We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #246 of 383 Hotels in Munich
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Central location, friendly staff”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Although the hotel is located in what seems to be a 'seedy' part of Munich - surrounded by table dancing clubs, etc, it is actually a pretty good hotel and I felt safe the whole time.
The staff at reception were very helpful - guys in the morning speak better English. Very central - a short walk from the main train station.
Breakfast was very extensive and quite nice.
Rooms were clean and good value for the price.
A nice hotel for a few nights stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    117
    121
    39
    25
See reviews for
61
77
43
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Central location but so are many others...smelly toilet, cramped room, noisy streets, condesation on windows, no facilities other than breakfast room (which was OK), strip clubs all around..........need I go on?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iain s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The hotel is not very noisy on the street with a cabaret and night entertainment. Solid three stars.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UA_ANDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We booked this hotel too hastely and should have read the reviews. If you are considering this hotel, keep looking. We like to trvel on a budget and like to find good hotels that are reasonably priced. This one is reasonably priced, but it's not good. The only thing that is good about it is the complementary breakfast, and the service persons.

The loaction looks appealing since it's neat the train station and the city center, but it's the location that really hurts this hotel. The street is littered with strip bars on either side. It's a non-smokling hotel, but every evening the room fills with the smell of cigarette smoke (and we were on the 5th floor!).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staabgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We were here during Oktoberfest. I understand it was last minute and during prime prices, but 300 a night for a supposedly non-smoking closet that smelled worse than the very bottom of an ash tray? Really? So dissapointed. We travelled all over Europe. This hotel made us miserable and almost hate Munich. I ran into some guys who stayed at a hostel during the same time, paid 1/10th the amount, and were happy. Munich during Oktoberfest should be the happiest place on earth for adults. Not this place. Location is as mentioned, next to strip joints. The rooms and hotel make it feel like an extension of them. Stay anyplace but here. THey should rename it Hotel Bumalia.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobber_spe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This place is really EVERYTHING you expect from a 3-star hotel in a city center. It is small, compact, clean and central. Our room was quite big and pleasant. The hotel staff was extremely friendly with the exception of one guy who worked night/early morning at the Front Desk.
Those of you who travel to major European cities frequently, know that location is everything. And this place has the perfect location. It is less than a 5 minute walk away from the city central trainstation, which makes it close to the city center and all the major sites. It is perfectly connected to all U-bahn and S-bahn lines and even has sufficient parking in the street in front of it. Many reviewers have indicated that the location is in a sleezy neighbourhood. Well, I've got news for you: If you want to stay in the vicinity of the trainstation, in any major European city, then you are going to encounter some prostitutes and sleezy characters. That doesn't however make the area unsafe, it is just the nature of the areas around major trainstations. If you are adults travelling by yourself (even females), one does not have to worry about the lively character of the area. It is safe.
The breakfast is good, and included in the already fair price. Rooms are clean, but please note that there is no airconditioning. Our room however, was equipped with fan. I enjoyed my stay here. And if locations means everything to you, then so will you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank childonmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Cloose to the central trainstation easy to find, close to the center of the city. Only negative is that there are some stripclubs in the neighborhood. Very helpful staff that speaks good english. Breakfast was better than expected.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#151 of 383 in Munich
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#142 of 383 in Munich
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#267 of 383 in Munich
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Goethe Hotel
Goethe Hotel
#285 of 383 in Munich
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#167 of 383 in Munich
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City
Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City
#228 of 383 in Munich
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Schillerstr. 19, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing