We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful venue and great exhibition”

Pinakothek der Moderne
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.94*
and up
Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
More Info
$30.50*
and up
Munich City Tour including Allianz Arena Ground Visits
More Info
$46.41*
and up
Munich Super Saver: Brewery and Beer Tour plus Express Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #29 of 326 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue and great exhibition”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Since I had 2.5 days to spend in Munich, I thought I might as well visit all three Pinakothek as well as the Brandhorst.

Der Moderne didn't disappoint at all with a great exhibition on Moroccan rugs which happens to be my latest piece of furniture I've recently been fancying. The place is beautiful, spot clean and well organized. The staff is helpful and the bookshop has some nice books as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeamasterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    217
    60
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ancona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,338 reviews
834 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,706 helpful votes
“Two bits of advice”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

1. As you're walking round the paintings part, try to remember the route you took to get where you are. For some reason there aren't many signs, and it can be worrying if you don't know how you're going to get out of the Borgesian labyrinth;

2. If you have a cup of tea in the cafe downstairs - the one in the vast, domed, atrium type thing - be very careful what sort you ask for. It isn't easy, at least if what you want is ordinary English-type tea, you don't recognise anything on the list, and you don't speak much German.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great museum, especially the design area”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a wonderful new museum, with lots of wonderful modern art, including Warhol and the Germans like Baselitz and Kiefer, and a terrific design section with lots of exhibits from all around Europe and the States. It also has a very nice cafe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank annbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Museum!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pinakotek der Moderne is my favourite museum in Germany.
It's a beautiful modern building and the art collections are very interesting.
Sometimes museums of this calibre can be axhausting and even boring, but this one is not. I recommend. Very well located near the Altstadt. One small minus: The museum cafe is not very well run and even the tables can be dirty. Fortunately there are plenty of other cafes nearby.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“beware the handbag scrutiny!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is certainly a pleasant place to indulge in viewing modern art, especially the identified "degenerate" art of the Nazi era. Our handbags were given the "okay" by one female guard and then another one decided they were "too big" to safely view the paintings. These were not the size of overnight totes! We had to back-track to the over-crowded cloak room and dig out two 1euro pieces to stash the bags in 2 lockers. I visit many museums and have never had this level of high-handedness.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank queenbee24503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinakothek der Moderne also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Pinakothek der Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing