We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Family Run Boutique Hotel in Quiet Residential Neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
338 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Classic Family Run Boutique Hotel in Quiet Residential Neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

We stayed here only two nights but wished it was a longer stay. We definitely would come back. The staff was very helpful to us planning our short stay. Munich has a great transportation system and the hotel is a short walk from trams and subways (they even have tickets for sale) and is in the neighborhood of the gorgeous Nymphenburg Palace. The hotel is in a classic older building that has been remodeled. The rooms were good size for Europe and were nicely furnished. We had a very nice room on the top floor. Only drawback was no elevator. If that is an issue get a ground floor room. They helped us with our luggage so it was really no issue for us. Great breakfasts! And most important of all was how helpful Jan, Sebastian and Alexandra were. We were really only in Munich to catch a flight but truly enjoyed it. What a pleasant surprise the center of town was and how beautiful the City was draped in snow.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    387
    83
    19
    3
See reviews for
517
1,048
96
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

Our family of 4 had the pleasure of spending three nights at the Hotel Laimer Hof when visiting Munich recently. Staying at the Laimer Hof was a very enjoyable experience. Sebastian, Jan and staff were very hospitable and helpful in assisting with information and advice regarding public transport, tourist destinations and even de icing our car windscreen! The facilities were warm (it was winter) cosy, comfortable and spotless, and the breakfast was ample and delicious. The Laimer Hof is located in a quiet suburban street within a short walk to Nymphenburg Palace and an easy tram ride to the city centre. Thanks to a friendly, welcoming experience at the Laimer Hof we certainly will return , and would highly recommend the hotel to any visitors to Munich.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2010

My sister and I visited Munich in October and stayed at the Hotel Laimer Hof. We were placed in one of the tower rooms so had plenty of space to spread out and place our suitcases, plus lots of windows for natural light. The shower was a bit of a challenge because it was quite small for someone over 6 feet tall, but other than that it was very nice. Housekeeping did an excellent job of keeping the place spotless. The front desk staff was always very polite, informative, and seemed to enjoy giving their visitors the best experience possible. We were less than a 10 minute walk to a main thoroughfare, but far enough away from busy streets to be able to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. The hotel is also within walking distance of Nymphenburg Palace. On our last night there we asked the staffer at the front desk for a good recommendation for an authentic Bavarian restaurant and his suggestion did not disappoint. If we ever find ourselves back in Munich we will definitely stay at the Hotel Laimer Hof.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XtallTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

Beautifull and safe location on the outskirts of Munich, but easy accesible by trolley to the intercity. Hotel can provide trolley passes! Parking on the street is free and safe. Owners of the hotel and staff were very helpfull and informative and wish we could have stayed longer. Very modern and clean bathroom, large bedroom & sitting area for 2 adults, and our 8 and 13 yr old.(Priced right!) Nearby is Palace Nymphenburg Palace and the largest beergarten, where we had a great dinner! Dachau is only 30 min. travel by car. The greatest of this hotel is the lovely breakfast with Sebastian's delicious coffee!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiladelphiaDutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

It could not get better in Munich. The area is quiet and up-market, the hotel is lovely on the outside, the rooms are well-appointed and perfectly clean, and the owners are magnificent. Sebastian cannot be friendlier or more helpful. Plus, you can find many good restaurants in the neighbourhood, easily use the public transport to get to the centre and enjoy the beauty of walking around a non-touristy area. What more could you wish?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWatchfulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US and Sicily
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

We are a family of 5, and finding family rooms in European hotels is sometimes a little difficult. The Hotel Laimer Hof had a terrific sized room, clean, comfortable and pretty! The hotel is easy, easy to walk to from the Sbahn, and the Hotel staff is so kind and gracious. We recommend this hotel to any family - or really anyone- wanting a nice place to stay in Munich. They are helpful, the Hotel is beautiful, and the overall experience was amazing. You are a short walk to the Sbahn and a short ride to the historic sights around Munich.
Oh, and my kids LOVED their hot chocolate :) We want to come back already!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navhelowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Sebastian, Jan, & all of the staff could not be any nicer or more helpful. They gave us tips on unique places to see and Christmas markets off the beaten path. Breakfast was good and plentiful, the neighborhood is very quiet, it's just a short walk to public transportation & Palace Nymphenburg, and at least 10 restaurants are within walking distance. I'm planning on returning to Munich and will definitely stay here again. Although there was no lift, the guys were happy to bring my luggage up and down for me since I was travelling without my husband. I much prefer this over a cookie cutter chain hotel. Free wireless was a plus also!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
#14 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing