice; the bed was very comfortable and the shower room was amazing. The Nespresso machine was also a nice touch. The only downside about the room is that there's no bathroom door, just a sliding glass panel so there's not much privacy if you're sharing a room with a friend etc.

We ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of times and the food was very good - I'd recommend the baked salmon. The hotel bar was gorgeous with a great ambiance, the cocktails were delicious and around 10 euros each. Breakfast was an absolute feast with every type of food you can imagine! It was my favourite meal of the day and we definitely ate our 30 euros worth!

Although we ventured into the spa and used the pool and steam room, we didn't have a massage. The spa was quite small and the pool wasn't very warm but it felt very relaxing and was a great complimentary service to use.

The hotel is in the perfect location - right next to the Hauptbahnhof, Muncih's main train station. This made exploring during our stay very easy and we also took the train to and from the airport in around 40mins each way.

The hotel really is pure luxury with the staff going above and beyond. It felt like home when we were there and I already miss the mammoth breakfast and late night drinks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for all your nice words. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is our most important goal to make our guests feel at home. Thank you for sharing.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over Easter at a great discounted rate. The hotel has a modern style but in the positive meaning where you can still feel comfortable. Of course there is a feeling of luxury and a love of detail. The hotel has a free spa consisting of a pool, steam bath and sauna which is great. You get free Nespresso coffee in the room and apples at the reception.

One funky thing is that the bathroom is separated from the rest of the hotel room only by a glass sliding window, which doesn't help your feeling of privacy in the bathroom.

WiFi is free but reception a bit poor in the room.

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at, though I usually don't stay at 5* hotels. If you can afford it, a definite recommendation.

Room Tip: Tip: You can exchange the 30EUR breakfast for something quick at the next-door central station for 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending us. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Every day we strive to offer our guests a memorable stay marked by our love for detail in service and design. It is always great to hear that our guests appreciate our efforts.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here as part of a city break in Munich. Because the hotel is right next to the Hauptbahnhof we booked a Luxury room, either with an inner courtyard view or on a high level. This was to avoid any noise from the railstation. On checking in we were allocated room 252, and on finding it and looking out there was a view right onto a platform with accompanying train! On checking with reception we were told by a rather abrupt lady that we had been upgraded to a junior suite, with the implication being that we should be grateful! On explaining about the adjacent platform, and our concern being noise rather than the view, the lady denied that the station was there at all, saying it was on the other side of the hotel! I think I can spot a platform and train when I see one!

At this point I asked to see the manager (Katherine) who apologised profusely and offered us either our originally allocated room (an inner courtyard one), or a mezzanine suite on the eighth floor.Unsurprisingly we accepted the suite, and whilst it still looked over the rail station it was at a high enough level, and sound proofed enough, to exclude any noise. There was then a further delay and mix up of about half an hour in transferring our luggage, but that was eventually sorted out.

After a day travelling we decided to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant, which is spread across three floors. Notices indicated that some filmimg was being carried out in the ground floor area of the restaurant, but we were able to reserve in another part of the restaurant, no problem there. On approaching the restaurant area at the time we had reserved for we were met by a group of staff who's role was to keep guests away from the filming and to ensure that they did not make any noise! We enquired quietly and politely where we should go to find our table, were sshh'd several times and eventually pointed down some unpromising looking stairs. These led to a basement area, but no restaurant. On returning to more sshh's we were informed that the staff thought we'd asked for the rest rooms!! You couldn't make this up! Had one been able to communicate properly that annoyance would have been avoided. Finally we were sent off to the correct way in to the restaurant, to more sshh's, including from a member of the film crew, who I'm afraid got the sharp end of my tongue in sheer frustration at the way we were being treated. The hotel seemed to care much more about the filming than the comfort and convenience of its paying guests. I do not expect to pay five star prices to be treated like that.

To be fair from then on things were fine.The hotel food was good, and the rest of our stay passed off peacefully. However, having stayed in Sofitels across Europe the first part of our stay in Munich fell far below the standard required and expected, and it set an impression which spoiled our first day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WYTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed account of your experience in the beginning of your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

It is important to us to offer our guests a most comfortable stay. Therefore, we are always glad, if the booking situation allows, to upgrade our guests to the next higher room category. In your case this was a Junior Suite.

On building our hotel, our architects paid particular attention to the soundproofing of our rooms, especially regarding our location next to Munich central station. We are proud to say, that the trains cannot be heard in neither of our 396 rooms. However, I understand that being given a room on the second level while you expected one on an upper floor or with view to the inner courtyard, did not meet your expectations of a luxurious stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. That you would not have heard the trains should not have been the central point and we definitely should have reacted in another way. I am glad that our manager on duty found a suitable solution for you.

A movie production requires a lot of understanding from our guests and the proper handling from our staff when it comes to guiding our guests through the hotel. I am sorry about the inappropiate fashion in which the situation unfolded.

Thank you very much for pointing this out as this will help us improve.

I hope to welcome you again soon to show you that we can do better than what you experienced.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,041 reviews
278 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The sofitel in Munich is a beautiful hotel in a great central location just next to the main train station (hauptbahnhof). It is only a very short walk to the main attractions and, as it's just at the train station, you can get to anywhere you want either near or far! We were using the trains to travel around Germany/Austria so I had wanted a central hotel near the hbf. I stayed here for 3 nights after getting a good deal through the hotwire website. I only wish I could be staying for a few more nights! The spa and pool area is lovely, very relaxing and nicely decorated. It's open until 10.30pm which is handy if you're arriving back after a day's sightseeing and want to relax! The room I had was perfect- it was a decent size with a huge comfortable bed, nespresso machine and an iPod dock with surround sound, amongst the other usual things you'd have. The little toiletries in the bathroom are lovely too. The staff are so friendly and are keen to help in any way they can. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough!- would love to return again sometime.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Munich Bayerpost for your trip to Germany and Austria. It is a pleasure to hear how great a time you had at our hotel. Thank you for recommending us.

I hope to welcome you back to the Bayerpost - maybe then for a week?

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Located next to Hauptbahnhof Munich but completely noise free! A magnificent hotel worthy of the 5 stars it has! The welcome is genuine, attention to detail and full explanations of everything. The rooms are so nice, you won't want to leave ( I am still here as we speak!!)
Lovely bathroom which has adjustable sound system linked to tv, Bose iPod mp3 , nepresso machine, beautiful toiletries and overall fantastic services. Beds are enormous and highly comfortable.
The SO Spa downstairs has its own private lift and offers free sauna , steam room, alcove-cave darklight swimming area (never seen before in all my travels! ) , relaxation room, massage rooms etc...the most sophisticated spa I've come across around the world in a hotel!
If you are getting the train to Sofitel and you don't see it on your right as soon as you walk out of the station, then you have come out the wrong side!!
Location is central - marienplatz and all main areas literally moments away. Munich transport system brings you from centre as far out as Allianz Arena or Olympic Park or BMW Welt!
Will certainly come back again!

Room Tip: We are on 4th floor, but all rooms soundproofed. Junior suites are bigger looking and double floor b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed it. It is our most important goal to make our guests feel at at home - excellent quality of service and unique offers like our So SPA are key elements in this. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#77 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 2,277 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#45 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Property: Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing