We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with lots of character.”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely hotel with lots of character.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Looking at other people's reviews, there's not a lot we can add really. A really nice 3 star family hotel. Our room was small, but like the rest of the hotel had a lot of character. Sebastion, the owner, is a lovely fellow. He puts his heart and soul into the business and can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable. The continental breakfast was very nice (10 euros). The local area is quiet (and quite affluent). We eat a couple of times at a local pub (the 'Kurgarten'). The food was reasonably priced and the landlord friendly. We never drank at the local beer garden. With Germany playing in the world cup it was all a bit manic, we thought we'd leave them to it! We made up for it though in other beer gardens, including the 'chinese turm' in Englischen Garten. Local transport is fantastic. There is loads to do in Munich - the Olympic park, the markets and historic buildings in town etc. The people of Munich seem friendly and most of them speak English. I would like to learn German, but like most of my fellow native English speakers this probably isn't going to happen (beyond knowing a few phrases!). We would definitely stay at the Laimer Hof again. Great hotel, great owner (we never had the pleasure of meeting his wife), great staff, great city, great sausages and great big glasses of beer! We shall return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,623
    389
    85
    19
    3
See reviews for
530
1,073
96
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hotel staff is very helpful and friendly and location is quite nice. Hotel has a lot of charm, it is furnished with older furniture and no air conditioning though. Easy access to public transportation to downtown areas and very close to palace.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edlika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days, at the end of a great River Cruise with Uniworld. Having never been to Munich, this was a delightful ending to our vacation and a way to see Munich. Although it rained the entire time we were there, this little hotel was close to the rail and we were able to see the city with little discomfort. Would definitely stay here again! The staff was friendly and helpful, and our fellow travelers were an international delight.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. It's a small & charming hotel in a very nice residential area. The staff were friendly and helpful and made you feel very welcome. The hotel room was bright & clean and the bed very comfortable. Nice bedding and plenty of extra pillows were available.

The breakfast was plentiful and had fresh fruit, meat & cheese selections - including Bavarian pretzels. There was a great sitting area in reception with a TV where you could order coffee, tea or alcoholic beverages. The tv was tuned to World Cup matches each evening so we enjoyed watching & chatting with other hotel guests.

The hotel was a short walk to the tram and many neighborhood restaurants.

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Arrived by train into Munchen Hauptbanhof and caught the tram to the hotel. Easy to find and not a great distance. The room was quite small but we had just spent 2 weeks in larger than average rooms. We opted to have breakfast at the hotel each morning and it was very good. It is so easy to get into Munich on the tram, and you can walk to Nymphenberg and visit the gardens. Sebastian, who runs the hotel with his wife could not have been more helpful. He offered us tips on where to go and how to get there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ge0ff407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Thank you so much for a great start to our short stay in Munich. The hotel is a great place for anyone with a car who wants easy, free parking. The hotel is also a great jumping off point for any day trips and Munich proper is just a short tram ride away, it was a pleasure to come back and be able to relax in a quieter setting after a hectic day (for my husband that meant a beer or two watching the World Cup games with a couple of the other guests in the hotel).Now for the best part...the staff who go out of their way to help their guests get the most out of their stay...thank you Toby and Sebastian for all your advice. The nympenburg castle shouldn't be missed and it is a two minute walk away.
Please understand this is a family run hotel with great prices and offers a great value for travelers...if you are looking for the Ritz Carlton then book the Ritz Carlton, if you are looking for a comfortable, clean well run establishment then stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickydee_Long_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murupara, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very enjoyable stay.Fantastic location.Twin room was small but perfectly adequate.The bathroom was bijoux but pristine.Couldn't wish for better service from the friendly staff.
The breakfast was a little disappointing for the price compared to others experienced during our month long holiday.But adequate all the same.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJG120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#8 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing