We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve in the Sofitel, Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #27 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New Years Eve in the Sofitel, Munich”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. 3 minutes walk from the main station and 20 minutes walk to the Marienplatz. Superb service in all parts of the hotel and very quiet room with high quality bedding. The hotel bar was a lovely place to unwind over an ice-cool beer served with a smile. Room service was prompt and well-presented healthy food.
The only problem being that I overdosed on the marvellous breakfast buffet (the Bircher Muesli should win an award!) and I now need to go on a strict diet!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for all those kind words. Every day we do our best to make each guest's stay one of extraordinary quality and service and to always offer a bit more than expected.

I hope to welcome you again to another helping of Bircher Muesli.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,117
    975
    295
    141
    70
See reviews for
573
1,438
277
907
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stylish and modern hotel. Soft light in all public areas fits perfectly into the classy atmosphere. Rooms equipped with nespresso coffee maker and Bose sound system. Bathroom design very open and separated from living area.

Room Tip: Good Hotel ,good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights over the New Year. Really enjoyed the bar, restaurant and Spa. Rooms are contemporary with Hermes bathroom products. Somewhat small but all Munich hotel rooms are small. Great location within walking distance of everything. Concierge service were always very helpful. Great breakfast - yes 31Euros but worth it. Service was fabulous with great quality food. Even got my party peanut butter! We dined in the bistro one night and really enjoyed. Food and service great. We used the bar for cocktails every night - really enjoyed the relaxed professional service. Some of the front desk staff could be more friendly and welcoming. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank School70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your fantastic experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Every member of our team strives to make each guest's stay an unforgettable one marked by small details you would not have expected beforehand.

Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was my first time in Munich. I don't always use trains because they can be a hassle, but the Sofitel is literally right next to the main train station, so getting there was very simple.
Great location, easy access to everything in Munich.
Hotel has a night club vibe which is not evident from the outside.
Reception/check-in desk staff were very nice and professional.
Concierge staff nice but a little cold.
Rooms are well-sized by European standards. I agree with other reviewers about the open shower concept-- it's too open to the rest of the bathroom, and makes a mess when you shower...nothing a towel can't handle, but it's a design flaw.

I would stay here again. Munich is enjoyable and I definitely want to return in the spring or warmer periods someday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWhiz1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Thank you for recommending us.

The sliding door concept in our bathrooms was specifically designed to give our guests a feeling of openness while offering privacy at the same time. I am sorry that this didn't meet your expectations.

It would be great to welcome you again at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in this well-located hotel. Prices over Christmas/New Year were reasonable for a family room.
The hotel was extremely busy which led to a very average experience from start to finish.
Things to watch out for:
- Doorman. Very limited service. There was no-one to greet us on arrival and help us with luggage as the one doorman available was busy with another arrival. We had to move our own bags to the front desk. When I raised it with the front desk, I was told "well. we're busy .. what do you expect us to do". On pointing out that this wasn't 5 star service, I was given a voucher for a glass of champagne (tick for recovery).
- Breakfast. Good spread, with efficient table service. But some mornings, it was like feeding time at the zoo - they could not keep up with demand.
- Internet. First, the local Telekom wifi hotspot constantly overrides the hotel system. Really annoying! You have to reset your wifi multiple times a day. The 'free' wifi is lowband/internet search only.
- Beds. The 'king' bed was two beds moved together. They don't stay together - handy if you like falling into the gap in the middle of the night.
- Housekeeping. Be very careful. We had some things go missing (our fault - we didn't put them in the safe). The staff don't speak German or English - basic requests were misunderstood. And one afternoon, we had various staff 'barging' into our room and shouting 'Bruder' (brother) at each other. Highly unprofessional.
- Laundry. Be careful. There is a 30% saving on kid's laundry. But it's in the fine print and if you don't point it out, you will be over-charged. We were, but this was rectified by the hotel. Their response to the over-charging was, "well, it's outsourced and not our fault".
- Room. Family rooms (junior or Prestige suites) have very steep, narrow stairs and also only a shower (no bath). Luggage space is (of course) up the very steep, narrow stairs.
Finally - a BIG WATCHOUT. Don't use the taxis recommended by the hotel - just walk over to the station taxi rank. I asked whether the hotel taxis were normal price - was told yes by a doorman - and was subsequently charged double the normal rate.
This hotel is 4 star at best, verging on 3 stars when we stayed there. The location and family rooms are a big advantage over other similar Munich properities, but beware!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kt11Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost and for providing such a detailed account of what went wrong during your stay. Please be assured that we are taking each point mentioned very seriously.

If luggage service wasn't offered to you right away it must have been due to an unexpectedly tense arrival time. I am sorry you were not able to experience our usual personal welcome.

We are in contact with our internet provider to change the overriding situation that you are describing. I understand that this must have been an annoyance for you.

Thank you for your comment regarding the taxis which we'll use to double-check our existing standards. Through the central dispatch we call taxis that offer minimum service standards vs. any taxi off the street. There are no hotel taxis and we only operate with limousine companies and private taxi companies that we thoroughly check.

You also commented on our housekeeping and laundry service. Please let me again apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Of course the children's discount should have been respected right away and our reaction clearly did not meet our high standards as well as the behavior of our staff. Rest assured that we are using your remarks to train our employees accordingly.

I am sorry to hear that some things went missing during your vacation. We don't condone such occurences and would have appreciated a comment from you during your stay to further investigate. I hope that you will give us another chance that the 5-star service we offer goes well beyond joust our breakfast offer and service.

Sincerely

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankara
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before new year.An upper class modern hotel.Very comfortable beds,excellent breakfast.Although the reservation manager(Dorothee ----)promised me to make our stay unforgettable,the front desk gave us a room just above the open parking lot.We could not open our curtains for 3 days.Nothing special also.I had tried to reach her by e-mail before our arrival,but I think she did not want to be bothered.This is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel.beside all of this the head of the concierge made our stay really unforgettable.He is always very kind and helpful,and deserves a big applause.
Ali Ergen,M.D.

Room Tip: Can not say anything about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorankara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Ergen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is good to hear that we met your expectations in several ways. However I am sorry that your room didn't meet your expectations.

In such cases, if possible according to our booking situation, we offer our guests a change of rooms should they desire so.

Thank you for your recommendations which I passed on to our Concierges who always strive to make our guests' stay unforgettable.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Amazing facilities at this hotel. Loved the spa, pool, room and food. Location was great as well right near the station. Only let down is the low band Internet. So many of the hotels we stayed a had good Internet but we found the Sofitel in Munich ( and moreso Berlin), were particularly poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stobinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experiences at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

We are glad to be able to offer our guests free high-speed internet throughout the hotel. Nevertheless, depending on the number of guests using the internet at the same time, speed issues might occur. I am sorry this happened during your stay. Please note that we also offer a premium access for a marginal daily fee.

I hope to welcome you again soon at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#16 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#96 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Property: Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing