We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel for Backpackers”
Review of THE TENT Munich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THE TENT Munich
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for visiting Oktoberfest only for one night, and regretted our decision, we should have stayed at list 3 to 4 nights. Anyway Munich is very costly during Oktoberfest and this was the only budget option available so we took it. But the place is very nice overall atmosphere is grate. It was a different experience to stay in a big tent with almost 100 people but we enjoyed it.
The location is also very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shapa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for THE TENT Munich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 292 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here in July and loved it. I was travelling through Europe with a few of my friends, and we stayed at The Tent for 4 nights. It was a great place to meet other travelers, and everyone was very friendly, the staff were even happy to suggest places for us to visit and what trains to get. Breakfast and dinner were available for reasonable prices, and we even got some home made cookies! The showers and toilets were much cleaner than expected for a campsite, although I would advise avoiding the peak times to guarantee hot water. We slept in the 100 bed dorm, on the bunk beds. It felt safe and we were happy to leave our rucksacks there in the daytime (without valuables), we even saw families staying there. It was not that close to Muinch center but the tram line was very close and went straight to town in about 20 minutes. There is a park out the back which made the place seem very peaceful.
Obviously if you want a luxury experience and want to go to bed early and not be disturbed, this isn't the place for you. But if you are up for some fun and want to meet like minded people, then don't miss this!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winter310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Only spent one night here when I was traveling through Munich on my way elsewhere. I put up my own tent, which is nice because it gives a bit more privacy than when sleeping in one of their beds or on the floor. It wasn't any quieter though, as you could still hear the sounds from the bonfire (people chatting, playing music, etcetera). This wasn't loud noise though, and didn't bother me much. As I arrived late and left early I didn't do much socialising, but it seemed to be a great place to meet other travellers. Staff were very friendly and helpful too, the toilets/showers were very clean and there was the option to buy breakfast at the campsite in the morning. If I'm ever in Munich in the future I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bregjevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent 3 nights camping here in out tent.

The staff were very friendly and gave insightful information about Munich, including several great maps and a great pamphlet cutting the tourist bs about each attraction.

The washrooms were clean and lots of showers. They also use solar hot water heating and rain water collection for washing which I thought was great to see.

The place had good feel to it, very communal and happy vibe. ( almost hippie like).The food is moderately priced.

We took a free city guided tour from the Tent which was great ( every Wed i think) and you can also by your bus day pass from them ( around 10 euros and covers like 4 or 5 people or something)

There is no parking on the grounds but parking on the nearby street was no problem and safe neighbourhood.

Really for the price you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went to Octoberfest in 2012 and stayed at The Tent.

Employees were all extremely helpfull and nice.

The guests are mostly younger people and usually a very nice and peacefull crowd. I have to say that the first thing i thought of when i came there was "wow... this is how it must have been in the 60´s" becouse it looks like a hippie commune, especially with all the green, organic food they got going on there.

Here you have three alternatives on sleeping arrangements.
1. you can bring your own tent.
2. you can sleep on the floor at one of the big tents with alot of other people.
3. you can sleep in a bunk bed in the biggest tent also surrounded by alot of other people.

We tried both alternatives two an three and i have to say that alternative three is the better one of those two. ideally it would have been best to put up your own tent and have a little privacy.

Their bathroom facilities were good and cleaned regularly.

This is absoloutely a good and alot cheaper alternative than staying at a hotell room at Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjoggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013. I loved the concept, and it was surprisingly comfortable. It felt like a hippie commune, and the staff there were wonderful. The atmosphere is absolutely amazing - everyone there are rather friendly. People come here from every walk of life - gyspies, kids - you name it, and they can be found here! Would definitely come back - especially for the value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shexbeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came to Munich purely to stay at The Tent because we'd heard such good things about it. It's got a great atmosphere with loads of different travellers all converging and sharing stories.
We chose to sleep on the floor to save money. The first night wasn't that comfy but we requested more blankets for the second one. If you're expecting a small mattress on the floor you may be disappointed as you get given a roll mat and three blankets (you can ask for as many as you like though).
The facilities like the showers, toilets and kitchen are all great. We didn't use the kitchen much expect to store food as it's quite busy. The on site cafe is fantastic though. Food and drink isn't too expensive and there's free wifi.
The bonfire they light at night is good fun too.

Room Tip: If you don't sleep well definitely opt for a Bunk Bed for an extra 3Euros a night and if you'...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moustasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
10.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
3.4 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 78 in Munich
1,002 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 78 in Munich
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich
2.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
1.7 mi away
A&O Munich Laim
A&O Munich Laim
#39 of 78 in Munich
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE TENT Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE TENT Munich

Address: In den Kirschen 30 | 80992 München, 80992 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range: $16 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your THE TENT Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tent Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing