We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and fun. So close to Oktoberfest action”
Review of THE TENT Munich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THE TENT Munich
Ranked #5 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for Oktoberfest and had a great time. The facilities are basic and it is cold this time of year. However, the diveristy of people who stay at the Tent is what makes.it special. People from all over the world gathered around thr communal campfire and night and told travelling stories. If. you want to meet cool people, don't mind a bit of camping then your gonna love THE TENT. Oh and did i mention its a 5 minute walk to the tram that takes you near Oktoberfest

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee horscraft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 296 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

It's like a never ending camping trip! I absolutely loved it. The atmosphere makes it. Plus it's a new experience. You've paid what, $10 US for a bunk with warm blankets, clean bathrooms and endless hours of fun and communication. Wifi works great in the canteen and maybe a 15metre radius, but the food is cheap, the drinks are cheap, the staff are amazing and friendly. Free tours go each day. Plus leave a deposit and you can play table tennis, board games, frisbee, you name it. We had the most amazing time. I'm 16 and went with my parents and I met some absolutely wonderful people! There's no language issues which was so fantastic. You can use the kitchen, there's clotheslines, soccer fields, volleyball set up.. Everything you could wish for to relax and meet new people and exchange stories.

The only issue was the squeaky floorboards in the huge tent and the fact that some people can't understand the "1am silence" policy. But I loved it there. I could've spent the entire week hanging out at the bonfire at night, having an unforgettable time. Walking distance to a tram station to take you into town and really it's just a lovely location! Oh and the hottie who works in the cafeteria with the quiff hairstyle going on, well damn ;) he made it more than worth it and his hand and arms and alright back on track, ladies!

I recommend this place until the day I die. Do not change at all, I'll be back to see you all again, I had an amazing stay. Better than the places we stayed for $70+ a night. Just splendid. I don't think you'll regret the stay here, but try to be in bed before the stampede of elephants being herded inside!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thekateupdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I loved my three nights staying at the Tent. The staff were AMAZING! The food every night was cheap and really good. Cheap beer. Met a lot of cool travellers as well. Stayed in my own tent which I think is a better option than the big tents. Showers were free, and hot! (Unlike other camp sites I stayed in during my trip). Not too far from the centre of Munich either. Easy to find. Loved having a camp fire every night and so many people playing guitars or the piano. Wonderful place to stay if you're on a budget.

Room Tip: Bring your own tent if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ati B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Magnificent camping !
The showers are very clean and the staff is very helpfull.
Every morning there's delicious food and the water is cheap ! ;)

Also, there's free wifi if you have smartphone or laptop.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

True , the tent is 7-8 km from the center and is a little noisy before 12 but
-good sleep in the morning
-no need of booking in august
-cooking facility and wifi
-free luggage lockers ; i used 3 of them
-excellent value-/money. I stayed 2 weeks and would be back when in munich.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisarnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great spot for campers / backpackers looking to stay close to Munich city centre.

The Tent is a 12-15 minute tram ride from the Main Train Station which is a short distance to most tourist attractions and the city centre.

Friendly staff, clean and modern facilities, cheap F&B all contributed to the great value for money that is The Tent!

Would definitely stay here again if camping in Munich.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hospirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place is great. It's cheap, and filled with friendly people. It's incredibly easy to meet people, just grab a cheap beer from reception and sit around the campfire. Food is good, decent price but limited selection depending on the day. Some days they'll have the grill on for dinner, which is a good choice. Breakfast (all meals actually) are a la carte, and get get pricey quick but still better than eating out. I slept on the floor for eight nights and while you have the typical hostel frustrations (loud room mates, and there a LOT of room mates in the tent,) it's not too bad. Bring your own sleeping bag if you have one especially if it's cold. 5 minute walk to tram 16 or 17 taking you into town. Get a week pass if you're staying more than 3 days, it'll save you a ton. Most staff are really friendly and fun, the facilities are excellent (good showers, bathrooms, kitchen, etc,) and I love the community atmosphere there especially when hanging out around the camp fire at night. Only gripe is the extreme lack of power outlets available. The kitchen/cafeteria closes at 11 (and subsequently three available outlets reducing it to only two or three,) and the fire goes out at 1 and it's hush-hush from there. Weird having a curfew but it was never really a problem. I will definitely stay there again when I'm back in Munich.

Room Tip: You pick your own spot in the tent - try to get somewhere close to the sides but away from groups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
2,314 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 82 in Munich
1,182 reviews
3.4 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 82 in Munich
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
3.1 mi away
The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE TENT Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE TENT Munich

Address: In den Kirschen 30 | 80992 München, 80992 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range: $14 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your THE TENT Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tent Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing