We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern. Comfortable. Friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #29 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
boscobel, jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern. Comfortable. Friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had a wonderful stay. We arrived late at night and were greeted by friendly staff and a teddy bear in the infant bed. Rooms are modern and clean. Room service was fast and tasty. Bed and luxury bath products were the perfect way to recover from the marathon. Highly recommended for business or family.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank agrazi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost and that your child liked the teddy bear. We hope it made sleeping in a different bed away from home a little easier.

Thank you for the recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,087
    961
    292
    140
    70
See reviews for
566
1,416
275
893
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights during Oktoberfest. Location could not be beat. 1/2 a block from the main station, a 5 minute walk to Oktoberfest and about 15 minutes from the Marienplatz.
Room was ready by 10:45am which was an added bonus after a longTrans-Atlantic flight. Rain shower was excellent and the espresso machine was great for an afternoon pick me up. The building is an old renovated post office, the spaces were magnificent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILuvNewYawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for considering us the prime location for visiting Oktoberfest. Whenever the previous night's occupancy allows, we gladly make rooms available for early arrival.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We came to Munich for Oktoberfest - Sofitel has a perfect location for getting to Oktoberfest by walking about 10-15 minutes, or a 5-minute ride by taking a pedi-cab which you can pick up at the train station right next to the hotel. Rooms are updated with a modern feel and were spotless. Concierge was helpful in navigating the Oktoberfest tents and giving restaurant recommendations. While parking is expensive, your car is safe and the bellmen will help you load and unload when arriving and departing.The hotel had security at the entrance of the hotel to make sure that only guests of the hotel were accessing it since there were so many people milling around. Buffet breakfast was excellent, many options and quick service for eggs and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Oktoberfest is always a very special time as well for us as for our guests. Thousands of people find their way to the festival and part of them are staying with us. It is one of our most important goals to offer a magnifique visit to the world’s biggest beer festival while keeping in mind the well-being and safety of our guests. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

Yours sincerely

Alexander Moj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely hotel, very striking building, with lights all around the front of the building. Wonderful first impression in excellent location. Service outstanding, upgraded to lovely suite and given champagne because it was my birthday and then chocolates later in the day. Staff very very helpful, I didn't even mention it was my birthday they just notice from my passport and did all that for me.
Would highly reccommend

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiem002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for all your kind words. It is always a pleasure for us to surprise our guests. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I arrived munich by train from Innsbruck. The Sofitel munich Bayerpost was right in front of Munich HbF. Just walk out of the station and turn right. You would see the Sofitel. The staff is elegant and sophiscated as well as the hotel itself. They greeted me and my hasband very well though we and our hotel voucher got soaked from the rain. The room was great, the bathroom was excellent: it has every we need and very clean. The hotel is in the best loacation: you can get tram #17 to Nymphenburg palace, get many S for 2 stops to Marienplatz or Residence palace and get S1 or S8 to the airport only about half an hour. All of this transportation is all included if you buy a Gammentstatz (sorry if I spell wrong) partner ticket one day for up to 5 persons only for 20 euro. You can buy it yourself at the ticket machine at HbF.
Room tips: Ask for non-smoking if you don't smoke.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Munich so much even though it was raining hard when you arrived. Let me also recommend for your next stay in Munich to see our concierge for any advice you may want to seek.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

For people travelling by train, the hotel is located right next to the Hauptbahnhof. One benefit is that you can get taxis really easily. The hotel is large, still quite new, with a very modern interior contrasting with the outside.
The rooms are quite small, well furnished, with a global design that is in my opinion quite dark. Soundproof walls and doors and good air conditionning make the sleeping quiet.
Although I believe the hotel was renovated less than 10 years ago, it looked quite old already. The Beds are not at the Sofitel standard, or they were already worn out. The room was not 100% clean neither, especially the bathroom.
Room service is nice and well organized, and the breakfast buffet is very good, with everything you would expect from both French and Bavarian culture. Waiters are trying to do too much, and it is quite annoying to feel that someone is waiting behind your back, overlooking you tasting your last spoon of cereal in order to remove your cup (while you are still chewing that last spoon...).
Very good but far from perfection, although I am certainly extremely picky. I was probably waiting superior service since I paid 2 times the regular price during oktoberfest...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thierry67200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the very detailed remarks that will help us to improve - for example: we just recently changed our Sofitel MyBeds to offer our guests the most comfortable sleep. Rest assured that I passed your comments on to the different departments concerned and encouraged further trainings to increase cleanliness and improve the breakfast service.
Thank you again for your feedback.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Really the location is the big thing. Very very nice hotel. Pricey. But easy access to central Munich and Oktoberfest make it hard to beat. I don't like long reviews that just parrot what has already been said a dozen times but this site has a character minimum of 200.. That should do it..

Room Tip: We went for the breakfast included option. I cannot recommend it. it is a buffet that wouild be 32...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#20 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#91 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Property: Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing