We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of THE TENT Munich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THE TENT Munich
Ranked #4 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Me and group of friends stayed here for 4 nights during Oktoberfest 2013. The tram 17 takes you to the camp site easily which is really convenient if you travel on a budget (they also rent bikes if you feel like cycling).

All in all, a great place with nice atmosphere, top-notch toilets/showers and friendly staff. Only thing that caught my attention was the barbeque master who didn't have any idea what people ordered and he was almost always out of his game.

And when you pay 40 euros for 4 nights, you can't really expect 5 star service. If your attitude is right, this place will give you lots.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    94
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
2
41
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in 2010 and again this year. Both times in a bed. One night on the floor.

It is very cold in september and although they say its heated don't count on it.

***Bring your own blankets***
They don't wash theres and they absolutely stink.
I saw people naked on them sick piss themselves everything. This was at Oktoberfest though.

The atmosphere is pretty good there. basketball volleyball and pingpong all free. Toilets kept clean despite some of the animals that stay there.

One member of staff was very rude to me when i reported one of my blankets had been stolen. For that reason i wont be returning again. Very childish staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 029868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for visiting Oktoberfest only for one night, and regretted our decision, we should have stayed at list 3 to 4 nights. Anyway Munich is very costly during Oktoberfest and this was the only budget option available so we took it. But the place is very nice overall atmosphere is grate. It was a different experience to stay in a big tent with almost 100 people but we enjoyed it.
The location is also very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shapa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here in July and loved it. I was travelling through Europe with a few of my friends, and we stayed at The Tent for 4 nights. It was a great place to meet other travelers, and everyone was very friendly, the staff were even happy to suggest places for us to visit and what trains to get. Breakfast and dinner were available for reasonable prices, and we even got some home made cookies! The showers and toilets were much cleaner than expected for a campsite, although I would advise avoiding the peak times to guarantee hot water. We slept in the 100 bed dorm, on the bunk beds. It felt safe and we were happy to leave our rucksacks there in the daytime (without valuables), we even saw families staying there. It was not that close to Muinch center but the tram line was very close and went straight to town in about 20 minutes. There is a park out the back which made the place seem very peaceful.
Obviously if you want a luxury experience and want to go to bed early and not be disturbed, this isn't the place for you. But if you are up for some fun and want to meet like minded people, then don't miss this!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winter310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Only spent one night here when I was traveling through Munich on my way elsewhere. I put up my own tent, which is nice because it gives a bit more privacy than when sleeping in one of their beds or on the floor. It wasn't any quieter though, as you could still hear the sounds from the bonfire (people chatting, playing music, etcetera). This wasn't loud noise though, and didn't bother me much. As I arrived late and left early I didn't do much socialising, but it seemed to be a great place to meet other travellers. Staff were very friendly and helpful too, the toilets/showers were very clean and there was the option to buy breakfast at the campsite in the morning. If I'm ever in Munich in the future I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bregjevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent 3 nights camping here in out tent.

The staff were very friendly and gave insightful information about Munich, including several great maps and a great pamphlet cutting the tourist bs about each attraction.

The washrooms were clean and lots of showers. They also use solar hot water heating and rain water collection for washing which I thought was great to see.

The place had good feel to it, very communal and happy vibe. ( almost hippie like).The food is moderately priced.

We took a free city guided tour from the Tent which was great ( every Wed i think) and you can also by your bus day pass from them ( around 10 euros and covers like 4 or 5 people or something)

There is no parking on the grounds but parking on the nearby street was no problem and safe neighbourhood.

Really for the price you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went to Octoberfest in 2012 and stayed at The Tent.

Employees were all extremely helpfull and nice.

The guests are mostly younger people and usually a very nice and peacefull crowd. I have to say that the first thing i thought of when i came there was "wow... this is how it must have been in the 60´s" becouse it looks like a hippie commune, especially with all the green, organic food they got going on there.

Here you have three alternatives on sleeping arrangements.
1. you can bring your own tent.
2. you can sleep on the floor at one of the big tents with alot of other people.
3. you can sleep in a bunk bed in the biggest tent also surrounded by alot of other people.

We tried both alternatives two an three and i have to say that alternative three is the better one of those two. ideally it would have been best to put up your own tent and have a little privacy.

Their bathroom facilities were good and cleaned regularly.

This is absoloutely a good and alot cheaper alternative than staying at a hotell room at Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.0 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#7 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
3.8 mi away
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE TENT Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE TENT Munich

Property: THE TENT Munich
Address: In den Kirschen 30, 80992 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your THE TENT Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tent Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing