We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful.”
Review of THE TENT Munich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THE TENT Munich
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Magnificent camping !
The showers are very clean and the staff is very helpfull.
Every morning there's delicious food and the water is cheap ! ;)

Also, there's free wifi if you have smartphone or laptop.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

True , the tent is 7-8 km from the center and is a little noisy before 12 but
-good sleep in the morning
-no need of booking in august
-cooking facility and wifi
-free luggage lockers ; i used 3 of them
-excellent value-/money. I stayed 2 weeks and would be back when in munich.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisarnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great spot for campers / backpackers looking to stay close to Munich city centre.

The Tent is a 12-15 minute tram ride from the Main Train Station which is a short distance to most tourist attractions and the city centre.

Friendly staff, clean and modern facilities, cheap F&B all contributed to the great value for money that is The Tent!

Would definitely stay here again if camping in Munich.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hospirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place is great. It's cheap, and filled with friendly people. It's incredibly easy to meet people, just grab a cheap beer from reception and sit around the campfire. Food is good, decent price but limited selection depending on the day. Some days they'll have the grill on for dinner, which is a good choice. Breakfast (all meals actually) are a la carte, and get get pricey quick but still better than eating out. I slept on the floor for eight nights and while you have the typical hostel frustrations (loud room mates, and there a LOT of room mates in the tent,) it's not too bad. Bring your own sleeping bag if you have one especially if it's cold. 5 minute walk to tram 16 or 17 taking you into town. Get a week pass if you're staying more than 3 days, it'll save you a ton. Most staff are really friendly and fun, the facilities are excellent (good showers, bathrooms, kitchen, etc,) and I love the community atmosphere there especially when hanging out around the camp fire at night. Only gripe is the extreme lack of power outlets available. The kitchen/cafeteria closes at 11 (and subsequently three available outlets reducing it to only two or three,) and the fire goes out at 1 and it's hush-hush from there. Weird having a curfew but it was never really a problem. I will definitely stay there again when I'm back in Munich.

Room Tip: You pick your own spot in the tent - try to get somewhere close to the sides but away from groups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had a great time. Great atmosphere , lot's of interesting people , nights by fire. We slept in big tent and if you are not too picky it is great, very clean but can be cold during night. Great public connection to city center. If you need cheap, clean, good location and place with superb atmosphere Tent is place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NenoZg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I enjoyed the atmosphere of this place so much I didn't even see any of the Sights of Munich the 2 nights I was there. Great place to drink beer and meet fellow travelers and share stories. Definitely a place to be if you enjoy drinking and the company of others.

Room Tip: They Have private quarters you can rent that's not in the BIG tent if you want some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sorryforpartyrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I had a great time, because I'm a very, very deep sleeper. However, my friend hated it because he's a light sleeper.

Positive (we went in summer):
- Really cheap. I think we paid 6 euros each per night for a bunk bed.
- Toilets are ok. 6/10
- Lovely area, you can enjoy nature and go jogging or do whatever you want
- Easy and fast transport to centre
- Great place to meet people
- Surprisingly, when at midnight the lights in the tent go off and the staff yell "Bedtime" everyone actually behaves. It's amazing
- It's a unique experience

Negative:
- Alot of the guests are very young and immature... they can wreck it for you. They drink alot and if they get carried away then it's no fun anymore. Average age is like 21, and average nationality is Australian. (I am one, so I know what I'm saying)
-According to my room mate, the midnight silence lasted an hour...

Basically, if you're backpacking and need to save money, and if you don't have many valuables on you and you have no important meetings in the morning, definitely go here.
It's fun, it's weird, it's unforgettable.

Room Tip: I would suggest that females take the top bunk. Just incase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teloive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
10.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
3.4 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 78 in Munich
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 78 in Munich
1,169 reviews
3.1 mi away
The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich
1.7 mi away
A&O Munich Laim
A&O Munich Laim
#49 of 78 in Munich
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE TENT Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE TENT Munich

Address: In den Kirschen 30 | 80992 München, 80992 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range: $14 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your THE TENT Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tent Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing