We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautifully designed and well equipped” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #23 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautifully designed and well equipped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel Munich for 1 week during a business trip. First impression? Beautiful. Modern. Great lobby with a quick and easy check in. The breakfast is great with a lot of choices and the restaurant has some great food as well. The room is big with a VERY comfortable bed, a great bathroom, Nespresso machine and Bose sound System with a docking station for your Apple iPod or iPhone. Overall? Great room, very comfortable and well equipped, a very good sound isolation (yes, the trains are right next to the hotel but I didn’t hear or feel anything) from the street and the hallway.

Pros:

- Quick and easy checking
- Very nice rooms, well equipped and comfortable
- Beautiful lobby
- Great breakfast and restaurant with a lot of choices
- Apple docking station
- Nespresso machine in the room
- Spa area is beautiful with a lot of different services provided

Cons:

- There was an aggressive perfume spread around the lobby and bar area
- The gym is small and lacks more weights

I definitely recommend this hotel and I'll surely be staying there the next time I'm in Munich

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zig0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed comment on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your time in Munich. Every day we strive to offer our guests a remarkable stay not only of design but more importantly of quality and service.
I therefore thank you especially for your remarks that will help us to improve our performance.

I hope to welcome you again soon at the Bayerpost.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    886
    268
    126
    63
See reviews for
514
1,303
263
796
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We only had one night in Munich and chose to stay here as it was close to the old part of town. Easy to find and get into car park. Car was parked for us. Reception was very helpful even giving us ideas on where to go and see some sights and directions. Inside the beautiful old building it is very modern and clean. Our rooms were of good size and the bathroom was really well set out with two shower heads and a seat in the shower. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Every member of staff strives for making our guests stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost one of highest quality and service. We are glad to surprise our guests by always giving a little more than expected. Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Sofitel Munich is located right next to the main train station. Although this means it is very conveniently located for transport to the airport and also close to Munich attractions, the immediate area around the train station is seedy, ugly, and uninviting. The hotel itself is modern and stylish. They actually seem to have placed a completely new, purpose-built construction inside the old 19th century facade. The standard room I stayed in was small - too small for my liking - and lacked a bathtub. Otherwise, the room was tastefully designed and well equipped (nespresso machine, kettle, good stereo). One negative is the lack of elevators. There is only one central elevator lobby with four elevators and if you are unlucky like I was, your room is more than a hundred metres away from it and you have to trek for what seems like an eternity through long, winding corridors. The spa is beautiful with a unique kind of swimming grotto and a nice sauna and steam bath. There is a nice bar as well, but EUR 15 for a normal glass of white wine is a crazy price, even in that kind of hotel. Service was flawless; very, very good and friendly. If it were not for the awful immediate surroundings of the hotel, I would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for room not too far from elevators to avoid long and confusing corridor expeditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lupo_mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. As you well have noticed our hotel was built within the historical façade of the old Bayerpost, formerly a major post office in Munich. Design is a core element of Sofitel hotels always connecting local history with a French touch. A lot of details reflect this throughout the entire hotel as for example our front desk reminding of counters at an old post office.

It is our most important goal to offer our guests a remarkable experience of quality and service in an atmosphere of calm and relaxation. I am glad that we reached this goal during your time of stay even though we did not meet all your expectations.

Thank you again for your recommendation.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A simply fantastic experience to stay at the Sofitel Munich next to the main railway station. Notable are the great rooms with ecerything you need to lock the door and relax in the tub, watch TV (slides back & forth for room or bathroom viewing!), sample room service and the minibar. Next is the great pool & spa with it's subterrainean atmosphere. Finally indulge and 'go European' in the unisex steam room, ice baths & showers and sauna - just pray that you don't share the experience with an obese businessman.

Room Tip: Don't be concerned at all about the trains nearby - you won't hear/feel them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for all your kind words. It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a great time at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel with unbelievably comfortable beds, just what we needed after 20 hours of travel from the US West Coast. The location was excellent, across the parking lot from the main train station and a few minutes to all the restaurants and shops. If I return to Munich, I will definitely return to the Sofitel!

Room Tip: A littlle pricy but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lafarwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is our most important goal to make our guests feel at home. All our beds are equipped with the MyBed-System offering a high sleeping comfort. The interior design of the entire hotel adds to this by creating a relaxing atmosphere. It is great to hear that our guests appreciate our efforts.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A truly lovely stay. We stayed in the "Suite Natural" - which is a beautiful wood themed room and one I would highly recommend.

The staff were all very helpful, the hotel was immaculate and room service breakfast was fantastic. The only thing that lets the hotel down if I am being super critical, is the location which is right by the station. Not because of any train noise as there was none, but because of the busy road and pedestrian traffic you have to cope with when you walk out. Once you get past this though its fine.

We would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost in general and our Suite Naturelle. All eight of our Opera suites have their own design theme. The Suite Naturelle is designed al around Bavarian nature with such small details as the pair of carpet slippers at the foot of the bed.

I hope to welcome you again soon, maybe to another Opera suite?

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#80 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 2,332 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#6 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#44 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Property: Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing