We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Munchen Messe
Ranked #55 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Having stayed in one of the Motel One hotels when I previously visited Munich, Novotel was a nice change. The location is not the best but its about 20 to 25 minutes away from Munich's centre (Marienplatz) with the subway. If you are going to the Messe Munchen (Exhibition Center) then its the perfect location. Riem Arcade is a shopping center within walking distance, doesn't offer much but if you need something urgent you can find it here.The room was clean, tea and coffee was available in the room which is not the case with most hotels in Munich. The room service is really quick and the food is good. The free Wifi is not bad, a premium package can also be taken which gives you faster speeds. Breakfast in the morning was good, fair variety (eggs, bacon, weisswurst, crumpets etc). Overall not a bad hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    394
    114
    18
    15
See reviews for
161
166
50
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Located near the Riem shopping center and a short walk from the International Convention Center in Munich on the site of the former airport. Excellent facilities with a solid restaurant, friendly staff, and comfortable rooms. Recommended if you are attending a show at the convention center. Walk off the U and you are at the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel5563, Manager at Novotel Munchen Messe, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Deat ALJOMAKA,

lovely to read your recommendation. Thank you very much.

Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Anika Blank
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerbusch, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have stayed during the ExpoReal in the Novotel München Messe. It´s just next to the exhibition center of Münich and 5 Min. walk. So fare so good. In general the hotel was good, reception was working very well, the breakfast has a good variety and for the one who loves Weiß Würstel with Sweet Mustard than you will like it. The rooms are OK although a bit older. Cleanliness in the room was average this maybe because of the exhibition and high occupancy of the hotel. The connection via the metro is very good. I would stay again in this well located hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the inside of the building, that is much more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel5563, Manager at Novotel Munchen Messe, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Johann K,

thank you very much for your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again in our hotel, then with completly renovated rooms.

Best regards from Munich
Anika Blank
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragusa, Sicilia, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Is not in the hearth of the city but the hotel is near the gatte of metro. In Munich there is a very good metro with several lines that cover The city. Good price and nice room. Good breakfast and restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel5563, Manager at Novotel Munchen Messe, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Miki E,

thank you very much for your time to give us feedback.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Anika Blank
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

If I were a travelling businessperson attending a conference in the nearby facilities, I'm sure this hotel would've suited me nicely. But travelling with my wife and baby for sightseeing purposes, I was a little disappointed.

Firstly, the hotel is a good 20 minutes by train from the centre of Munich. Factor in time spent waiting for a train and it could be closer to 30 minutes. Secondly, the hotel staff were very friendly but apart from one female staff member, unknowledgeable about how to get to tourist attractions (one staff member suggested that we could go to Neuschwanstein Castle by taxi -- I couldn't tell if he was joking). Thirdly, the 19-Euro breakfast suggests the hotel is geared towards businesspeople who have their expenses paid for by their company than families with an eye on their budgets. Lastly, the cleaning staff needed detailed instructions with us having to leave memos for them such as, "Please empty the rubbish bin" and "Please replace the used cups".

Having said that, our room was nice, and with Oktoberfest tourist prices having kicked in across Munich, it was cheaper than the other hotels we had looked into. Next time though, I will try a hotel more conveniently located that is better suited for travelling families.

Room Tip: - The quickest way to and from the hotel from the airport is to get off the train at Daglfing and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel5563, Manager at Novotel Munchen Messe, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear George M,

your feedback will help us to improve our service especially regarding our recommandations for tourists. Therefore many thanks.
Perhaps we will see you on your next business trip to Munich.

Best regards
Anika Blank
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was here for the salesforce event and normally we get checked into the cheapest and closest hotel to the venue, this was it!

When I saw the Novotel name my heart sank, I was expecting the usual rubbish but how surprised was I when I got into my room. It was very well decorated, the fixtures and fittings were of a high standard and had a lovely French door that opened onto a faux balcony.

I wasn't offered the choice of a smoking room at check in but my colleague mentioned he was in one and I decided to change rooms. Honestly I wish I hadn't, while the room was clean it just smelt of a dirty ash tray and I would rather have walked outside to smoke. This is not the hotels fault there is little that can be done about a smoking room smelling of smoke. The room just didn't feel as airy and bright as the room I had upstairs but was still fitted to the same standard.

Breakfast at the hotel was beautiful, a really good selection of local and British food and exceptional service.

All in all a great business hotel close to the Messe centre, 2 minutes away from a metro and right next to the motorway. The hotel is also surrounded by a small shopping mall with a C&A which brought back some fond memories.

One tip is not to pay for the upgrade to get a superior room, the rooms are identical and the free mini bar only includes one lot of alcoholic drinks, once they're gone they aren't replaced.

Room Tip: Even if you are a smoker choose a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel5563, Manager at Novotel Munchen Messe, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Rob A,

Lovely to hear! Thanks a lot for your feedback.

Hope to see you soon. Best regards

Anika Blank
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is very closely located to the train u bahn station so that's very convenient. Also there is a mall just beside the hotel with all the shops you would want. No good restaurants around the hotel only fast foods...
The city center is very far but accessible with the train.
The rooms are quite small but very clean- again the whole wifi issue- so expensive... And this is considered to be a business hotel. Wifi is so basic.
Also the breakfast buffet is good and has a lot of variety but expensive...
Anyway it's a nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smadarcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel5563, Manager at Novotel Munchen Messe, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear smardacat,

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Regarding the internet we have good news, in all Novotels worldwide we have free wifi internet acces in the hotels started at the 1st October 2013.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Anika Blank
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
H4 Hotel Muenchen Messe
H4 Hotel Muenchen Messe
#77 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.3 mi away
H2 Hotel Muenchen Messe
H2 Hotel Muenchen Messe
#88 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Munchen Messe
NH Munchen Messe
#83 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
7.1 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
4.7 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#54 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Munchen Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Munchen Messe

Property: Novotel Munchen Messe
Address: Willy-Brandt-Platz 1, 81829 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#32 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Family Hotel in Munich
#64 Business Hotel in Munich
#75 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Munchen Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Novotel Munchen Messe welcomes you to the Bavarian capital. Adjacent to the exhibition centre, next to shopping arcades and Riemer Park, with a direct connection to Munich (underground line 2) and the airport, this 4 star hotel receives businesstravellers and holidaymakers from around the world. Modern design and a stylish atmosphere characterise our 278 bright rooms and seven meeting rooms. Enjoy international cuisine in our restaurant and unwind at the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Munchen Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Munchen Messe Hotel Munich
Novotel Hotel Munchen Messe
Novotel Hotel Munich
Novotel Munich
Munich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing