We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not five star but very pleasant and very well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #29 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“This is not five star but very pleasant and very well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Sofitel Munich
The location for this hotel is a big selling point. It is less than a block from the Bahnhof, railroad station. The front of the hotel is a beautifully restored old building. The additions and inside are modern and well done. It is often used for meetings. If you arrive by air, the bus as well as well as the train, come here from the airport. I recommend the bus as being more convenient and as it goes every 20 minutes right out the door from where you collect you baggage .You thus avoid a lot of lugging and tugging up and down platforms. Breakfast in the hotel was expensive and very attractive, but the railroad station has a large variety of restaurants and the food we had there was really great and inexpensive. The fresh baked goods and grilled bratwurst were excellent.
I reserved a Jr. suite on line directly from the hotel which was non refundable and therefore was reduced in price. The dark brown room was pretty dark. We swiveled spotlights on the ceiling and increased the light. Light from outside was also reduced because one of the windows faced another building. The other window had a view of the railroad tracks. We were told they have other junior suites with better views, but they quite a bit more expensive.
The hallways were well lit and pretty. The front desk was helpful and the doorman was helpful in getting the luggage to the train station for our next train.

Room Tip: If you do not want a view of the train tracks tel them......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,083
    961
    292
    140
    70
See reviews for
565
1,413
275
893
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice classic with design hotel. Very good SPA. Professional service with a smile.
The only minor point was the time to serve entree after starter at the cafe. it took too long and there were not so many people to serve.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjfm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great location, next to main train station. 15 min walk to the Marionplatz. Train statin is vibrant and a neat place to get some faster food. This is important because the breakfast is $30 euros....

The hotel is an architectural marvel. The rooms are bit small. The styling is quirky. The bathroom door does not lock and a panel in the bathroom wall also can slide open. The lighting is dark. The concierge is excellent. He recommended Salt which is a great restaurant and Kekos, a local turkish restaurant. The pool is small and darkish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teufel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham Uk
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a Christmas break here,it was lovely,exactly whats needed after wandering around in the cold,rooms were spacious and warm with all the usual things that sofitel provide an excellent choice .We liked the location, bar was ok but food could have been more German, A good choice of hotel in a vibrant busy city excellent Christmas value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the end of April for one night.

The arrival was extremely busy, we have never seen a Sofitel so bustling. It was understandably the end of a conference. Although we arrived around 3pm, we still waited 45 minutes from the room. The gentleman's hands were tied and was not able to offer us much more for the wait.

Although there is no view (facing the walls of the train station) the modern room is perfecly appointed with great use of space. For example, the desk is composed of two levels, the lower level slides out to make for a larger work space.

Nice bathroom : separate toilet and "italian style" shower as usual, with heated floor and sliding mirror to either close or open to the room.

Nespresso coffee machine and Bose system with iPod connection is always appreciated.

We did visit the bar, good service and creative (non-alocholic) cocktails.

We will look forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airchristophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I decided to try the Sofitel Bayerpost on a recent trip to Munich, as I've usually been pleased with the Sofitel brand. The hotel interior is beautiful (in a modern/trendy style) and occupies a lovely historical building near the Hauptbahnhof. The neighbourhood immediately around the Hauptbahnhof isn't the best part of Munich, but it is convenient and walkable to the city centre. I loved the hotel bar and (as always) Sofitel breakfasts are really something to look forward to. The rooms are a little on the small side, but new/recently renovated, immaculately clean, and the bathrooms in particular are very nice. I can't really think of anything significant that could be improved upon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I at first wanted to stay at Le Meridien but it was fully booked and so I ended up staying here. It was a blessing in disguise. The hotel was well appointed and the restaurant provided good food with excellent customer service which I found that it was difficult to get in Germany during my 10 days visit. Unlike other restaurants I went in Germany, the restaurant staff here were very friendly and nice. The staff at concierge were also helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#92 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Property: Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing