We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4-star hotel”
Review of Hotel Atlas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atlas
Ranked #364 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I've chosen this hotel because of its close location to the railway station. But if such location is not necessary for you, you'd better live in another part of the city. Cause this area is rather specific, Asian, I would say, hence it's very dirty in the streets. The hotel is definitely not a 4-star one: poor cleaning service, breakfast for an extra pay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elegants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 139 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay in Munich at the Hotel Atlas. Not to be confused with the Atlas City hotel which is nearby.
This is very well located and within walking distance (10-15-mins) to the centre (Marienplatz and the Viktualenmarkt). Also an easy walk to Central Train Station (Hauptbanhof). The reception staff were very polite, pleasant and helpful. The room we were allocated was beautiful, spacious with a luxurious bathroom, very comfortable bed and a lovely balcony overlooking trees at the back. It was quiet, spotlessly clean, had a room safe, TV, hairdryer, toiletries and lovely soft good quality towels. The fridge had free bottled water. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with lots of choice in a nice bright room off the reception area. It had everything you could expect and for a very good price. (75 Euros per night for the room in July including breakfast). I did email the hotel asking for a room with a balcony at the back of the hotel and they replied saying that was fine. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Munich. I can't comment on the Hamam (Turkish bath and sauna in the basement) as we didn't try it.
The area has a number of Turkish shops and restaurants and we would highly recommend you try them out. The Turks know how to cook and offer delicious food at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Email the hotel asking for a room with a balcony at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosiegeeGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here during Oktoberfest. It was a good budget price, and within 200metres of Oktoberfest. Room was basic and it seemed clean. The bed was not comfortable and even after Oktoberfest beers, I couldnt sleep. All in all very average (and for me only for one night), but a reasonable price for this event.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had to make a last-minute reservation, and failed to check TA's reviews. I decided to just go with this place for its location and 4-star rating. Well, the location makes you think that you are either on the streets of Baghdad or Istanbul. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but not when you are in Munich. You are about a 15-minute walk from the historical center, Marienplatz., etc. The room itself was clean, but the hotel left me feeling somewhat creepy. A walk up from the garage (additional 10 Euros) takes one through some random rooms and hallways, some dark some with a rather strange smell. The room itself was a strange set-up with a double bed being higher than the rest of the room. The bathroom could certainly use an update. Next time you are considering this place, you might be better off with a chain hotel even if it's a bit further out of center.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Espoo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE (unless you are deaf). This place looks nothing like the pictures in their website. The TV in our room didn't work. The doors to the 2foot x 1foot balcony didn't close properly. There were no windows in our bedroom so it was like a sauna. And worst of all... THE NOISE!! There are a lot of Turkish people who stay there (permanently, I assume) and they made a racket until at least 3am. Not just normal, day-to-day noise either- shouting constantly, running around the corridors, watching TV at full volume with the door wide open. Seriously, don't stay here. It is terrible. You will not get any sleep whatsoever.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MulhouseBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night after my late flight to Munich. Late check-in was fast and efficient, in less than 5 minutes after entering the reception area I was already in the room. Room was of an aequate size for a 3*. Comfortable, with a nice bathroom. Overally very clean. The bedroom area was separated from the living area with a flatscreen TV by a very high step which might get very problematic for not perfectly fit guests but we did not care much.

Amenities set, safe, free bottled water, centrally located, breakfast available at an extra charge. If you look for a cheep, clean place to spend the night close to the central train and bus station, this is probably a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milan_czech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Did stay during Oktober-Fest so not the best time to rate a hotel but in this case not much effort was made to welcome guests. The hotel is very close to the central station and Oktober fest site (hence the choice). Most rooms seemed small and crammed (confirmed by other guests) which could do with a good refurbish, very small and over-crowded breakfast area with limited choice, weak wifi connectivity if too far from reception area and very inefficient check-out. It could be that the hotel offers a different service at other occasions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Transco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlas City Hotel
Atlas City Hotel
#358 of 390 in Munich
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#314 of 390 in Munich
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#202 of 390 in Munich
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TRYP Munchen City Center
TRYP Munchen City Center
#117 of 390 in Munich
1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#269 of 390 in Munich
746 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#147 of 390 in Munich
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas

Address: Landwehrstr. 65, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Munich
#101 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $77 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlas 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing