We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylisch yet dark hotel next to Main Train Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #28 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stylish and modern hotel. Soft light in all public areas fits perfectly into the classy atmosphere.
Rooms equipped with nespresso coffee maker and Bose sound system. Bathroom design very open and separated from living area only by a glass wall(can be darken), so male sure you know with whom you share your room.
During our stay (27-29.12) slightly understaffed. That led to a lot of waiting time during check in, check out and at the restaurant called Sophie's.
Prices @ Sophie's rather high, a bottle of water 11€.....
Perfectly located for sightseeing and shopping, either 5 min walk to the main shopping street or 1 min to main train station.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelerGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Design is a major characteristic of the Sofitel Brand. In our case, it is sepcifically based on lighting as you well have noticed. The warm and soft lights all over the hotel create a comfortable atmosphere that makes our guests feel at home.

Thank you for recommending us. I hope we may welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 3,888 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel has a very modern European contemporary design and it is just 100 meters away from the Munich Central Railway Station with easy access to the main shopping area at Kaufinger Strasse. It is well maintained and it offers state-of-the-art equipment in the rooms, including hi-fi, TV Internet access and Nespresso coffee machine. Bed is really comfortable but the hotel should also offer some thinner pillows for those who cannot sleep on highly elevated pillow.

I have noticed a great deal of confusion among staff from the reception to the concierge desk. There is no seamless coordination between the various departments, so you need to explain several times what you need. There was a kind of "supervisor" strolling between the reception and the entrance who was totally useless. When there was a backlog of people at the reception he did not interfere to call additional receptionists. The "I am sorry" attitude could not relieve guests and reduce their waiting time. He was also trying to ask people near the front door why they were waiting, while they were simply waiting for their cabs to come... The Concierge Desk also had communication problems between the team members. On departure they have forgotten to put my suit hanger in the cab so I had to go to the storage room and look for it myself...

I believe that some more training and supervision of the staff will be beneficial for all parties concerned.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear that our hotel convinced you with its quality and offers.

I am sorry that you perceived confusion among the staff. We will continue to take a serious look at how we go about managing exceptionally busy times in our lobby and at the reception. A manager available in the lobby is supposed to help with the coordination among front office staff. I apologize if on the day of your departure we did not meet your expectations.

I hope that you will give us a chance to prove that we can do better.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A 2 minutes walk to the train station to reach Munchen airport stressless, 5 minutes to the city centre, the Sofitel Munchen is a perfect place to stay in the Bayern capital: contemporany decoration, nice room with all required equipment, and a must with a great italian shower...
An all you can eat breakfast with delicious home made cocktail fruits to help you to fight the frozen december weather....
Don.t miss it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patjeninks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Offering our guests our best service and quality in a relaxing atmosphere with all the advantages of our location in central Munich is our most central goal. I am glad that we achieved this during your stay. Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

comfortable, good services, lovely dinner and great spa facility! nice interior, modern decor and convenient location! good for city break, close to main attractions and central station for day trips as well as travel to nearby countries!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinofnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for appreciating our efforts to make our guests' stay a relaxing experience of quality and service. It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Fantastic hotel- perfectly located by the train station, and walking distance to the Christmas markets (7 minute walk to one end of marineplatz- Christmas markets)
The hotel has all the modern features needed-, with a spacious room.

Nice to get Hermes toiletries too!

Highly recommended- I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SheenaS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest,

We love to always give a little more than expected to make our guests feel at home at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel design is great. Good looking Public area i.e. lobby and etc. Love the lighting treatments in room. Sliding doors connected between room and bathroom are frosted glass and another one is mirror. When you slide to shut the door, you still can see the light coming out from the bed light behind the frosted glass, created nice atmosphere. I stay in a standard room. The size is good. have sufficient storage for m baggage and stuffs. Good circulation in room. Bath accessory is Hermes!

The hotel staff is helpful and friendly. The location is very convenience. You can find good food and grocery in the train station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for all your kind words. It is a pleasure to hear that our guests appreciate the design of our hotel and especially the lighting which is a core element of our interior design.

I hope to welcome you again soon at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#94 of 390 in Munich
2,703 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 390 in Munich
1,640 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#23 of 390 in Munich
628 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
736 reviews
1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#16 Family Hotel in Munich
#18 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $226 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing