We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal spot for Oktoberfest”
Review of THE TENT Munich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THE TENT Munich
Ranked #4 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal spot for Oktoberfest”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We turned up in Munich for Oktoberfest with no place booked to stay, we asked at the tourist centre and the lady sent us here. We turned up, and the guys working there were awesome, and so welcoming. We stayed in the huge tent which is stacked with bunk beds. There were loads of people staying in there, but you didn't really notice, and it wasn't noisy. The thing I liked the most was that it was warm :) :) LOVED IT! Ideal for Oktoberfest, affordable and easy to get to and from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    95
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
3
41
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We arrived with a large group (about 8 of us) and we were planning on staying in the common area. They were packed so they upgraded us to our own cabin and welcomed us with with some free beer since it was raining outside. Great service, fun atmosphere. Location is a little far out from the city but I think it is worth it to get this experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Tent is, in my opinion, a Eutopian paradise. At 7 euro per night in JUNE, we were expecting an absolute hell hole. Instead, we found ourselves in a serene campsite full of life.

Now don't get me wrong - You do not go to the Tent if you want real comfort. The boys and I were given a roll mat and as many blankets as we wanted and told to go and find a space in the large, festival-sized tent. At first we were rather concerned but when we realised they had 1000s of blankets we used as many as possible and created some quite comfy beds. The communal aspect of the sleeping arrangements might put some off, but for a bunch of lads who shower naked together regularly we weren't at all bothered.

The real appeal of the Tent is in what you do whilst you're not sleeping. They have a small home run cafe where you can pick up a decent meal and beer. Alternatively, you can go to the local supermarket and pick up food to cook in their kitchen yourself. Once you're well fed, for a small deposit you can use their table tennis, football, basketball and volleyball facilities or grab a guitar to play by the campfire.

We spent 5 days in Munich at the Tent and, whilst we had originally planned to only use it as a sleeping hole, we ended up cancelling one of our nights out just to stay by the fire and drink with the other campers. With the Tent being so cheap, we met a tonne of travelling students and such from all over the world, which was absolutely brilliant.

I would say that the Tent should be an essential stop on any traveller's itinerary and is perfect for groups of friends looking to spend time in Munich. The location is about 20-30 mins from the City centre but trams run so frequently and 24/7, so that this is hardly an issue.

When I return to Munich the Tent will be my first port of call. I have no intention of ever looking for any other accommodation there!

Room Tip: You can choose to have bunk beds or sleep on the floor - personally the floor was fine due to the nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelthorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at The Tent for three nights in the summer. It was a really cool place and not pricy at all!

The location is not directly in the city, but it didn't take me longer than 20 minutes to get to the city center with the tram. The reception was very nice, all the staff there was friendly and helpful. It was a small community there, where people from different cultures and places get together and get to know each other for a little bit. You could join in spontaneously without feeling uncomfortable, people I met there were all open-hearted. And if you prefer having your own peace, you could always go to the cafeteria, where there were books and internet access. The shower and toilet were clean and there was never a long queue, also for the ladies' room. You could also give your electronic devices to the reception for recharging, it might be a little bit inconvenient for the ones who would rather have the devices with them.


I think it is the perfect place to stay at in the summer. I could sit outdoors until 1am around the fire and it was not cold at all. Later it got cooler, but it was still alright because enough blankets were provided to keep me warm throughout the night. However I really am not sure if it would be the best idea for a trip in September or October, I personally would prefer staying at a warm hostel room. During my visit, it rained quite heavily on one or two days and there was also a storm, but I could stay inside and it was still not that bad to chill there on the sofa and play the slightly off-tuned piano.

Meals were not inclusive, the food was fine. For breakfast, it worked like a regular college cafeteria, where you take whatever you want and pay for it. For lunch and dinner, I think it was a little too expensive for the portion and the choices they provided with. The portion was relatively small, I think it is enough for ladies but maybe not for guys. I don't remember exactly, but I think it costed about €5 per portion, which I was expecting to be cheaper.

Also, they don't accept card payment, they only take cash and I think that was not very practical because I didn't have €50 cash with me and there was no cash point nearby. But I managed to pay the next day so it was still ok.

I enjoyed my stay there and would recommend it to people who are looking for a cheap accommodation and new friends in Munich in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilienkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed at The Tent Munich for a few nights in early August 2013 with one friend. The atmosphere and overall experience is amazing. Lots to do and everything encourages interacting with other travelers... bonfires, ping pong, 'renting' musical instruments including guitars and a piano. Nice food choices as well. Sleeping in the tent is a real adventure in itself, my only tip is to perhaps bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper! And please, if you have an alarm set, make sure you wake up to it so it's not going off for ten minutes and keeping your neighbors up. ;) I would return here no question.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbarn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Slept at the Tent for two nights when we visited Munich as final stop of our Eurotrip last summer. We came with nine persons and brought one big tent, we had to pay only for that one tent, so we payed almost no money per individual. But also when visiting with less persons, The Tent is a cheap place to sleep. Furthermore it is close to public transport, has clean bathrooms, nice helpful staff and kind, open minded guests. There are also possibilities to have breakfast, diner or some beers for reasonable prices.
Perfect for backpackers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GvLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Tent was the most refreshing break from Hostel stays, after traveling for several weeks. It was easy to get to via public transit, filled with fun and friendly people (from backpackers to couples to boy scout troops), and just a great atmosphere all around. We ate great food from the most wonderful and cheerful staff, and then drank beer and tea around the fire at night. I highly recommend staying here if you're wanting a chill and friendly experience, with easy access in and out of the city. I rented a lock from them for the lockers, fit my whole bag inside, and felt secure the whole time.

Room Tip: Arrive early during busy seasons if you want a bunk bed with one of your friends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerA3E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.0 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 383 in Munich
2,156 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 75 in Munich
990 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 75 in Munich
1,106 reviews
2.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE TENT Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE TENT Munich

Property: THE TENT Munich
Address: In den Kirschen 30 | 80992 München, 80992 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your THE TENT Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tent Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing