We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #27 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were very nice and had wonderful beds. The spa was perfect and was used all 4 days we were in Munich. Nice pool and 2 saunas (1 wet, 1 dry). We only used the pool and sauna, but they offer a range of services. The concierge service was fantastic. They were very helpful in getting around and recommending places to eat/visit.

The best part about the hotel (other than the pool) was the location. It is about 300 meters from the Munich central train station, which will take you anywhere in the city or out of town that you would want to go.

I will be staying here on my next visit to Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan-and-Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Our pool is definitely something special and it is good to know that our guests appreciate our efforts to make their stay a remarkable one – and our concierges are always glad to help with everything that is needed.

I hope to welcome you again soon at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost (and in our SoSPA).

Best regards,

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,747)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 3,747 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

We took a one week tour of Switzerland, Austria and Germany. This was by-far the best hotel we stayed at. Upon arriving from the train station, myself and my girlfriend were amazed on how extremely close it is to the Munich train station, less than 5 minutes walk.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were immediately greeted by the staff. Although we have arrived about 1 1/2 hours earlier than normal check in time, the reassured us that it wouldn't take long to complete check in. About 30 minutes after we checked in with front desk, our room was still unavailable. The front desk staff did what they could to call the personnel over radio to check and see what was going on with our room.

He then said it would take another 15-20 minutes. He then gave us vouchers to the bar where me and my girlfriend just started drinking until it was time to go to our room. The room was immaculate, spacious, luxurious! We book a junior suite. Everything was spot on - right on down to the Bose system which was pre-stationed to English radio station.

There isn't one complaint that I can find with this place. I would most definitely stay here again when I stay in Munich. This place is a must!

Room Tip: If possible, book a suite. Very very spacious. Beds are very comfortable and you get all the bells...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDBKamakura-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A very nice modern hotel right next to the main train station. The layout and design of the hotel was stylish and rooms were comfortable. Service was excellent and i particularly enjoyed the bar which served superb cocktails. We also ate at the bistro which served good quality european food which although not cheap was priced fairly for a 5 star hotel. My only real gripe was with the rooms themselves due to the way the bathroom is setup. Its divided from the rest of the room but i would not call it a separate room with solid walls which basically means you can hear and sometimes even see exactly what is going on in there!
The location is literally less than a minute from the main station which is perfect if you want to see the city. If you fancy a walk then its not far at all from the city centre either. The immediate area around the station is a little sleazy but seemed perfectly safe.
In summary a great base to visit Munich

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

just perfect for me
Rooms are very fashion, breakfast its outstanding.
A bit expensive thats right but worths every single cent.
I would stay here again for sure.
It has a nespresso coffe machine, free wifi, a very nice bathroom and great atmosphere

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights meeting up with family who had travelled from Japan. The hotel is located very close to Hauptbahnhof Rail Station which makes getting around very easy. Our main gripe about the hotel is that it is very overpriced! We had a reasonable room at GBP200 per night without breakfast - outrageous. Breakfast was EUR31 per person extra!! We chose to eat in the Rail Station for a fraction of the price and the food was good there. Will not be going back as it is seriously expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The ambience of the hotel is driven by the defining style and design of each area. The staff were efficient, helpful and were in keeping of the venue. The rooms were a joy, a sumptuous bed, well laid out desk and business area were accompanied by a superb set of elements, coffee machine, TV and minibar. The best I have saved to last, the bathroom was partitioned by a glass window with electric blind and the Belfast sink was just perfect. All round an excellent hotel in a excellent location in a charming city of culture. Book it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winstone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#99 of 385 in Munich
2,615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#18 of 385 in Munich
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,665 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 385 in Munich
694 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $231 - $859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing