We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad as some reviewers had reported”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #285 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I don’t know what people who have reviewed this hotel actually expect but you get what you pay for. Because of a late arrival into Munich, I stayed here overnight purely for the convenience. Ok there are strip clubs outside but they are not in your face and no one pestered me at all which is something I can’t say about Amsterdam! The hotel is small and yes there elevator is small with some steps up to it but in general I was very happy with the room, service and most of all the price I paid. Don’t expect the Rizz and you won’t be disappointed. Great location for the centre of Munch and close ti the main railway station.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelsanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 360 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed as a family in the ensuite apartment. It was spacious with enough room for 4 people and clean. The breakfast was pretty good, but I missed weiswurst. The biggest downside was the very poor wifi connectivity. The staff was very helpful with trip advice and recommendations. I always let them know our plans and they always had good suggestions for making things easier.

Room Tip: Saturday night is noisy, but the rest of the week was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Good hotel for the money, near the Hauptbahnhof and within easy walking of the city centre. The locality is a bit seedy but very safe at all hours. Rooms are basic but clean and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevsterino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Although the hotel is located in what seems to be a 'seedy' part of Munich - surrounded by table dancing clubs, etc, it is actually a pretty good hotel and I felt safe the whole time.
The staff at reception were very helpful - guys in the morning speak better English. Very central - a short walk from the main train station.
Breakfast was very extensive and quite nice.
Rooms were clean and good value for the price.
A nice hotel for a few nights stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Central location but so are many others...smelly toilet, cramped room, noisy streets, condesation on windows, no facilities other than breakfast room (which was OK), strip clubs all around..........need I go on?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iain s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The hotel is not very noisy on the street with a cabaret and night entertainment. Solid three stars.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UA_ANDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We booked this hotel too hastely and should have read the reviews. If you are considering this hotel, keep looking. We like to trvel on a budget and like to find good hotels that are reasonably priced. This one is reasonably priced, but it's not good. The only thing that is good about it is the complementary breakfast, and the service persons.

The loaction looks appealing since it's neat the train station and the city center, but it's the location that really hurts this hotel. The street is littered with strip bars on either side. It's a non-smokling hotel, but every evening the room fills with the smell of cigarette smoke (and we were on the 5th floor!).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staabgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#146 of 390 in Munich
341 reviews
0 mi away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#315 of 390 in Munich
230 reviews
0 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#136 of 390 in Munich
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#34 of 390 in Munich
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 390 in Munich
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#152 of 390 in Munich
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Schillerstr. 19, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $64 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing